R500 per rider for an iconic SA event like this is very reasonable. Compare it with what you can get for R500 and it starts to look positively like a bargain.

Dinner for 2 at a fair restaurant.

Two bags of groceries from P&P.

1 bottle of Champagne

3 or 4 OK Cuban cigars

1 bike tyre

1 wheel tubeless conversion

4 bunches of flowers for the wife

2 or 3 trashy soft cover novels

1 cheap cycling top

2 pairs of Assos socks

Are you going cycling or are you going binging - boozing - smoking etc esp.when you need FOUR bunches of flowers for the wife(wat het jy gedoen??)

Keep the goodies and let me enter ar R250 (some chance!!)

Jigghead - R500 is expensive - finis en kla.

At that price not everyone can go so can you say you competed against the BEST? - nah!!

Remember the bike does not make the rider.

Are the organisers going to sponsor some development teams?? (hope so but me thinks not)(no not just one)

Edited by porqui
  • Replies 133

R500 per rider for an iconic SA event like this is very reasonable. Compare it with what you can get for R500 and it starts to look positively like a bargain.

Dinner for 2 at a fair restaurant.

Two bags of groceries from P&P.

1 bottle of Champagne

3 or 4 OK Cuban cigars

1 bike tyre

1 wheel tubeless conversion

4 bunches of flowers for the wife

2 or 3 trashy soft cover novels

1 cheap cycling top

2 pairs of Assos socks

I have done 3 DC's.

Here is the true cost of a DC for most Cape Townians:

Race entry R500

Accommodation R1000 per night (for a place that usually costs R250 a night), for 2 nights = R2000

Fuel (assume you share with a mate) R250

Kit (not sponsored, but riding in same kit) R500

Dinner one evening (you get either pasta or pasta at all the restaurants in town) R150

For R3400 I can take my wife for a lovely weekend to Greyton and ride my mountain bike all weekend for a nominal trail fee. I guess thats what I will be doing that weekend.

GLuvsMtb

Agreed, the entry fee is the least of it, that is the case with each and every race. Add up what an Argus cost the out of towners, or the Sani for the Capies and it gets scary. All that doesn't mean it is unreasonable though, if you feel that you got value for money. Personally, I'm well equipped for camping and I take that option over a grim overpriced dump any day. That way I know what I'm getting and it is cheap.

GLuvsMtb

Agreed, the entry fee is the least of it, that is the case with each and every race. Add up what an Argus cost the out of towners, or the Sani for the Capies and it gets scary. All that doesn't mean it is unreasonable though, if you feel that you got value for money. Personally, I'm well equipped for camping and I take that option over a grim overpriced dump any day. That way I know what I'm getting and it is cheap.

I would have supported the higher entry if they put a further limitation on the number of entrants. Swellendam will rip you a new one as the town is too small to comfortably host so many people. Many of the eateries and the accommodation providers inflate their prices well beyond high season prices. You end up having to book as far out as Montagu or even Caledon for something that you can actually ride any weekend of the year as you need to provide your own support in any event. With the emergence of online timing platforms like Strava these races that does not offer much more than a banner and a beer tent at the finish will struggle in future.

Slightly off topic.

Since the longest race I have competed in was the Argus in 3h20 something. What time should I be aiming for in the DC?

aim for riding time of 8 hrs then add another hour for stops,punctures etc - 9hrs.

u need someone in the team or back up to kick ass at the 'stops' becos some okes take this chance to pack out the proverbial kitchen sink.

p*ss,change bottle,grab munchies and back on the bike should'nt take more than 3 minutes in theory. on the day another matter.

aim for riding time of 8 hrs then add another hour for stops,punctures etc - 9hrs.

u need someone in the team or back up to kick ass at the 'stops' becos some okes take this chance to pack out the proverbial kitchen sink.

p*ss,change bottle,grab munchies and back on the bike should'nt take more than 3 minutes in theory. on the day another matter.

We gave this some thought, the organizers give you 30 min, why not use this to max advantage without getting too cold?

Last year we had repairs to do on two bikes, and we had a split 15km before stop so was good to regroup and head out with 10 riders again.

Is 30min enough for blood transfusion. :o

R500 well worth it. I don't road ride much, not for me...

But DC over 94.7 any day. Team effort 100% and a leaker tick in the bucket cycling list.

Nice event last year even though weather was crazy at times.

Will be back!

Epic lol also worth every cent...and Sani and W2W ( Eish loads of trips to CT planned coming up ) YEBO!

Mythoughtsaremyown....hahahaha