Performance enhancing substances among amateurs

Just a quick question - how is it "coming clean" when you're purposefully withholding your identity? 

Yes, the sport is sick. Yes, it needs a rapid overhaul. No, it doesn't get fixed by anonymously posting details of what you have done as we all knew what happens anyway. The only way that this is fixed is by co-operation with the authorities and by lambasting each and every single doper. 

• Replies 417

Boasting? Well executed Googling? And you go tmy age completely wrong brother Wyatt... And poor Andrew, he must have taught you a few lessons on your day, hence the accusation. He is much more intelligent than to dope. (Not as dumb as me!)

Let me hit you with some irony! I have had NO LESS THAN 64 PM's sent to me people who are requesting help! The sport is SICK! Not only me! Only I know that I have stopped and YOU are not to judge because you do not know me!

You are all lekker windgat slinging your faceless responses around, cowards! I wanted to come clean and make a difference, but hey, with arrogant pricks like some of you I would rather shut up and keep all the stuff to myself than being insulted like this. i have been 100% honest, my intention was NOT to boast.

I stand before my God and He knows me and my heart, my deepest secrets and my hearts desires. You will not judge me, only God judges. This is exactly why people withhold the truth, because YOU cant handle the truth.

I am a man of my word, you don't know me at all.

This is a hard topic and you cant face the fact that everyone is sick in this sport! 64 requests I received, is it me or the sport????

All those who sent me PM's for advice, here's my advice:

Visit your nearest Sports Physiologist and ask for advice.

Some more irony, I have my "normal" profile and I am quite popular among you guys, I will always know who I am, you will never know me, I will always know who the people are that asked me for PED's and will never utter any word. This will be forgotten and never spoken of again.

Sorry for what I did to the sport..

Well said D2s. ...what you did ...you did at the time to be competitive. ...it's still like that ...not just in cycling ...in everyday life ...business , work etc ...what bosses have to do to land contracts so that we can have a job...etc ...it's all around us ...that is the real world ...I have no problem with what you did ....I'm guilty of some sh*t I did when I had my business ..but had I played fair, I would have been eaten by my competitors...and this is life ...the playing field....it's never level.. ????

Boasting? Well executed Googling? And you go tmy age completely wrong brother Wyatt... And poor Andrew, he must have taught you a few lessons on your day, hence the accusation. He is much more intelligent than to dope. (Not as dumb as me!)

Let me hit you with some irony! I have had NO LESS THAN 64 PM's sent to me people who are requesting help! The sport is SICK! Not only me! Only I know that I have stopped and YOU are not to judge because you do not know me! 

You are all lekker windgat slinging your faceless responses around, cowards! I wanted to come clean and make a difference, but hey, with arrogant pricks like some of you I would rather shut up and keep all the stuff to myself than being insulted like this. i have been 100% honest, my intention was NOT to boast. 

I stand before my God and He knows me and my heart, my deepest secrets and my hearts desires. You will not judge me, only God judges. This is exactly why people withhold the truth, because YOU cant handle the truth.

I am a man of my word, you don't know me at all. 

This is a hard topic and you cant face the fact that everyone is sick in this sport! 64 requests I received, is it me or the sport????

All those who sent me PM's for advice, here's my advice:

Visit your nearest Sports Physiologist and ask for advice. 

Some more irony, I have my "normal" profile and I am quite popular among you guys, I will always know who I am, you will never know me, I will always know who the people are that asked me for PED's and will never utter any word. This will be forgotten and never spoken of again. 

Sorry for what I did to the sport.. 

I appreciate you coming on here (even if I don't have much respect for you as a doper), I can respect you coming on here and again reminding people of the problems we have in our sport.

People are quick to judge (especially anonymous keyboard assassins) - but history tells us there are far more Armstrong, Ricco's, Vinokourovs etc out there, than the innocent Bassons of this crazy cycling world. Unless you have personally been in that situation (possibly walking away from your career/passion/employment because the system was a disaster), then you shouldn't be so quick to judge.

I hate doping, I disagree with the choice so many dopers have made, but without properly addressing the issue at hand, without inside knowledge, without being clear that we still have a very serious issue in our sport - we will never get anywhere.

I wish you well heading forward, hopefully something positive will come from it all (like some testing :thumbup: )

PS: Anonymous boasting, now that is a novel idea  :w00t: I'm really Lance Armstrong  :whistling:

Well said D2s. ...what you did ...you did at the time to be competitive. ...it's still like that ...not just in cycling ...in everyday life ...business , work etc ...what bosses have to do to land contracts so that we can have a job...etc ...it's all around us ...that is the real world ...I have no problem with what you did ....I'm guilty of some sh*t I did when I had my business ..but had I played fair, I would have been eaten by my competitors...and this is life ...the playing field....it's never level..

- .... .- - ... / .- / ... .... .. - .-.. --- .- -.. / --- ..-. / -.. --- - ... .-.-.- / -.-- --- ..- / ... ..- .-. . / -.. --- / .-.. .. -.- . / -.. --- - ...

