PhilipV Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 It was on the flat rocky section just before the river crossing. We heard the tyre blow. Bead was stuffed. Not even a tube and cable tie could hold it. Possibly a latent defect in the tyre, causing it to unseat properly. Wouldn't be the first time I've seen catastrophic bead failureI heard that. Sounded like a gunshot. Extremely unlucky.
Odinson Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Myles, what's the DNF rate for okes who didn't make the cut-off times?
Odinson Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Okes, don't rag on Duan Bosche. He's ridden in Europe, m'kay. His cycling abilities far outstrip that of all the SA plebs. Has he told you of that time he wen't to Morzine?!
Duane_Bosch Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Okes, don't rag on Duan Bosche. He's ridden in Europe, m'kay. His cycling abilities far outstrip that of all the SA plebs. Has he told you of that time he wen't to Morzine?!I didn't claim any ability mate. This is what I wrote. Where in there do I make a claim about my ability? "With respect Myles. You should not have written this. For whatever reason, you didn't finish the event. There are 54 people who did and are therefore more qualified to write about it. Surely finishing should be a pre requisite to putting pen to paper?" Fact. He didn't finishFact. The event was more than twice the vert he's managed in the pastFact. He managed 1100m of the 1600. There's a MASSIVE difference between 1100m and 1600m Fact. 54 people actually did finish and are therefore better placed to write something like this In my opinion you earn the right to write something like he did. By his own admission he didn't train and he didn't finish. Therefore he didn't earn the right. That's my opinion and I stand by it. I meant no disrespect and maybe I should have PM'ed him rather than comment on here but this is a forum and we are all allowed to have opinions right?
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 17, 2017 Author Posted October 17, 2017 Myles, what's the DNF rate for okes who didn't make the cut-off times?I think there were 8 of us? A bit too long between end of stage and beginning of liaison, a bit of "are we going the right way" near the top of the stage 4 climb (the terrain is epic, and there's no real discernible trail to follow. Direction markings at that point are rock Cairns) And a bit of dilly dallying before dropping in were the main reasons for the missed cutoff. So ~10% failure rate Ito time. If I look at my Garmin file, we (myself and 2 other TEALadies, Meg and her crew caught up with us when we broke for lunch midway through the climb to 4) "wasted" 18 min at the bottom of stage 3, 21 min on the way up to the top of 4 for lunch, 25 min at the top of 4 before dropping in & 15 at the bottom of 4 just plain recovering. If we'd cut ANY of those waits out, we'd have made it with time to spare. That's not including time waiting in a line, waiting to drop in. Am I disappointed at that? No. Even with that waiting, we were absolutely and utterly blown. We may well have taken longer to get to the top due to being that much more tired. But it's a lesson for next year.
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 17, 2017 Author Posted October 17, 2017 I heard that. Sounded like a gunshot. Extremely unlucky.Yeah dude. He asked if I had a spare tyre. Should have offered him the one around my gut. Lol.
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 17, 2017 Author Posted October 17, 2017 I didn't claim any ability mate. This is what I wrote. Where in there do I make a claim about my ability?"With respect Myles.You should not have written this. For whatever reason, you didn't finish the event. There are 54 people who did and are therefore more qualified to write about it. Surely finishing should be a pre requisite to putting pen to paper?" Fact. He didn't finishFact. The event was more than twice the vert he's managed in the pastFact. He managed 1100m of the 1600. There's a MASSIVE difference between 1100m and 1600m Fact. 54 people actually did finish and are therefore better placed to write something like this In my opinion you earn the right to write something like he did. By his own admission he didn't train and he didn't finish. Therefore he didn't earn the right. That's my opinion and I stand by it.Ah, just like I'm not "allowed" to comment on the characteristics of tyres or suspension cos I'm not a pro. I remember you saying that about a year or two ago. Seems my opinion doesn't count, guys... Just ignore it all. It's all bs anyway. Hahahaha
Duane_Bosch Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Ah, just like I'm not "allowed" to comment on the characteristics of tyres or suspension cos I'm not a pro. I remember you saying that about a year or two ago. Seems my opinion doesn't count, guys... Just ignore it all. It's all bs anyway. HahahahaYou're allowed an opinion. For sure you are. We all are. Which is what I'm expressing right now. But by the same token people are allowed to dissagree with your opinion. And express that disagreement. Especially when it's bull or stuff you don't actually know or things you haven't actually done or places you haven't actually been then you should expect to be called on it.
