Today after work I planned to ride, South Easter or not. Itchy fingers I guess ! So I got on the road from Milnerton Lagoon at about 17:30 and headed towards town using the harbour road. I've ridden this route quite often, fully anticipating the railway crossings, and any potential thugs. I choose this route sometimes, because once at the Waterfront the SE'r is less noticeable, and the ride home is a pleasure. Well not today ! The SE'r was really shoving me around a bit on the way. I normally slow down a bit and bunny hop the railway crossings as best I can square on, but at the last one a strong gust of wind caught me mid-bunny hop and slam dunked me onto the road head first Dead. Well I was ko'd, and when I came around, a motorist in an older Golf had stopped to assist. I have no idea how long I lay there for, but I was donating blood from my nostrils like it was going out of fashion, and had momentary memory loss. The motorist was shoving toilet paper into my nostrils like he was a gambler at a slot machine. Offering to take me home I initially had no idea where I lived ! Composing myself after a few minutes I told him, although I did have details in my pocket. He got my bike into his car, and when we got back to my place, he came in and fixed me a glass of sugar water, made sure I was ok, then left. I have no idea who he was [it was the last thing on my mind to exchange details], but if anyone knows who this may be, please pass on my sincerest thanks of appreciation. Right now I have a blinder of a headache, which I never have, and since my wife is out of town until next week, I have no idea where the headache pills are !! This episode has refreshed my outlook on safety, particularly because I train alone during the week [mostly on the West Coast road, me Vs SE'r]. My helmet worked [it's cracked inside], my glasses worked [severe scratch on lens], and my gloves worked [left glove palm ripped right off saving my hand]. Unfortunately my common sense didn't work Ouch In hindsight, was I really desperate for a training ride in 45+kmh wind ?!? Nah, it can wait ! Not worth the aches, scrapes, bumps and cuts I have. Bike just needs new bar tape ... lucky bike !

Yes with the wind blowing as it is at the moment I can just imagine- your first solo flight and you can't remember a thing, that's badLOL But hey full marks to the person that helped you,Clap that's when you realise that not everyone out there is an asshole only thinking of himself.

Not a nice thing to happen to you,m but you write in such a way that i giggled the whole way through that.

Glad you are OK and props to the person that helped you. Good to know that there are people like that out there. Especially a motorist! Wink

Eish, the Dr. has been wicked the last few days, this morning was crazy.

Great to hear you're ok and just a single piece of advice to offer; at your speed and the profile of the train tracks on that harbour road, it's not worth trying to bunny hop them, as long as you hit them square on you'll be fine.

This, and the really sad and untimely tradgedy of Craig Haskins, once again highlights the need for VISIBLE identification.You Slaapstad dudes have Yael and ICE ID on your doorsteps. I have had my day glo yello band for over a year now and wear it all the time (watch out for the fashion police, I know). Go gettem and no, I don't work for them!

this happened to me a few years back - was planning on riding to H Bay one Sudnay morning and rode thru Salt River (when it was still safe to do so) but was buffetted by the wind at every side street. when i got to Sea Point i decided to turn around and call it a day, also thought the harbour would be safer and the wind more consistent.....wrong.......consistently strong from the side, meaning that the bike was constantly at an angle of about 25%. did not think i would make it out of the harbour alive, so when the wind blows like it did yesterday i head inland and ride around the suburbs, practise 10- 20 sec sprints and just chill out in between the houses. i find that this is better than riding on the IDT.  

I work in milnerton, live in town, and I have to admit, I ride in some southeasters but Yesterday shee did look especially furious..

I could not remember ever seeing a cloud like that on the mountain before.

Im glad you are ok Sean.

I also train alone on tablemountain and If on the road I mostly ride to houtbay.. I think Im going to wright my details down on a card  and Put it in my vest when I ride.

You were lucky as that Harbour road can get hairy with trucks everywere.. I have heard storys of guys getting ran over and the driver saying afterwards that he only realized he had Hit someone  when he saw the mangled bike pop out behind the truck in hus rear view mirror. Very very almost lost a dear friend this way.

Safe cycling

Eish' date=' the Dr. has been wicked the last few days, this morning was crazy.

Great to hear you're ok and just a single piece of advice to offer; at your speed and the profile of the train tracks on that harbour road, it's not worth trying to bunny hop them, as long as you hit them square on you'll be fine.

You actually rode into work today Ouch Silly boy. At least you won't have to pedal much going home.

SeanMort, I am not a doctor but I would think that a blow to the head which causes bleeding from either the nose or ears should be URGENTLY checked out.

Don't take chances go see someone just in case.

Thanks for all the advice hubbers. Went to the Dr this morn and he said I have mild concussion, so he prescribed a few days off the bike. Spoilsport Cry As for the ICE ID, I'm ordering one today. I have one of those red SOS bands [with a piece of paper in it] from when I lived in Howteng, but it's useless. I normally carry a laminated copy of my medical aid card, my licence card, and a detailed contact card with me. Best have a visible means of ID on you though. I found out last night that, in the absence of headache tablets, an energy gel worked just as well ! Desperate I was I tell you !. I also awoke in the early hours of this morn to a flashing red glow coming from somewhere in the apartment .. turned out to be my Knog calling all planets LOL 

< ="-" ="text/; =utf-8">< name="ProgId" ="Word.">< name="Generator" ="Microsoft Word 11">< name="Originator" ="Microsoft Word 11"><>

I am so glad you're OK.

I work in the port and I too cycled to work yesterday..... Despite the wind and

I enjoyed the ride. I ride a mtb and the tracks don't scare me much, but the

wind does make life a little complicated. Especially if gusts of 56 knots are

measured, but there were occasions earlier in the season where the wind was

much stronger.

Some guys made comments to the danger the trucks pose. I would like to differ.

Generally the truck drivers are very well behaved. What is more is that if the

wind pumps like it did yesterday, the trucks provide short but welcome wind

deflection and they normally give me a wide pass. It is the impatient car and

bakkie drivers taking an illegal shortcut through the port who poses the

biggest problem. These okes don't care for road markings and signs. They

disregard other road users completely and they are generally just a menace.

These are the guys who won't give you an inch when they pass you.

A big hurrah for those who assisted you. I just wish there are more of those

around.

You actually rode into work today Ouch Silly boy. At least you won't have to pedal much going home.

Home, I wish. I have a weird inkling Killarney is going to be painful tonight.

SM, I'm glad your bike came of so easily....and youBig%20smile

You are very lucky that someone didn't try and take your bike and everything else while you were passed out.

You know the saying, "farting against thunder...." well the same goes for cycling against the wind...it just doesn't work......Well I'm sure you know that by nowWink

Home' date=' I wish. I have a weird inkling Killarney is going to be painful tonight.[/quote']

Well you came past me last night at a screaming speed. I was in a car  Smile

Tonight should be more of the same. Good luck at the track.

I too had to ride home in the gale yest, and i was terrified of being blown into a car or worse. The usual trip take 25-30min, last night it took me 45! I was blown across the road while heading up a side road, fortunatly otherwise i could have been squashed Confused. The gusts were the worse. On the otherhand the sea looked amazing!!