I was forced of the road Sturday morning by a driver in a blue 3series BMW reg. CL46447, on my way back home between Simonsig and the railway, Cape Town. A quiet tarred road leading towards Bottelary road, but with no yellow shoulder. I instantly gave the driver the 'bird' and he kindly returned it in his rear view mirror, he then pulled off and we got into an argument. He saying that we(cyclists) don't belong on the road and me saying, we have all the right to be there...He also admitted in the heat of the moment that he almost knocked over 2 other cyclist on the same road and that he wants to put a sticker in his back window saying, F..the cyclists. I reported this incident to the police, but were told because there were no injuries or damage I am basically wasting my time, they did however gave me the address of the owner of the BMW, Die Rand, Dan Pienaarstraat, Stellenbosch.

Any suggestions of what to do????

The real worry for me is that the driver had this kind of attitude towards cyclists, 10cm closer and he would have hit me!!! The thought that he might just take one of us out one day is just to scary to think about..

you posted his address, vehicle make and registration. This information will reach the right people.

Hari Krishna, Jehovah Witnesses, Little Sisters of Mercy...

Not much can be done till new legislation passed. Could report him on www.roadhogs.co.za, not sure if that will help though.

I had a similar incident this morning on the R304 where a farm bakkie nearly took me out giving way for a car passing him, shoved me into the gravel, luckily I managed to stay on bike. Couldn't get the number plate, shock, but it was a old white bakkie(the rear was brown from gravel roads). Getting dangerous out there.

Da was eens hierdie prag verhaal van n ou wat sneeu gaan kyk het in die Ceres distrik. Hy het heel rustig vuurtjie brand gemaak tussen die boorde en n worsie gebraai. Met die boer se aankoms vertel hierdie stad japie die boer dat dit n vry land is en hy mag braai waar hy wil.

Stomgeslaan gaan die boer huistoe, met die japie se motor registrasie in sy kop. N jaar of wat later gaan kyk hy en n paar manne rugby by Nuweland, onder andere n beampte van die gereg wat reeds hierdie stads japie se adres opgesoek het.

Hulle parkeer toe die lieflike Sat op heerlike sagte lowergroen grasperk, ruk hul Weber, Coleman en kampstoele uit en begin kuier. Volgende oomblik stop daar toe hierdie blink nuwe BMW. Ontstoke kIim die man uit sy voertuig en vra, " wat de moer dink julle doen julle op my grasperk" waarop die boer toe antwoord, dis n vry land en dat hy mag braai waar hy wil.

Da was eens hierdie prag verhaal van n ou wat sneeu gaan kyk het in die Ceres distrik. Hy het heel rustig vuurtjie brand gemaak tussen die boorde en n worsie gebraai. Met die boer se aankoms vertel hierdie stad japie die boer dat dit n vry land is en hy mag braai waar hy wil.

Stomgeslaan gaan die boer huistoe, met die japie se motor registrasie in sy kop. N jaar of wat later gaan kyk hy en n paar manne rugby by Nuweland, onder andere n beampte van die gereg wat reeds hierdie stads japie se adres opgesoek het.

Hulle parkeer toe die lieflike Sat op heerlike sagte lowergroen grasperk, ruk hul Weber, Coleman en kampstoele uit en begin kuier. Volgende oomblik stop daar toe hierdie blink nuwe BMW. Ontstoke kIim die man uit sy voertuig en vra, " wat de moer dink julle doen julle op my grasperk" waarop die boer toe antwoord, dis n vry land en dat hy mag braai waar hy wil.

Tks, jy't sopas my aand gemaak.

That is a dangerous strip of tar at the best of times, if there was no oncoming traffic he was just being a d**k.

In the same breath lots of fellow cyclist in cars patience were tested by a group of cyclist this morning on Jonkershoek road sauntering along four abreast, problem is your beamer chop will loose his cool and see if he can clip one of them.

Safety first, unfortunately 2 tons of steel at 100km/h always beats carbon matchsticks.

Really be nice if there was an official way to name and shame d*cks like this - let their families, friends and the people they work for know how little they regard human life. What always amazes me is how often these idiots think - they must surely have kids, or friends with kids. How would they feel if someone treated one of them like that when they decide they enjoy cycling?

My other suggestion was a "700c necklace" - but I don't think it would burn long enough to do more than scorch his shirt

Edited by walkerr

Funny that these are the type of drivers that are very groot bek and will stop and argue with you but when they actually hit/kill you with their car they won't stop.

Probably because they know that their argument that we don't belong on the roads won't stand in court.

Glad you're ok.