Bike Carriers

Dashen

Hi all. I am new to the cycling game and just purchased a SignalS930. I wanted to find out what vehicle carrier I should look at? are all carriers versatile? 

any suggestions? 

thanks

Morning Dashen

Personal choice , vehicle specific and/or application requirements...

So if you have a bakkie/trailer there are a few options on which a bike can be loaded onto...towbar specific carriers - hanging/ride-on type...I prefer ride-on type - bike is fixed onto a carrier.... or the type you "strap" to your vehicle (normally used on hatchbacks).

And last but not least ... how big is your wallet ...

I have a thule since 2006, holdfast since 2020 ... no issues on either thusfar ... so a few brands you can have a look at Buzzrack,Thule or Holdfast.I am sure there are more threads on this topic...

I can write a lengthy analysis on ...

Ley's cut the chase: Thule.

Your children will be happy when they inherit it one day (and will probably be able to get parts for it then too).

Hi @Dashen,

Not the most experienced here with bike racks but have had a couple of experiences.

For the sake of saving you time my answer is Thule all the way.

However, I have not tried Buzzrack or Holdfast, but I did try a cheaper alternative rack (similar design to Thule) but had endless problems with parts continuously breaking and half the rack not being able to be used due to having to wait for parts.

In the supplier's defense, they were great with their aftersales support but the product was just not of great quality. "It costs a lot of money to buy cheap", was the moral of the story with this specific item.

I also had a Thule hang-on towbar mounted, but you need to be careful how you load and secure your bike (specially wheels) as they can end up touching the ground, your car or worst be in the way of your exhaust. The last one can happen with the Thule Euroway, but you can buy deflectors to protect your wheels/bike.

Good luck on your bike rack purchase!