Training Wheelset Choice from a select short list?

ZippWheelsForSale

Hi,

Ignoring purchase price, which of these wheelsets will cost least in terms of maintenance and service (both number of 'services' and cost of bike shop 'attention')?

Or put differently, on which set will I get the most training miles over the next couple of years?

• Mavic Aksium, 2013
  • DT Swiss R1900, 2012
  • DT Swiss R1800, 2012
  • American Classic Sprint 350, not sure about year
  • Alex R380 (Rims build onto American Classic Hubs, not sure about spoke choice or year of manufacture)

Thanks

I have been using a set of Aksiums for a few months and have been super impressed. Cost me under 2 grand new. Money well spent. No comment on others. DT's have been around for years though.

Not the Aksiums. Ive got a set, wont recommend them.

DT hubs are not so easy to service, I hear, if you are planning to do lots and lots of kms, perhaps go for something else.

Perhaps look at something from Shimano or Campy, too? Both make superb wheels.

Not the Aksiums. Ive got a set, wont recommend them.

What problems have you had?

Been riding mine for 3 years now and not a single problem.They still running true

Hi,

Ignoring purchase price, which of these wheelsets will cost least in terms of maintenance and service (both number of 'services' and cost of bike shop 'attention')?

Or put differently, on which set will I get the most training miles over the next couple of years?

• Mavic Aksium, 2013
  • DT Swiss R1900, 2012
  • DT Swiss R1800, 2012
  • American Classic Sprint 350, not sure about year
  • Alex R380 (Rims build onto American Classic Hubs, not sure about spoke choice or year of manufacture)

Thanks

Campag Khamsin...