Absolute Novice to Cycling.... Silverback vs Scott

Redhotneo

Hey Guys

So I have not ridden a bike in over 20 years. Decided to take up riding as a hobby for health reasons, just turned 40.... so you know :(

for my budget I have checked out the Silverback Stride Expert 2022 model. Also seen many reviews on Scott bikes like Aspect 960, etc. How would you compare the Silverback to Scott?

Any further advise on choosing a bike as I will mainly be riding the bike at the beach area in DBN.. Not so much off road trails.

Thanks in advance

Silverback was an SA brand, but they moved to Germany a few years back. They are pretty big and right up with the best of them. 

I have no idea what the specs are on the bikes you are looking at, but it is common knowledge that Silverback offers much more bang for you buck. Rand for Rand, the Silverback will offer better quality parts

Thanks for info. So Cycle lab has the 2022 Silverback Stride Expert large Frame in stock at R15k. I will get them to do a price match against Sportsmans as they have it R13k but have to wait for stock as they will bring from Jhb branch. 

I have watched a few videos on that bike and reviews were great. So for a New rider, I think I will go for the Silverback.

Thanks

May it bring you many happy miles and if the bug bites you as it has all of us, your second bike is already a spark of neurochemistry in your limbic system! (Limbic system ... Emotion)

Edited by Mamil
Typo

• 2 weeks later...

I would suggest throwing a riser bar on that Stride, opens up the bike to be a lot more fun, capable and comfortable.

I’ll throw a spanner in the works and say that you could get a much better spec for your money if you ask one of the hubber bike builders. Some do it professionally, others do it as a hobby. 

Users on the hub that I’ve dealt with are RobertWhithead and BicycleYardZarras.