Ride for Sight 2015

Zatek

I was behind you BMW, Qhubeka kit and bike.

Guy fell really hard!

Can we not report the clown who took him out?

Also gave him a mouth full when I rode past

I was hoping one of us knew or knows how to proceed further, Obviously accidents happen but that was pure kamikaze !!!  AHA, I remember you ...we were together for quite  a while .

• Replies 201

I was behind you BMW, Qhubeka kit and bike.

Guy fell really hard!

Can we not report the clown who took him out?

Also gave him a mouth full when I rode past

I was hoping one of us knew or knows how to proceed further, Obviously accidents happen but that was pure kamikaze !!!  AHA, I remember you ...we were together for quite  a while .

I chatted to you afterwards. Thx for the water! Nice to meet. Good luck with the KZN race next week.

The water was the least I could do after you had paced me so perfectly up those hills. I thought I was out the back with that one hill, but sat your wheel and that helped me get over it. Thanks mate, really good meeting up.

Enjoy next week.

finally a good race this year.

Had a very close call with he pavement around 30-40 kms. Anyone know what happened?

I just saw 3-4 guys crash on the pavement and I know Doug from VWE track acadamy broke his collarbone, bunnied across bottles and chased hard to get to the pack.

Marked 3 spots where I thought the elites would strike, Made sure i was in the top 10 by those spots and I lasted, on the very last hill at 75km, I got distanced but we formed a nice chasing group with Brendun from Activize and the guy in the black kit with a Argon bike, and 2 Randwater guys.

Ended up with a 2:45 only 3 mins behind the winners, very happy. 15 min Improvement from last year, gives me some confidence for the carnival this weekend.

Step by step we seem to be getting there

Must Say the Race was different than expected, Did not see or hear any crashes in AL but I see there is guys talking about a crash. Felt quite safe the whole way, Only time I thought there was trouble when two of the FIT guys touched in front of me at the start of the big climb before Heidelberg, saw cadence meters and spares flying but everyone stayed upright.

The crosswinds was hectic in last 30 km's , so just hung on and at least got the sub 3 from AL. So for now quite happy with the result. Will need to work a bit on the power for those windy sections.

Anyone know how the guys that crashed in A are doing?

My mate in C saw a cyclist hit by a car near the end I believe.  Anyone know anything about him?

I was also dropped after the AL crash, tried to catch the lead group, but was not going to happen.

Finished in 3.05, two min slower than last year, but from BL last year.

I was involved in the crash. The guy on my inside took me out, he told me afterwards that the guy on his inside bumped into him and then he went careening into me. I went OTB, rear derailleur messed up badly. Luckily not too much damage myself, bit of road rash and a very stiff body this morning.

The other guy had a nasty fall, seems like he popped his shoulder, his elbow didn't look vey good and his thumb was at an abnormal angle. Hope you heal up soon bud.

There was a few guys who went down after hitting us, they could continue, so I think they were fine.

Was a good day up to that point, racing in A bunch is awesome. Thanks gents :thumbup:

Witnessed that accident on the 85km mark whilst changing a puncture. A silver Toyota Tazz decided it wasn't going to move out the way for a female cyclist and hit her square from behind. Both bike and cyclist flew through the air, while the cyclist riding behind her saw the whole thing - shame, he even walked into the veld and collaped because he felt sick.

The Tazz on the other hand just came to a slow stop, and the black female driver opened the door and walked back to the scene without any rush, taking her time, noticing the scenary, probably humming a tune, while the rest of her friends/family decided to stay in the car. 

The two bike marshalls who initially offered me assistance, quickly did a u-turn and flew down to the scene - in a blink of an eye the lane was closed off ande they were assisting her.

I'm not too sure what her injuries were, but she came down hard. I hope she survived and all is well.

I was involved in the crash. The guy on my inside took me out, he told me afterwards that the guy on his inside bumped into him and then he went careening into me. I went OTB, rear derailleur messed up badly. Luckily not too much damage myself, bit of road rash and a very stiff body this morning.

