Cyclists can be their own worst enemy.  

140 members have voted

1. 1. Can they possibly be ?

• Yes
    • No

Happy, I feel you man....

There's but a couple 'mona lisa's', who instead of enjoying their cycle experience, are more intent on it causing them severe unhappiness.

Then again, perhaps we need to create a support group for the cycle police, 'cause they seem to take the stress of the job home.....and then they off load on The Hub. Guys, leave the job of policing the cycle community at work, and get on your bikes for fun on the odd occasion. Rediscover the joys of cycling and enjoying that space.

And bare in mind that the cycling community at large appreciates you.....

• Replies 137

Think this poll should read:

Do motorist still obey the laws?

OR

Do motorist still stop correctly at stop street?

They expect us to ride in the cutter but how often do I see motorist stoping at a stop street with their front bumper behind the line - 50% on avg with their front wheels ahead of the line 35 % and with their back wheels ahead of the line 15%! But yes we cyclist must be in the gutter to swerve into the traffic because of the nature of motorist not obeying the law!

I find the same: I if I anticipate and signal my intensions (communicate effectively), motorists simply make way.

Except Busses and most taxis.

Happy, I feel you man....

There's but a couple 'mona lisa's', who instead of enjoying their cycle experience, are more intent on it causing them severe unhappiness.

Then again, perhaps we need to create a support group for the cycle police, 'cause they seem to take the stress of the job home.....and then they off load on The Hub. Guys, leave the job of policing the cycle community at work, and get on your bikes for fun on the odd occasion. Rediscover the joys of cycling and enjoying that space.

And bare in mind that the cycling community at large appreciates you.....

I agree, how is that saying "it's all ****$ and giggles till someone......"

Quite frankly I am over cyclists want to get themselves killed, but when they put me at risk, I don't take kindly to it.

I agree, how is that saying "it's all ****$ and giggles till someone......"

Quite frankly I am over cyclists want to get themselves killed, but when they put me at risk, I don't take kindly to it.

The cyclist and driver were both idiots, but only one of them risked culpable homicide to get where they were going a little bit quicker.

In the Netherlands if that car had hit you the driver would have been absolutely crucified - never would have happened - the policy of Strict Liability ensures that it does not.

Even in SA, the law quite plainly states that you wait until it is safe to overtake.

Edited by Lucky Luke.

The cyclist and driver were both idiots, but only one of them risked culpable homicide to get where they were going a little bit quicker.

In the Netherlands if that car had hit you the driver would have been absolutely crucified - never would have happened - the policy of Strict Liability ensures that it does not.

Even in SA, the law quite plainly states that you wait until it is safe to overtake.

Funny thing about survival, it's a mode people get in to when nobody abides by the law anymore.

Hope the above dream works out for you.

Funny thing about survival, it's a mode people get in to when nobody abides by the law anymore.

Jy's vroeg wakker, Boet...

:-)

Surviving fine thanks, and have been for many years.

If you want to do something useful speak directly to your fellow mountain bikers who have no idea how to ride on the road, and more importantly, report that car for overtaking in the face of oncoming traffic. This thread is a waste of space, like the rest of the 'own worst enemy' bs on this site.

Surviving fine thanks, and have been for many years.

If you want to do something useful speak directly to your fellow mountain bikers who have no idea how to ride on the road, and more importantly, report that car for overtaking in the face of oncoming traffic. This thread is a waste of space, like the rest of the 'own worst enemy' bs on this site.

Thanks tough guy, I will however will be willing to take a wager that I have done more for safe cycling than you could ever dream to.

Jy's vroeg wakker, Boet...

:-)

I went training bru, you see, dear Luke boy and Martin and the rest think they are the only ones who cycle, I thought I would give it a try :thumbup:

And as for the thread being a waste, seems like 99 cyclists versus 5 are prepared to become better road users.

Edited by Wyatt Earp

Thanks tough guy, I will however will be willing to take a wager that I have done more for safe cycling than you could ever dream to.

Classic hub behavior. From a (pointless or not) road safety discussion to "I am better than you" within a few pages.

Classic hub behaviour from your side too.

I get accused by your Capetonian tjom of doing very little and I am willing to take a wager with him and it gets perceived as a dick swinging contest.

What a grap.

Admin, close this thread, we can clearly see from the poll that the minority feel they own the road.

Edited by Wyatt Earp

I went training bru, you see, dear Luke boy and Martin and the rest think they are the only ones who cycle, I thought I would give it a try :thumbup:

And as for the thread being a waste, seems like 99 cyclists versus 5 are prepared to become better road users.

I said I was the only one who cycles? Really? I only manage about 10 hours a week. Quite modest by the standards of the guys I cycle with.

I just happen to disagree with you. And most people on most things actually. Don't get angry. You are in the majority. Should be a comfortable place to be.

I said I was the only one who cycles? Really? I only manage about 10 hours a week. Quite modest by the standards of the guys I cycle with.

I just happen to disagree with you. And most people on most things actually. Don't get angry. You are in the majority. Should be a comfortable place to be.

I am buddhist, we don't get angry, we levitate.