Hope Brake Appreciation Thread

patches

I don't have good pictures of my Hope Tech Evo X2 brakes, but they are slightly pimped with braided hoses and XT shifter mounts. They are in good company with rotors & adaptor, a rear skewer, headset, bar plugs and of course hubs.

• Replies 425

Hmmmm, I see that at lea few people building lightweight dirt motorbikes (around 50kg) use what brakes...................Hope.

Something like these ones?

http://www.fxbikes.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/FX-4-Army-Green.jpg

I'm courius to know why that is a problem Rouxtjie.

There is actually a couple of problems, not just one.

Dot fluid is extremely corrosive / harsh. Working with it is a pain in the arse, you get a drop of it on your frame and it eats the paint.

Dot fluid likes to take on moisture...there is a scientific term for this, hydroscopic something or the other....what this means is that you will be bleeding the brakes more than brakes using mineral oil to get rid of the "spongy" feeling

Dot fluid will over time corrode / eat the internals of the caliper...maybe hope has better engineering but in the case of avids they don't so your brakes becomes a timebomb from the time you fill them with dot fluid...its not if, its when.

Bleeding brakes with dot fluid must be done very carefully(see point one) unlike mineral oil where you open the reservoir, put some mineral oil in a syringe and fit over bleeding nipple on caliper, push down, and let the mineral oil run out sommer over the handlebars into a rama bakkie...wipe clean with a rag, job done. Easy bleeding is a must

... it's been said that Chuck Norris prefers Shimano :whistling:

Chuck Norris doesn't use brakes he just kicks his testicles into the spokes, which is why he can decorate his bars with ornaments like XTs. Now if Chuck Norris did use brakes…

Its simple.

If you want expensive, bling, arguably good looking looking brakes that have been CNC machined from a billet of aluminium and work really well - then you get Hopes.

If you want brakes that are a little kitch looking with all the crome plastic, but work pretty much equally as well as Hopes, have nicer levers (IMHO), dont use horrible DOT fluid, but cost a lot less - then you get XT (not XTR or Saint)

Guest Omega Man

Its simple.

If you want expensive, bling, arguably good looking looking brakes that have been CNC machined from a billet of aluminium and work really well - then you get Hopes.

If you want brakes that are a little kitch looking with all the crome plastic, but work pretty much equally as well as Hopes, have nicer levers (IMHO), dont use horrible DOT fluid, but cost a lot less - then you get XT (not XTR or Saint)

True that.

I just love Hopes. I love the look and the feel of them. I love that they are machined out of one piece of Billet. I love the fact that they are made in Britain (shame we have to help out the little bankrupt rock don't we?) I loooove the 4 pot calipers.

Having said all that I really really approve of the new stuff from Shimano. Especially the Saint stuff. Yum!

I have a question, why are Magura brakes so expensive? I have the mt6 on my bike but from the start thought I might replace them. After seeing what they cost I decided to give them a go, but they are average at most, my old xt's were better.

True that.

I just love Hopes. I love the look and the feel of them. I love that they are machined out of one piece of Billet. I love the fact that they are made in Britain (shame we have to help out the little bankrupt rock don't we?) I loooove the 4 pot calipers.

Having said all that I really really approve of the new stuff from Shimano. Especially the Saint stuff. Yum!

Yebo...would love a saint crank and brakes for reviving my EMD...