Cooking and culinary tips/recipes

Wayne Potgieter

• Replies 1.2k

one recipe to definitely try is:

ostrich steak on a potato rosti with green beans and seared asparagus spears served with an amarula sauce

season ostrich steak with salt and pepper and sear in a griddle pan till medium rear. let steak rest (very important)

boil grean beans in water till al dente, fry in pan with a bit of butter and add lots of crushed black pepper

wrap asparagus spears in parma ham and grill in oven till parma ham is crispy, add some Parmesan shavings.

fry potato rostis till golden brown, (keep warm in warming drawer till ready to plate)

Amarula sauce:

add 300ml amarula to saucepan and bring to a soft boil, add good beef stock to taste, season gently and reduce.

plate and enjoy with a good Merlot

that sounds devine

Friday foolproof mushroom risotto recipe

What you need

1 cup arborio rice

400ml chicken or veg stock (no you don't need to make your own)

400ml white wine (pref dry)

1 chopped onion

2 cloves of finely chopped garlic

chopped mushrooms (not the crap in tins)

extra virgin olive oil

2 knobs of butter

grated parmesan (not the stuff in a shaker)

Heat olive oil & butter in saucepan over gentle heat (be careful, not too hot)

When butter starts foaming add onions and garlic

Do not fry the onions and garlic, just soften until translucent

Warm up wine in microwave for min or 2

Add risotto and gently shake to coat with butter & oil

Add wine and reduce while gently stirring

Do not rush this otherwise wine taste is too strong

Watch the heat and take care not to let it dry out and burn

Add some water if necessary

Add stock (must be warm)

Again reduce while gently stirring and making sure it stays moist (add some water if necessary)

Add chopped mushrooms and cook through

Risotto should not be dry, make sure it is moist but not runny

Turn off heat and gently stir in grated parmesan and knob of butter

Salt & pepper to taste

Serve immediately

Remember not to rush, wine needs to cook out and don't let it boil vigourously. You don't need to stir all the time but make sure you don't burn it. Do not add cold wine or stock, warm it up first.

post-16512-0-78645200-1371208669_thumb.jpgVlakvark Boud, slow braai in da Weber. With a supersonic basting sauce. It was really tasty.

Vlakvark = warthog? I love warthog

post-16512-0-78645200-1371208669_thumb.jpgVlakvark Boud, slow braai in da Weber. With a supersonic basting sauce. It was really tasty.

bliksem that looks awesome

what is in the basting sauce?

So last summer I wanted to try my hand at wood smoking but couldn't find [didn't want to more like at current prices] a decent smoker that I wanted. So I used up the planets internet for plans of a DIY version and found this:

http://assets.smokingmeatforums.com/e/ee/640x361px-LL-ee8866e7_2012-06-25_15-03-52_322.jpeg

http://assets.smokingmeatforums.com/8/88/640x361px-LL-88a57ee8_2012-06-25_16-54-56_135.jpeg

http://www.grillingcompanion.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/DSC_1524.jpg

http://thumbs.ifood.tv/files/imagecache/600x500/low_and_slow_smoked_texas_beef_ribs-162314.jpghttp://thumbs.ifood.tv/files/imagecache/600x500/smoked_bock__brown_sugar_drunken_chicken-162320.jpg

Project cost R470 odd [i had an old alum pot]

needless to say beef ribs will never be the same- even tried my hand at smoking chicken breasts- that didn't work [anyone know how to do that??]

Guest Latent Blue

Super easy pork shoulder.

Pork at room temp

Preheut oven 220'

3 T spoon olive oil

3 T spoon garlic

Add salt and pepper to taste

Add choice of herbs

Mix and rub on shoulder

Put shoulder in oven on a grill grid thingy (over a oven pan)

Untill inside temp 85 degrees centigrade (about 4h)

Rest for 10min

Serve with apple/kweper jelly

Super easy pork shoulder.

Pork at room temp

Preheut oven 220'

3 T spoon olive oil

3 T spoon garlic

Add salt and pepper to taste

Add choice of herbs

Mix and rub on shoulder

Put shoulder in oven on a grill grid thingy (over a oven pan)

Untill inside temp 85 degrees centigrade (about 4h)

Rest for 10min

Serve with apple/kweper jelly

Dit klink bliksems lekker. En kweper jelly is perfek daarby. My skoonma, as sy nie op haar besem rond vlieg nie maak n moerse lekker kweper jelly. Etter nou raak ek honger Edited by Turtle Man

Guest Latent Blue
Dit klink bliksems lekker. En kweper jelly is perfek daarby. My skoonma, as sy nie op haar besem rond vlieg nie maak n moerse lekker kweper jelly. Etter nou raak ek honger
dit is...gister aand geeet... en daai crispy vet vel!

Kom on se net my bloed gly deur my are!!!

Debone a whole chikken. Take care not to puncture the skin. Make a mushroom and feta filling, or a bacon and mushroom filling or chikken livers. mozarella and peppadews also works wellFlavour to your taste. Spread on the chikken fold the sides over and roll up tightly, skin outide. Salt, pepper the skin side and place in one of those elasticised net socks you get from a butcher. Chill well and grill in the Cobb, Weber or in the oven. Cut in slices and enjoy