What trail bike…

AdventureAndy

Hi guys. Newbie here. (New to the forum, not to cycling)

I am about to pull the trigger on a new bike, and with stock availability being a bit of an issue, and having minimum time to actually shop around, and go look at the offerings that are available, I think I have settled on the 2021 Stumpjumper Alloy. It’s been reserved for me at on of the shops, and I will be picking it up on Tuesday afternoon. 

but I just want to check if there is something I have maybe missed….. or something else I should be looking at. From my basic search, the stumpie seems a good value proposition all around. The brakes are rubbish, but I have a set of SLX twin pots in the garage, and they will go straight on. Other than that, it seems a good set up at the price. (R42k). But if I was willing to stretch the budget to R50k, what other options have I missed out on?

criteria:

- Must be new (personal preference - I know I can get some bargains used - potentially, but I don’t like second hand bikes, and I want warranty) 

- must be an actual trail bike, not a XC bike with hiking boots on…… min 130mm travel.

beyond that, I am willing to look at anything, but I can’t see anything else fitting the budget? Am I missing something?

All the other bikes in that price range are beefed up XC/marathon bikes. I would have preferred a better group set (the Spaz has SX), but if I get half a year from it, then I can upgrade. Probably to XT or GX

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Was in the same position a few months ago, decided on the GT Sensor Carbon Elite over the Spaz. 

The final call for me was the carbon frame and a few of the components were a bit better for a small increase on price. 

IMG_20210504_071404.jpg.92bbee9459e087c5735e3d0dd795bd11.jpg

Edited by BikingYoda

6 minutes ago, BikingYoda said:

Was in the same position a few months ago, decided on the GT Sensor Carbon Elite over the Spaz.