• Replies 85

No there is no seeding it is not a PPA event we just felt for the money you have to pay racetec and ppa it was not worth it. I think most people ride Eselfontein because its one of the best races in the Cape and not for a better seeding. I think its a race more for the hardcore MTBiker. Also I think the PPA wanted to tell us when we could have the event and it would have been more in the middle of winter which would have been a bit difficult as some water crossing might have been too flooded.

You guys and girls must also know that all profits made from this event is given to the old age home in Ceres. The track maintenance is done by the farmers on the Eselfontein road. We send our workers there as sort of a donation and we also use the track the rest of the year. I think Deon Malherbe really needs to be congratulated for his efforts in keeping this race alive. We also have a great main sponsor in TruCape.

Cheers hope to see you guys there

Deon Meyer

PS. Anybody who did the 65km race last year expect alot new track from about the 30km mark.

Ceres, what's the cut-off? Agterossies like me might only average about 10km/h on that terrain. 5 - 6 hours? That new ST sounds great, but that climb getting there looks daunting from the profile.

I don't really think there is a cut-off. You finished when you back.clap.gif Also if you are last and you think you can't make it, it is very easy just to turnaround and follow the track back to a water point or back to the farm.

Also looks like YR.no is now predicting perfect weather for MTBiking for Saturday. clap.gif

For the 65 km race there will be 7 waterpoints 3 of them are loops that you go past we get businesses from Ceres to sponsor them.

I don't really think there is a cut-off. You finished when you back.clap.gif Also if you are last and you think you can't make it, it is very easy just to turnaround and follow the track back to a water point or back to the farm.

Also looks like YR.no is now predicting perfect weather for MTBiking for Saturday. clap.gif

For the 65 km race there will be 7 waterpoints 3 of them are loops that you go past we get businesses from Ceres to sponsor them.

Jammer om soveel vrae te vra maar ek's bietjie skrikering na my slegte uitstappie laas week by die Seweweekspoort MTB waar ek n moeilike 5 ure in die saal gehad het, en wat eintlik n maklike race is. Daardie +- 9km klim vanaf 34km tot 43km, is dit meestal plaas, jeep track of single track? Dis eker hy wat bepaal of jy man of muis is, want as jy eers bo is dan is daar al die nuwe tracks en meestal afdrande huistoe - of hoe?

Edited by flymango

Its mostly single track climbing so it is not the easiest, but once you have reached the top its mainly downhill with few little climbs (easy climbs not too steep). The long climbs gradient in places is quite steap and its not just a head down keep the same cadence kind of climb, there are here and there a few little down hills with some tight climbing corners. To put it to you this way you should ride about the same time as your Karoo to Coast time give or take a 10 to 20 minutes longer depending on your technical skills. (thats if you have done KtC). I ride the race pretty much the same time as that race.

Jammer om soveel vrae te vra maar ek's bietjie skrikering na my slegte uitstappie laas week by die Seweweekspoort MTB waar ek n moeilike 5 ure in die saal gehad het, en wat eintlik n maklike race is. Daardie +- 9km klim vanaf 34km tot 43km, is dit meestal plaas, jeep track of single track? Dis eker hy wat bepaal of jy man of muis is, want as jy eers bo is dan is daar al die nuwe tracks en meestal afdrande huistoe - of hoe?

Die grootste fout wat meeste mense maak wat nie Eselfontein ken nie is om te hard aan die begin te ry, want die eerste 16km is redelik plat met lekker single track deur die twee Poppelier bosse. 'n Mens voel mos dan lus vir ry en dan kan jou hart rate te hoog gaan daar.Hou net jou hart rate dop en geniet een van die beste mtb tracks in die land. Die klim na die pyplyn toe is nie mak nie, maar die steilste stuk is die 1.5km na die pyplyn. Na dit is dit die uitsig en downhill dubbel die klim werd. Ek sal graag wil hoor as jy klaar gery het hoe dit was.

JJJJJJJJJJIS mar eks amped vir die race..Bliksem..

This has to be every proper mtbikers one race they do not miss. I have ridden it about 5 times 3 of those the long route and 2 the 36km..The first two years when I did the shorter route I stood in awe of the guys doing the long route as the climbs comming at the end of the 36km come when its normally already hot and as Boeggoe mentions above, dont be fooled by the first 25km of singletrack, there are no major climbs but it will take it out of you if you push to hard.

I have a reverent respect for that 60km route and It is not to be toyed with, It is worth every ounce of blood and sweat though as its not just 80% singletrack but I'd say the downhills after the long climb on the 35km and the long downhill after the big climb on the 65km is some of the best sections I have ever ridden. Not to mention the forrest part...

I think this race will be a lot easier in the cold. It is normally already 30 C by the time we hit the big climbs and that makes it hurt even more.

I cant wait for the new singletrack!!!!!

I agree with Buchu the forest sections are so fun to do fast and hard as they flow great that people tend to push themselves too hard there. Also you must remember there is little "free km's" on this race there is no place you can just put your head down and go, its alot of switches and nice turns.

weather outlook for Ceres??

Also can i have some directions from Cape Town . Ta

just type "yr ceres" in google. or go back a page and follow the link i posted.

You basically drive straight through ceres on the main road, exit the town, youll see a turnoff to the right next to a big fruit storage facility, turn there and head straight youll eventually drive into the farm.

Weather is looking better and better for tomorrow. Drive straight through Ceres at the big Crispy Coolers coldstore turn right at the Ezelfontein rd (don't ask me why its not spelt the same as the farm). Just drive straight down that rd it will turn into a gravel rd, through the big gate and just keep going straight and you are there.