Know What Is In Your Medicine!!!!

Pro-Funrider

Hi guys, it is vitally important to be aware of what is included in your cold/flu/whatever medicines that you need to take!!! It is an important lesson that I have just learnt about the hard way.

I am not a Professional Rider, I have a normal 9-5 Job and then still try and train enough to keep up in the Elite bunch, so paying attention to what?s on the label or in the flu mixture medicine bottle has never been really important to me. Visiting a Doctor for some flu symptoms, I was prescribed some flu medicine and antibiotics, taking it under instruction and not thinking anything further about it. Well as you can guess where this is going, I received notification from CSA that I had a trace of Ephedrine in a Dope Test at the end of last year. A visit back to my doctor confirmed that some of the medicine contained Ephedrine in the makeup. I presented CSA with the evidence and letter of confirmation of the prescribed medicine from my Doctor. Ignorance is not an excuse or mitigating defence though, and as such, I have to serve a six month suspension from racing, which is the lightest penalty that they can impose. I am obviously disappointed that by not paying attention to such a small detail have cost me and the people that support me this unnecessary stress and aggravation, as well as the ability to race for six months. But it will also teach me to take responsibility for making sure that I am aware of what I am getting from the Doctor. Some people will obviously have their own opinion, and obtuse remarks, as they always do on the Hub, and I really don?t care about them or what they would have to say. I am posting this on the Hub because I have nothing to hide and that you?ve heard it from me first. Also so that other people can see that ignorance is no excuse, and to reiterate the bitter lesson that I have now learnt? Know What Is In Your Medicine!!!!

Eben van Wyk

• Replies 378
  • Created
  • Last Reply