The other guy had a nasty fall, seems like he popped his shoulder, his elbow didn't look vey good and his thumb was at an abnormal angle. Hope you heal up soon bud.

There was a few guys who went down after hitting us, they could continue, so I think they were fine.

Was a good day up to that point, racing in A bunch is awesome. Thanks gents :thumbup:

A's was a lot better than Fast one and I had a close call a couple of times because some don't know how to ride or sign but at least I am in one piece.

Saw you going OTB and coming to rest. Didn't look nice.

Hope you all heal up soon.

That guy you talking about is MooToo. He was riding a trek. His front wheel is pretty badly stuffed and a few scratches on the bike. He was battered and bruised but otherwise ok. Haven't spoken to him since he got home but he drove home, Not sure if he went to the Doc after he got home. Was in good spirits when he got to our club tent after the ride. His timing chip got ripped off his bike in the accident so if anyone saw it...........hope they finished the race for him :ph34r:

A's was a lot better than Fast one and I had a close call a couple of times because some don't know how to ride or sign but at least I am in one piece.

Saw you going OTB and coming to rest. Didn't look nice.

Hope you all heal up soon.

Thanks Zatek.

That guy you talking about is MooToo. He was riding a trek. His front wheel is pretty badly stuffed and a few scratches on the bike. He was battered and bruised but otherwise ok. Haven't spoken to him since he got home but he drove home, Not sure if he went to the Doc after he got home. Was in good spirits when he got to our club tent after the ride. His timing chip got ripped off his bike in the accident so if anyone saw it...........hope they finished the race for him :ph34r:

Hope he's OK, he was in some pain when we got back to the stadium. I thought he was crazy when he said he'll enjoy a beer or 2 at the club tent before going home. Lekker oke.

He'll be quite glad if someone finished it for him, think he said it was #27 :eek:

Anyone know how the guys that crashed in A are doing?

My mate in C saw a cyclist hit by a car near the end I believe.  Anyone know anything about him?

I was also dropped after the AL crash, tried to catch the lead group, but was not going to happen.

Finished in 3.05, two min slower than last year, but from BL last year.

What time was that more or less?

Wow some scary reports from yesterday. I hope all involved heal up quickly. It was my first JHB road race, did a 3.36 and of course got dropped by DL around 26km after a near miss accident in the group. Was quite hard going not sure if I have not adjusted to the altitude after 2 weeks in JHB. Apparently this race is a good indication of one's Argus time? 

Witnessed that accident on the 85km mark whilst changing a puncture. A silver Toyota Tazz decided it wasn't going to move out the way for a female cyclist and hit her square from behind. Both bike and cyclist flew through the air, while the cyclist riding behind her saw the whole thing - shame, he even walked into the veld and collaped because he felt sick.

The Tazz on the other hand just came to a slow stop, and the black female driver opened the door and walked back to the scene without any rush, taking her time, noticing the scenary, probably humming a tune, while the rest of her friends/family decided to stay in the car. 

The two bike marshalls who initially offered me assistance, quickly did a u-turn and flew down to the scene - in a blink of an eye the lane was closed off ande they were assisting her.

I'm not too sure what her injuries were, but she came down hard. I hope she survived and all is well.

The cyclist that was hit is my twin sister. She is all right, sort of. No concussion, spinal or neck injuries. Nothing broken. Bum is very, very sore to the point that she can't walk. Ugly lacerations on the back of her left thigh, had to get lots of stitches, big hole on the side of the knee, also fixed with stitches. Heavily bruised left elbow and her ride shoulder has some shallow lacerations. Back is 100%. The bike will be taken to the LBS for 'n check up, the rear wheel is moer toe as well as her helmet.

A big thank you to everybody who stopped to help. A very big thank you to the marshalls who took pictures of the car and got all the info we needed.