Ironman 2017 - PE

IceCreamMan

The last 45 km stretch was 2 halves for me...5 kays out of seaview I had the mother of all cramp attacks where I stodd on the side of the road for a minute and could not move... legs seized solid... I thought my race was run... luckily they loosened up a bit and I spent the next 20 km's nursing my legs an stretching out. from the bottom of the hill where we turned left I floated along and my average actually increased again due to the favourable wind... happy days but mindful of the cramps that were lurking all the time...

The run, no cramps at all..happy days...but I am a *** runner ...  for me, the knowledge that I could finish kind of took the edge off if that makes sense. once the bike is parked and with experience from previous years I knew it was just winding down the km's to the end. gets kinda boring. Getting that last hair elastic was a joyous occasion and stopping at the last stop for a lekker pee behind the bus stop and some coke was a special moment.

Apart from the cramping on the bike, I had a pretty perfect day to be honest. Only mistake I think I made was taking far too much food on the bike, not sure why I packed large...

I know exactly what you mean about parking the bike and feeling like you are 85% there.

No mechanicals/punctures/outside forces can stop you from finishing. If you are in and parked in 8 hours (which is reasonable) you could crawl the 42km and still finish! The run is really just a matter of getting the job done.

It's such an awesome event. The guys who mock it usually have valid points as a LOT of the competitors are 'all the gear no idea' but it is a pretty awesome day for a hell of a lot of people, supporters, competitors and local businesses etc.. PE comes alive.

• Replies 533

It's such an awesome event. The guys who mock it usually have valid points as a LOT of the competitors are 'all the gear no idea' but it is a pretty awesome day for a hell of a lot of people, supporters, competitors and local businesses etc.. PE comes alive.

Haha !! It gave me great pleasure to pass the okes on their R150k Cervelo P5's with my R20k Giant roadbike. :D

I know exactly what you mean about parking the bike and feeling like you are 85% there.

No mechanicals/punctures/outside forces can stop you from finishing. If you are in and parked in 8 hours (which is reasonable) you could crawl the 42km and still finish! The run is really just a matter of getting the job done.

My Ironman finishes are the highlight of my life. Its the underlying commitment and sacrifices made that under pin the finishes. Ironman sell a dream of anything is possible (they are in the dreams game not triathlon game). While it all looks rosy and glamourous on TV, the reality is something far different for athletes like myself who are average at best.

Once you have done the training, the event is relatively easy but you have to have the base ..

EmJay, this constituted my very first marathon. 

Wait. It was also my first 180km ride.

Aaaaaand my first 3.8km swim.

If you train properly, your body can handle the distance. Your mind just has to get out of the way!

The plan is to get another solid 12 months training in. Already 3 months in, so I think by the time IM rolls around next year, I will have a very good foundation. I really don't want to walk any part of the marathon, so hopefully I can manage to become some kind of half decent runner. I want to train for a 12.5 hour finish. 

Well, 12.5 hours if I can control my weight. I am seriously battling to keep hunger at bay. Already finished my lunch by 10am.  :eek:

I always found race day the easiest part of IM... The training always seemed much more difficult.

That being said, I have always found the last 45km of the bike is the darkest place on the race. Alone, no one to talk to, hurting, sore bum, just head down trying not to lose focus.... that solitude is deafening.

Then its just BOOM into transition, someone throwing sun screen on me and people people shouting supporting for a quick 42 km, the red carpet......... then shivers for 35 minutes followed by free food! mmmmmmmm 

So, talking about pushing through the hardest parts, what mantras do you guys have to help you get through to the end? 

The plan is to get another solid 12 months training in. Already 3 months in, so I think by the time IM rolls around next year, I will have a very good foundation. I really don't want to walk any part of the marathon, so hopefully I can manage to become some kind of half decent runner. I want to train for a 12.5 hour finish. 

Well, 12.5 hours if I can control my weight. I am seriously battling to keep hunger at bay. Already finished my lunch by 10am.  :eek:

So, talking about pushing through the hardest parts, what mantras do you guys have to help you get through to the end? 

