Is SA behind in the Modern Trail Hardtail market?

Drew J

I'm new to the XC vs Trail geometry topic and research so far into what the SA market has to offer for trail HT riders are disappointing.

A few months ago I bought a Silverback Stride Comp in a size small (I'm 173 in height) in hopes to get a more playful trail feel and to get the front wheel up a bit easier. Long story short, the bike isn't what I hoped as most bikes in SA seem to be oriented toward XC riding.

Trail hardtails seem to be a great way to get good bang for buck and has helped narrow down my search for a modern trail bike. Unfortunately, locally there seems to be very little affordable options. I've even upgraded my bike with 140mm dropper and SRAM NX 12 speed but still require something more "poppy".

I desperately need some advice on where to find an affordable modern trail hardtail and any advice would be welcomed...

11 minutes ago, Drew James said:

I'm new to the XC vs Trail geometry topic and research so far into what the SA market has to offer for trail HT riders are disappointing.

A few months ago I bought a Silverback Stride Comp in a size small (I'm 173 in height) in hopes to get a more playful trail feel and to get the front wheel up a bit easier. Long story short, the bike isn't what I hoped as most bikes in SA seem to be oriented toward XC riding.

Trail hardtails seem to be a great way to get good bang for buck and has helped narrow down my search for a modern trail bike. Unfortunately, locally there seems to be very little affordable options. I've even upgraded my bike with 140mm dropper and SRAM NX 12 speed but still require something more "poppy".

I desperately need some advice on where to find an affordable modern trail hardtail and any advice would be welcomed...

https://www.trekbikes.com/za/en_ZA/bikes/mountain-bikes/trail-mountain-bikes/roscoe/roscoe-7/p/35116/?colorCode=black

Based on what you have described above, I believe this could be a viable option for you.