Titan Racing Cypher 120 Carbon Dash - Best bike under 40K?

J_Byrne

2 hours ago, thebob said:

Trek Top Fuel for the win. Much better geo than the Titan. I’ve had one for almost two years now. It is a super versatile and competent bike. Climbs like a mountain goat, descents like a stabbed rat. The frame is a really good base to upgrade from as you progress. I’ve also had excellent service from the Trek dealers and Trek SA themselves. Highly recommended

Polo Vivo Tries to Race Against Audi RS4 (It's Not Going to Happen)

3 hours ago, dasilvarsa said:

But sometimes having a Hilux is just better for everyday life than a pseudo racecar. I'd also take a 130mm trail bike over a race bike with slightly longer shocks. 

But then again, I make bike buying decisions on how they ride and handle and not based on their spec sheets. 

11 hours ago, OVERDRIVE said:

So cool when an OEM comes on. I feel it Top 30 I Can Feel It GIFs | Find the best GIF on Gfycat

I went for the Interview but they didn't Hire Me.

Give It a Shot Maybe You win the Lottery.

7 hours ago, dasilvarsa said:

Assuming in your analogy the Titan is the RS4, the Trek the Polo Vivo? 

Im not sure that analogy works here. More like A4 Allroad trying to race a 4x4 Double cab. On a decent gravel road, it might be faster, but as soon as you go through the farm gate, the bakkie wins every time. Comfort and speed wise. Especially when the driver is not a WRC ace.

Same goes for 130mm trail bikes. My strava results confirm, I’m faster on pretty much every single track section I regularly ride, both up and downhill on my trail bike, than on my XC bike, and only marginally slower on the tar and gravel road bits to get there. 130mm trail bikes are the absolute best of both worlds, and the number of them you are seeing at multi day races proves this time and again.

A change of tires on a 130mm trail bike makes it a very competent XC machine, but even the gnarliest of tires on an XC machine, wont make it a trail bike.

Edited by MilkManMike
Spelling

4 minutes ago, thebob said:

Says the dude waiting for an enduro bike to fit Ikons and go ride lekker gravel roads 😆 I managed a top 50 at Amohela Classic on the Top Fuel, not bad for a dude in baggies on a Vivo

Only 50 riders in the race??🤣😎

PS: I aslo have a Top fuel

10 minutes ago, thebob said:

Says the dude waiting for an enduro bike to fit Ikons and go ride lekker gravel roads 😆 I managed a top 50 at Amohela Classic on the Top Fuel, not bad for a dude in baggies on a Vivo

Well Done Champion

6 hours ago, PhilipV said:

But then again, I make bike buying decisions on how they ride and handle and not based on their spec sheets. 

So it is still possible to demo the exact bike you want before buying it? 

15 minutes ago, Mongoose! said:

At Cycle Lab They let you ride it in the parking lot If you ask them nicely.

21 minutes ago, Mongoose! said:

With Trek and specialised this is generally possible. They have regular product demo days, and I have also often been loaned a shop demo for a day or two while servicing my bikes if the salesman knows I’m in the market for a new bike. But it helps having a good relationship with your local bike shop.

Edited by MilkManMike

6 hours ago, Mongoose! said:

You don’t have to demo the exact bike. Demo a bike in the range. They will handle similarly.
When I bought my Trance, I borrowed a mate’s Trance for the weekend. Spec was different, but for the price of a bottle of wine and a kuier around the braai I was able to ascertain wether I want to live with it for a couple of years. 
Chances are that you know someone who has a bike similarly to what you want to buy