Little goals... I focus on just ticking off small increments. I do also sing a lot. As an adventure racer I have always found 'getting through' dark patches leads to quite a nice little spurt of energy afterwards so there is also that to look forward to.

But when you feel bad, just concentrate on the small gains. The bike in front of you, the next corner, getting from 'hill' to 'hill' on the run. 

Most of all don't get caught up on anything and put yourself under pressure. Anxiety is a huge energy drain and leads to mistakes and terrible judgement. 

Well done all in finishing!

Sounds like some real battles were had out there but perseverance and Ironwill (sorry..) won the day.

I was very happy with my first IM. It went almost to the minute of my plans.

1h30 swim - The choppy water really got to me in the first half, as did the litres of sea water I drank, found my rhythm over the second half and quite enjoyed it in the end.

6h37 bike - Beautiful course! Fast and very flat. I can't wait to get some faith in the longevity of my legs to be able to really give it horns on that course. Shook off a little nausea in the middle, but felt really good for the most part, got all my food and drink down so all was on track. It was great to see the pro's flying by, they truly are something amazing. I am infinitely jealous that that is their full time job..

5h04 run - Took off like a mad man for the first 20 kays. Best I've ever felt. Running is an amazing thing, no two are ever the same despite the build-up. For the first time I found myself gripping a dustbin (in the middle of an aid station nogal!) eloquently heaving out whatever gels and bars were left in my stomach. The next half of the run was just a mental game to survive. (EmJayZA - 'You're not actually feeling that bad.' 'Its all in the mind.' 'Just keep moving forward') 

Crowd was unbelievable! They really do carry you through and give you a boost no matter what state you're in. And especially friends and family that give you an extra loud shout.

Organisation was great, what a slick event. 

Despite the run it really was a great weekend. Especially the odd chat I managed to blurt out on the bike and run, and seeing people of all ages and all shapes and sizes come cruising past me, its a very humbling experience.

Wow - those are great times CBlake! Congrats. I would be over the moon with that result. 

How much training did you put in? Your time is exactly what I aiming for. 

My mantras are:

Pain is weakness leaving the body. 

If it does not challenge you, it does not change you. (for those really hard training sessions)

Suck it up, buttercup.

Wow - those are great times CBlake! Congrats. I would be over the moon with that result. 

How much training did you put in? Your time is exactly what I aiming for. 

My mantras are:

Pain is weakness leaving the body. 

If it does not challenge you, it does not change you. (for those really hard training sessions)

Suck it up, buttercup.

So this has been a build up over almost 2 years. In 2015 thanks to a mate we signed up for IM 70.3 in Durbs. Which was the single worst event I've ever done. I've never cramped so badly during the entire run. But true to form I almost immediately signed up for another to redeem myself and find some sort of dignity again ;) 

For some reason I enjoy choosing a crazy challenge and going all in on it. Some of them stick (like triathlon) and I carry on doing races. Another thing I did last year was the Two Oceans, which too almost broke me - literally..

So to be honest signing up for the full IM wasn't that bad, I already had short swims in the bag, I've always been on and off the bike, and my running was coming up to a reasonable level, but by no means quick..

So over the 6 or so months of IM specific training my main concern was getting my bike distances up. I sit in an office for 11 hours a day so training has really been hard work. I aimed for 60 to 90 mins in the morning, and an hour in the evening, tried to get through 3 sessions of each swim/bike/run during a week, and on top of that I was really enjoying Crossfit at the time so was trying to stick with that too. 

Saying that double training days become exhausting after a while so I just played it by ear really. Luckily my girlfriend is on-sides with the very lengthy days so I owe her a lot for understanding. But the majority of my training sessions were only about an hour long. Sat or Sun I would try to get a long ride in, and the other day a longer run. I haven't used a coach nor tri group. Youtube and internet training plans were printed out by the millions!