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 17, 2017 Author Posted October 17, 2017 You're allowed an opinion. For sure you are. We all are. Which is what I'm expressing right now. But when it's bull or stuff you don't actually know or things you haven't actually done or places you haven't actually been then you should expect to be called on it.Yeah dude, but I HAVE taken part. I didn't finish, and I never said that this was a how to. I was writing about my experience as an average Joe, attempting something bigger than me. Is Cal Crutchlow not allowed to write about his Moto gp races because he hardly ever finishes a race? Of course not. That's why it's called writing about your EXPERIENCES. Those don't need any sort of qualification, just experience doing or practicing or studying or watching what you're talking about, and reflecting or commenting on that.
Duane_Bosch Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Yeah dude, but I HAVE taken part. I didn't finish, and I never said that this was a how to. I was writing about my experience as an average Joe, attempting something bigger than me. Is Cal Crutchlow not allowed to write about his Moto gp races because he hardly ever finishes a race? Of course not. That's why it's called writing about your EXPERIENCES. Those don't need any sort of qualification, just experience doing or practicing or studying or watching what you're talking about, and reflecting or commenting on that.Let's agree to disagree.
T-Bob Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 You're allowed an opinion. For sure you are. We all are. Which is what I'm expressing right now. But by the same token people are allowed to dissagree with your opinion. And express that disagreement. Especially when it's bull or stuff you don't actually know or things you haven't actually done or places you haven't actually been then you should expect to be called on it. OMG! I thought your first comment was comedy but you were serious? Wow that's special. Even if you did one leg of the event then you can write about you experience. There isn't a a measure that you have to get to where you 'actually know' as you put it. Personal experience, personal story shared. I for one would enjoy hearing about every 80+ person's experience on the day finish or not. It's an event i want to do and like most enduro events there is never much of a write up. Surely there are better things to do that dragging down what was a pretty cool, upbeat thread. Sometime this place makes you wonder.
Matchstix Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 1 - I can do a lot more than I thought I could. Tally for the day was 31.5km and 1150m climbing. 400m more than I've ever done, till this weekend. I thought gravity made mountain goats?????? seriously not baiting not stirring, thats 750m thats not gravity that is flat??? I saw the rock and roll garden that looks moer impressive but different strokes for different folks,,, I would think if you want to do proper downhill surely 3000-4000m climbing should be a "min" in enduranceclimbing is fairly decent. . whistler enduro has a lot more descending but they also use skilifts. . considering, not one pic stage reaaly has more than 2000m of climbing
Matchstix Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Duane come ride with us next year and leave the skilifts in europe.then you have earned to write a lekker report . . we will ask hub admin to keep it up there with a golds tar. Awesome write up Myles. wish my story writing abilities was that good.
Duane_Bosch Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Duane come ride with us next year and leave the skilifts in europe.then you have earned to write a lekker report . . we will ask hub admin to keep it up there with a golds tar. Awesome write up Myles. wish my story writing abilities was that good.Ha. Already booked and paid for the ski lifts. The addiction needs feeding. But if the stars align I'm deff keen for Ezel.
Sparky and the Warden Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Let's just agree to disagree that someone on here is a bit of a knob... Myles you articulate yourself really well in the way you write. I wish there was more to read maybe next year you'll finish stage 5 so that you can earn the "right" to post it here.... Hope to see you there next year you've inspired myself and my best mate to do it next year. This is what Enduro is about! Having a laugh with mates, not taking life to seriously and NO LYCRA...