[Event] MTN National XCM #8 Ride Crater Cruise 106km - Driven By Nissan

• Replies 222

O ja , the 106 on Saterday ( Suikerbossie climb ) is very close to my farm , so , for a small fee , I'll give some road , weather reports . :ph34r:

Just kidding about the fee .

The weather report has been predicting rain this whole week , but so far - nothing . It is dry and dusty just like you guys like it . The roads , ( and this is where I feel sorry for the hard tail guys ) are pretty corrugated at the moment , so , don't pump those tyres too hard !

O ja , the 106 on Saterday ( Suikerbossie climb ) is very close to my farm , so , for a small fee , I'll give some road , weather reports . :ph34r:

Just kidding about the fee .

The weather report has been predicting rain this whole week , but so far - nothing . It is dry and dusty just like you guys like it . The roads , ( and this is where I feel sorry for the hard tail guys ) are pretty corrugated at the moment , so , don't pump those tyres too hard !

Ag nee man.Lekker Vrystaat vir jou!If it rains heavily the day before how muddy will it be?

Sure recovery will be complete come Saturday, or take it easy ;)

I've given up on Sunday, too far to drive and not far enough to ride. :whistling:

Same here, going to have a couple of beers after the 106km on Saturday and going sleep late the next morning!

Ag nee man.Lekker Vrystaat vir jou!If it rains heavily the day before how muddy will it be?

The roads won't be a problem at all with mud . The short section next to the river ( sandy bit after halfway ) might be a bit tougher , but then it will have to rain a lot , and I don't think that's going to happen this week . I just hope we have days like today , because nice sunshine , not too hot , and almost no wind . They recon it might rain a bit on Sunday , but only in the afternoon .

Year before last it rained as we got into the last 5k's and it was quite welcome :)

Same here, going to have a couple of beers after the 106km on Saturday and going sleep late the next morning!

Brilliant idea!

My forecast says rain from this afternoon thru to tomorrow but only a 20% chance of rain on Sat and no rain on Sunday. Looking forward to the race except for the corrugated section :whistling:

More

Hoe lyk die weer in Parys en omgewing

Steeds geen reen , so nogsteeds baie droog en stowwerig . Wind het gister middag redelik gewaai , maar vanoggend is dit stil . Dit lyk of die wind eers hier by 10 , 11 uur begin waai , voorspelling is so 15 km/h wind vir Saterdag met 'n maks van 30 grade C . So dit lyk of dit lekker weer gaan wees vir fietsry . Paaie is ongelukkig maar baie rof op die oomblik , so trek maar goeie fietsry broek aan .

Methinks I would prefer some rain before tomorrow, would soften the blow of the corrugations somewhat. Wishing I owned a soft tail.

Yoh I dont envy you hard tail okes for Crater Cruise...

I think id rather spend an evening speed dating in pollsmoor prison, might come out with less of a hammering

Bottle

Goody bag is very disappointing :thumbdown: We had four of those exact same USN bottles, but soon threw them away. They are rubbish and every single one of them leaked at the threads.

Are we having a couple of beers after the race? I know some of the guys but how about the rest? You'll be fine on a hardtail if you're used to it.

Goody bag is very disappointing :thumbdown: We had four of those exact same USN bottles, but soon threw them away. They are rubbish and every single one of them leaked at the threads.

I quite like the Crater shirt. Given up on goody bags long ago.