Touring food

Sepia

Hi All

I was hoping to tap into the knowledge of those experienced touring souls as to what they do for food?

I have my hydration sorted out but eating is a problem because I get so darn hungry and there are no shops along the way. I would appreciate any idea or suggestions in this regard.

At present, what I do is

Braai first night

Have a Tuna prepack sachet for breakfast, lunch and supper with Futurelife and water mixed together.

Fruit, if any available during the day and also a Futurelife repeat, bread, fruitcake, nuts and raisins, power bars, dried fruit.

What can I use later in the ride for variation? I have a stove etc and find the dehydrated food consumes too much water.

I am not too worried about the taste of things.

Any suggestions will be appreciated, thanks.

Forgot to add, this is for five day plus rides.

Here in the Vrystaat we eat wild honey, snakes and scorpions that we forage for next to the road.

Jip. Pull a Bear Grylls  on yourself and braai some roadkill. 

Done the puff adder previously but don't advise wild bees as I was stung quite badly on my right hand and could not brake or change gears too easily due to the swelling. I was worried for a bit. (One day of absolute fear)

Hi All

I was hoping to tap into the knowledge of those experienced touring souls as to what they do for food?

I have my hydration sorted out but eating is a problem because I get so darn hungry and there are no shops along the way. I would appreciate any idea or suggestions in this regard.

At present, what I do is

Braai first night

Have a Tuna prepack sachet for breakfast, lunch and supper with Futurelife and water mixed together.

Fruit, if any available during the day and also a Futurelife repeat, bread, fruitcake, nuts and raisins, power bars, dried fruit.

What can I use later in the ride for variation? I have a stove etc and find the dehydrated food consumes too much water.

I am not too worried about the taste of things.

Any suggestions will be appreciated, thanks.

Forgot to add, this is for five day plus rides.

yech...

Surely you can do better than that...tuna and futurelife.urgh

Woolies 2 min noodles and some dehydrated meats,bake beans etc..just add water and you good to go.

Make sure everything is vacuum sealed

Dehydrated food is amazing these days, you need to try harder to find water later in the day.

Other thing you can do is pre mix pesto/salami/cheese/Rosa tomatoes they will take a day or two out the fridge ok.

Good with pasta

I'm a big fan of John West tuna sachets, and have been adventure racing with future life since 2011.

Not sure if the grammar is a bit subjective, but do you really mix them both together?

I'm a big fan of John West tuna sachets, and have been adventure racing with future life since 2011.

Not sure if the grammar is a bit subjective, but do you really mix them both together?

Those tuna sachets are good i even took them with me to europe with some wheatsworth????

Yes, all together and down it goes followed by an espresso!

Flip, when I am hungry and tired I will eat most things, except curry.

Yes, all together and down it goes followed by an espresso!

Flip, when I am hungry and tired I will eat most things, except curry.

No man, that is siff!

Geez then I can't help you!

What's also quite easy and lekker is tastic pre cooked rice. Cubes in different flavours and only takes a bit of water

Thanks guys, plenty of help coming up. 

It won't take much to beat tuna and futurlife I know but hell, it is convenient.

Time for a change then.

The big issue is access to water. 

For the first night, take braai stuff. Perhaps just good wors. It is far easier to braai and it doesn't matter if the wood is wet or the fire goes out etc. For the first few days, I would also take a few baby potatoes (cooked in a bag with salt). Cheese is also good on the first few days. One can take a hard cheese over a longer period. 

Longer term:  I would recommend taking fatty, protein rich food - salami, fatty biltong, droewors, almonds. The tuna sachets are good. But if you want to feel full, pap is great, it is light weight, but you do need quite a bit of water to cook it. 

Make a small pot of pap at night and keep some for breakfast in the morning. At night, make a sauce with tomato puree (sachets) and half an oxo cube. A bit of salami added in, makes the sauce great and filling as well.  Not gormay cooking, but it is hearty and fills you up. 

In the morning, sprinkle brown sugar on the pap. 

Coffee is crucial for some of us. We did a trip where someone brought baby formula instead of powered milk and it was serious nutrious. Two teaspoons of coffee, two teaspoons of brown sugar and two teaspoons of baby formula in a cup and WHALLA, you ready to go.