Here a free trainingpeaks Ironman plan http://home.trainingpeaks.com/products/trainingplans/affiliates/british-triathlon/british-triathlon-training-plans

It will get you to under 12.5hrs.  Build base and endurance for the year, then start the 12 week plan in January with end date on race day.  You get through the plan, you will be more than ready and just need to trust in your training for fitness... the mental aspect... well that's another story!!

As for keeping hunger at bay, eat the right stuff, eat protein.... nuts, biltong, even a protein shake.  Good for snacks and protein also good for muscle recovery.  Avoid carbs/sugar when not training (i.e snacking)... reducing sugar/carbs when you don't need will help with weight control

Here some more plans that you can use to base build http://home.trainingpeaks.com/products/trainingplans/affiliates/usa-triathlon/usa-triathlon-training-plans

Edit: even if you don't currently use trainingpeaks, you can join with the free version and then buy/save the plans for future use.  Plans can still be used with the free version, you just can't move the workouts around to fit in with your day to day life.... but will still be useful to have a structured plan if you not signed up to any of the coaches or tri groups

I do think it'll be far more beneficial to sign up with something like TP. Its easy to skip or take an 'easy' day when you're training by yourself. But less so if you're accountable to someone. And even more so if its a 'real' person as in a local tri group with a coach, as opposed to a computer interface

Like I said before this was my 4th IM and yet again i started feeling nauseous in the final few Kms of the bike and then finally starting vomiting during the run which resulted in me almost walking most of the marathon. I still manage to finish with plenty of time but I was really run fit so it was a big disappointment!  

I am currently reading a few articles on the issue but I just want to gather as much info and advice as possible to sort this nausea/vomiting during prolonged endurance events!.

How many of you suffer of similar symptoms and how did/do you sort this out?

A few notes:

• I do have have a sensitive stomach/digestive system.
  • i used High 5 source, water and some solid food during the race.

Any advice or info would be appreciated.

Like I said before this was my 4th IM and yet again i started feeling nauseous in the final few Kms of the bike and then finally starting vomiting during the run which resulted in me almost walking most of the marathon. I still manage to finish with plenty of time but I was really run fit so it was a big disappointment!  

I am currently reading a few articles on the issue but I just want to gather as much info and advice as possible to sort this nausea/vomiting during prolonged endurance events!.

A few notes:

The biggest thing that helped me with nausea, is to stay away from too much sugar. So this year I did use a lot of GU energy gels, but compensated by only having High 5 zero in my water (salty taste) and eating salted cashew nuts. Even on the run I didn't once take a coke or sweet drink. Only water and gels. This combo seems to work for me.  

A few notes:

Did you spend a lot of time above your lactate threshold on the cycle? Were you pushing it? If you were then your body and blood cannot counteract the acidity produced. This acidity can cause nausea. Solution if it was, train harder to increase lactate threshold else pace better and stay below the red zone.

It could also be your nutrition during the race and too many gu/carbs that affected your sensitive system.

Did you spend a lot of time above your lactate threshold on the cycle? Were you pushing it? If you were then your body and blood cannot counteract the acidity produced. This acidity can cause nausea. Solution if it was, train harder to increase lactate threshold else pace better and stay below the red zone.

It could also be your nutrition during the race and too many gu/carbs that affected your sensitive system.

Can the opposite also hold true? If you spend too much time in zone 1/2, and then overdo the gu's & energy laden drinks?

edit: I'm only thinking of my own cause here, maybe I didn't need all the calories I was force feeding myself and not working hard enough to utilize them. 

Can the opposite also hold true? If you spend too much time in zone 1/2, and then overdo the gu's & energy laden drinks?

If your stomach is not use to that many gu's am sure it would.

My race nutrition was similar to banna, I stay away from gu's unless I really need one. For the cycle I had bottles with carb/protein, ate solid energy bars and protein bars. Only towards the end of the cycle did I grab a hi5 bottle or 2. On the run it was just water and ate nuts and raisins. I think I had 1 of the hi5 gu's around 13kms, but probably did not need it on hindsight. The only other food I had was a hot cross bun in T1 and T2.

But everyone is different so have different needs. I also do not train on gu's. You really need to find a nutritional plan that works for you.