Just a quick question - how is it "coming clean" when you're purposefully withholding your identity? 

Yes, the sport is sick. Yes, it needs a rapid overhaul. No, it doesn't get fixed by anonymously posting details of what you have done as we all knew what happens anyway. The only way that this is fixed is by co-operation with the authorities and by lambasting each and every single doper

Honest question, would you throw all your mates under the bus for say, cheating on their tax returns? Or would you point out to SARS the loopholes in the system  :whistling:

Honest question, would you throw all your mates under the bus for say, cheating on their tax returns? Or would you point out to SARS the loopholes in the system :whistling:

Depends if it's tax avoidance (legal) or tax evasion (illegal)

Guys, I can understand the anger we all feel towards the shocking act of doping/cheating in sport...

HOWEVER, this thread would have long since died off with the same dull lines had Dope2Survive not given us insight into this tainted sport we so love.

As per the original post in this thread, this topic was meant to be a discussion on doping in the sport and not a topic to pass judgement and insults upon the person in question.

Honest question, would you throw all your mates under the bus for say, cheating on their tax returns? Or would you point out to SARS the loopholes in the system  :whistling:

If it's tax evasion, then yeah. Otherwise I'm endangered me as well by willfully withholding the information from SARS. 

If it's tax avoidance, then that's fine. That's not "cheating" - it's utilizing the allowable deductions in order to minimize your exposure to tax. 

Full disclosure is to bear your name, state your actions, and let the chips fall where they may.

The value of Dope' and his sharing of information (not disclosure, so ignore my previous post) was to shine a bright light on the system within the SA amateur scene, which is pretty insightful.

How to we, as a community, draw further value from this shared perspective about the systematic doping amongst when we toe the line at our local races?

I'm not gonna waste my energy to draw this individual to full disclosure.

As Dope2survive might know, he has to live with his conscience about his prior choices and actions.

Let me hit you with some irony! I have had NO LESS THAN 64 PM's sent to me people who are requesting help! The sport is SICK!

:eek:  I hope you are exaggerating!

If it's tax evasion, then yeah. Otherwise I'm endangered me as well by willfully withholding the information from SARS. 

If it's tax avoidance, then that's fine. That's not "cheating" - it's utilizing the allowable deductions in order to minimize your exposure to tax. 

Don't get bloody technical on me... you know what I meant! :cursing:

Your buddy claiming back tax on a night out with his buddies and claiming it as a business dinner etc.  :thumbup:  (If this still doesn't meet your criteria, find a bloody analogy that does  :devil: )

:whistling:

I hate and will never condone cheating to beat someone else, but i too have made mistakes in the past. some of which i am still judged upon today and others that i have earned the forgiveness for over time.

The only way to move forward is for the TRUTH to come out and for the real culprits behind the scenes to be held accountable. Yes saying "i did it because everyone else did it" isn't a valid excuse and should receive some sort of penance but without the information the source of the problem will never be known and can never be extinguished.

Don't get bloody technical on me... you know what I meant! :cursing:

Your buddy claiming back tax on a night out with his buddies and claiming it as a business dinner etc.  :thumbup:  (If this still doesn't meet your criteria, find a bloody analogy that does  :devil: )

:whistling:

LOL. 

That's tax avoidance. If he's deriving income through services offered, or is a commission earner then that's fine. It's not illegal, and it's essentially entertainment in view of prospecting for future client. I kid you not. You have no idea how often people ask questions and have requests for assistance, even just around the braai. 

And there's very few times that I'm not around a client of mine, or someone who has requested help and / or information. My clients aren't just those that pay me... 

Perhaps we can use this opportunity to get information into the issue at hand, amateur Vets doping, and not let's this deteriorate into yet another flame war.

Honestly who cares who he is, as he didn't achieve much by his own admission, are we just letting our own curiosity get the best of us?

I for one am more interested in knowing who is currently doing it, not really who did in the 90s (cause they all did) who supports them and how the hell we get to stop them!

I did it.

So this is where the pop corn pop

Interesting read

I am overweight and I am in an office job - my cycling has died off. I am now (trying to) running...

Hell i am often tempted just to try and find something - just to get to somewhere where I dont die every time I reach 20min on the treadmill... losing weight is hard work (I have lost 16kg over the last 4 months) and I will lie if I said I wont consider taking 'meds' (though I doubt I would)

Anyway. Best of health to you

(if you happen to have some make-me-run-fast lying around just pass it my way anyway)

(EDIT: shortened that long ass post)

Perhaps we can use this opportunity to get information into the issue at hand, amateur Vets doping, and not let's this deteriorate into yet another flame war.

Honestly who cares who he is, as he didn't achieve much by his own admission, are we just letting our own curiosity get the best of us?

I for one am more interested in know who is currently doing it, not really who did in the 90s (cause they all did) who supports them and how the hell we get to stop them!

Careful here, thinking someone is doing it and proving that they are doing it are very different things.