A dark Africa lays ahead.....load shedding

Mojoman

• Replies 787

On the topic of load shedding, would anyone know which brand of gas stove is better out of Cadac and Alva?

I assume Cadac is the more popular, but is there any real difference between Cadac and Alva?

Been looking at these 3 options:

https://www.makro.co.za/sports-and-outdoor/cadac-/br-2-plate-gas-stove-with-hose-and-regulator-112297EA

https://www.makro.co.za/sports-and-outdoor/alva-/br-2-burner-gas-stove-stainless-steel-208709EA

https://www.takealot.com/alva-single-burner-canister-stove/PLID40724750?gclid=Cj0KCQiA_4jgBRDhARIsADezXci8Vn3usUd-sMvlYRe6Uuxas2CCN42mrrN3KCLukmObaac8BLxOdkwaAif4EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Or I might have a look at a Skottel.

Edited by WeekendWarrior80

On the topic of load shedding, would anyone know which brand of gas stove is better out of Cadac and Alva?

I assume Cadac is the more popular, but is there any real difference between Cadac and Alva?

https://www.makro.co.za/sports-and-outdoor/cadac-/br-2-plate-gas-stove-with-hose-and-regulator-112297EA

https://www.makro.co.za/sports-and-outdoor/alva-/br-2-burner-gas-stove-stainless-steel-208709EA

https://www.takealot.com/alva-single-burner-canister-stove/PLID40724750?gclid=Cj0KCQiA_4jgBRDhARIsADezXci8Vn3usUd-sMvlYRe6Uuxas2CCN42mrrN3KCLukmObaac8BLxOdkwaAif4EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

There isn’t much difference.

Cadac design their own equipment whereas Alva buy off the shelf, just like Makro/Builder’s inhouse brand. Many of the units originate from the same factory in China.

FWIW, Weber also design their own, but outsource the manufacturing.

Have a look at the max BTU / kW rating of the burners. One may have a higher max than the other, and that's what would determine it for me. 

Also - burner pattern / design. Twin ring gives a better flame than single ring. 

EDIT: Ah, I see you're talking about the 2 burner portable ones. Go have a look at them and choose the one that looks / feels more solid. That single burner canister stove on takealot feels very flimsy in the hand, and gas canisters are expensive compared to the normal gas bottles. 

Edited by Cptmayhem

Have a look at the max BTU / kW rating of the burners. One may have a higher max than the other, and that's what would determine it for me. 

Also - burner pattern / design. Twin ring gives a better flame than single ring. 

EDIT: Ah, I see you're talking about the 2 burner portable ones. Go have a look at them and choose the one that looks / feels more solid. That single burner canister stove on takealot feels very flimsy in the hand, and gas canisters are expensive compared to the normal gas bottles. 

Agree on the edited portion... the cartridge type stoves aren't as good as a two plate stove, or the cooker top that fits on top of the cylinder. And they are more costly.

All gas appliances are regulated at 30mbar in SA, so the only difference you'll get is the quality of the valve to change from level 1, 2, or 3. Some stoves are so bad that it's full gas or nothing, with limited control in-between the min/max settings.

Why is there load shedding as it is summer, what’s causing this?

Seems someone forgot to do some paperwork..contracts weren't renewed with some of their coal suppliers..so now they have a shortage of coal ..apparently. Edited by Gen

Seems someone forgot to do some paperwork..contracts weren't renewed with some of their coal suppliers..so now they have a shortage of coal ..apparently.

That’s disgraceful. Someone should be hung in the public square.

I did read an article here that Eskom paidmthe Guptas one billion rand for coal an not one kilo was delivered. Maybe linked to that.

Exactly what I did yesterday. We only noticed that it was load shedding because the music stopped playing.

Another rough day in Africa.

Same here, any excuse to braai. Lunch and dinner was sorted.

Why is there load shedding as it is summer, what’s causing this?

Seems someone forgot to do some paperwork..contracts weren't renewed with some of their coal suppliers..so now they have a shortage of coal ..apparently.

and the coal they do have they let get wet in the jozi thunderstorms .. so go figure why we get skreeewed ..