Van Gaalens Mountain biking and running trails

L.T.G

Speaking of that section after the church....I named it Jou Bliksem on Strava. That's going to be in all of my future training rides at VG, what a work out!

• Replies 971

Speaking of that section after the church....I named it Jou Bliksem on Strava. That's going to be in all of my future training rides at VG, what a work out!

haha yeah i did see that, had a good laugh when i saw it, totally agreed!!

haha did you create that segment, love your work...its is indeed....jou blixem. Same here, but also I reckon you must hit it with about 40km in the legs, you know to simulate that bleeding out of your eyes feeling

Cool, yea it is marked....a good loop at vg is this one, gives you the best VG has to offer imo

http://app.strava.com/rides/19564072

PS were you on that silver EMD? think we chatted before the race...strava thinks I should follow you as well, love the interwebs

This is an awesome route, pretty much getting bits of everything in... add Pomphuis , and it's new loop on top, to it and imo you have a near perfect ridethumbup1.gif ( and for good measure do Erik's XC course as a warm updevil.gif )

TrailSeeker 70km (66km) ridden in 3h47min. Battling with blisters on my palms from the unrelenting rocks on the descents. Thoroughly enjoyed the route AND drum roll please, the bridge is back in tip top shape!

Loved the tracks!

Now my question, how much of what was ridden on Saturday is open to me on my usual weekend visits? I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to the names of these routes, but after the concrete strips and we summitted, it was a quick down then left and back up the hill. Is that open normally?

You can also check out

https://www.facebook.com/VanGaalenMountainBikingTrails

there are awesome maps loads on the page by Brian Gardner.

Have a look at this one Ross

http://app.strava.com/rides/19013873

at the 18km mark is where we turned Left and headed towards the satellite section on Saturday.

This ride included the Big U as well as Oom Piets (van Gaalens 5)

at the 10.6km Mark, you can also turn right(after the concrete)

----

http://app.strava.com/rides/22038083

This one shows the river section from about 36km's.

At about the 17km mark on this one, we didn't cross the river and went around instead, which goes through a farm to the tar road, then you turn back onto the district road (23km mark). in the race, we came up that district road and turned right.

VG Nissan on Saturday: http://app.strava.com/rides/25547546

amusing that none of our VG rides included that section after the church we did...

must be a valid reason for that cursing.gif

Haha, ja! They would have scared us all away had they put that little beast of a section out for us to try our hand at.

Cool, yea it is marked....a good loop at vg is this one, gives you the best VG has to offer imo

http://app.strava.com/rides/19564072

PS were you on that silver EMD? think we chatted before the race...strava thinks I should follow you as well, love the interwebs

Yip, that was me. With the ROAG jersey on. Where did we chat? At the cars?

Yebo, we were busy talking kuk with Jacques, Kevina and Derrick. Lekker to meet some hubbers

• 3 weeks later...

I'll be making a plan to post some pics soon of the new, super awesome, loop at the top of Pomphuis..

Ok so pics aren't doing this little piece much justice.. but here's a couple I took this morning of markers you can look out for so you know you're heading in the right direction..

post-6012-0-04376400-1352551606_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-63925900-1352551615_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-66856600-1352551654_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-73135100-1352551664_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-17837300-1352551675_thumb.jpg

The view from the top

post-6012-0-47343500-1352551705_thumb.jpg

and then..... the River Route is sooooo perfect and beautiful at the moment... I just had to add these...

post-6012-0-46368200-1352551874_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-25837300-1352551883_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-68418400-1352551894_thumb.jpg

post-6012-0-91183100-1352551901_thumb.jpg