Advice on combining running and cycling.

epoh

I am new to the sport and although I am
fairly fit (mostly from spinning) I lack endurance and strength. I used to run
a bit before I started cycling and I am thinking of continuing with the running
as I believe it is good for building endurance and strength.

I have strong knees and there is no problem as far as that is concerned (Apart
from other things it seems like the main reason for why people do not run).

My question is, would running be beneficial to my cycling? I want to make
cycling my main focus point but would also like to incorporate running as a
form of cross training to build endurance and strength. I will do anything to
speed up the process of increasing my threshold on the bike.

I have heard a lot of people say that the two work against each other but I
cannot see how?

What do you guys think of building a program that includes a good combination
of running and cycling?

PS: Does anyone have a decent gym program aimed at cyclists that they would
like to share?

epoh38778.9357060185

Recent research into the benefits of cross-training have shown that

while cycling benefits your running, the converse is not true. In fact

athletes who used running as part of their cycling training showed a

decrease in performance which leads one to suggest that it is a bad

idea unless you ultimately want to enter multisport (duathlon,

triathlon) events.

My personal experience is that you can build better aerobic fitness

through cycling than through running as there is far less 'wear and

tear' on the body when riding (hence most peoples concern about their

knee's amongst other things). By the same token it may be easier to do

anerobic (speed and strength) sessions while running as you need less

of a controlled enviroment (anerobic sessions on a bike are difficult

when dodging cars, traffic lights and other nasties) but then the

research mentioned above has suggested that while it will improve your