Dont know if you guys gave this a read.... its on the thread about yesterday's stage...

Says Karl Platt of the Bulls 1 team: “Firstly, Dr Evil must think about making the Absa Cape Epic more enjoyable and decide whether it’s for mountain bikers or runners. Thanks for the beautiful scenery, but we couldn’t really enjoy it because we had to watch where we walked so that we didn’t fall. Today’s stage was super hard and the terrain was more for walking than cycling. That’s not good for motivation – all this walking. There’s a lot of nice mountain bike trails out here. We suffered, but we’re still motivated for tomorrow. We’ll try every day – if it’s good, it’s great, and if not, that happens also.” Teammate Stefan Sahm adds: “Today was not a good day for us – in fact, it was even worse than bad. I have nothing in my legs at the moment. I suffered like hell with a heart rate of 143, but nothing happened. I don’t know the reason for that and find it very frustrating. I’ll stay in the same routine, have a message and good sleep, and we’ll see what happens tomorrow. We take it day by day.”

I was about to feel sorry for him but then I read the leading ladies who wrote...

Says Esther Süss of Wheels4Life: “The start was so fast today, that it killed me. I eventually recovered and could find a good rhythm. In the flat I didn’t have enough power and Sally had to wait for me. But every day I sit on the bike and give my best.” Adds Sally Bigham: “Today’s course was really nice. There were more single-track, some really nice views and trails. In fact, today was my favourite stage. The wind made the end really difficult, but fortunately I did a lot my training in the wind, which of course helped a lot.”

Brentjens wrote...

Says Bart Brentjens of World Bicycle Relief: “It’s very different riding in the Masters category. The elite teams are much stronger. If you compare it, we’re slow. I actually think I prefer riding in the Men’s. I always enjoy the Absa Cape Epic. It’s very well organized – that’s one of the reasons I come back every year. Also, South Africa is a lovely country, the terrain is nice, and the best riders in the world compete. But you have to compete as a team.” Adds Jan Weevers: “I’ve participated in many races in Europe – some of the toughest one’s we have – but nothing compares to this. It’s a little bit heavy for me.”

Click here to view the article

• Replies 230

you guys say they are taking the pace slow, is that in preperation for a bigger stage to come, or do you think the racing is over and this will be the final placing bar any mechanicals crashes?

The race for 2nd and 3rd is still on.. But I think the guys are gatvol and tired.. I do admit. I feel sorry for these okes..This years race seems to be "EPIC" tough.

Says Karl Platt of the Bulls 1 team: “Firstly, Dr Evil must think about making the Absa Cape Epic more enjoyable and decide whether it’s for mountain bikers or runners. Thanks for the beautiful scenery, but we couldn’t really enjoy it because we had to watch where we walked so that we didn’t fall. Today’s stage was super hard and the terrain was more for walking than cycling. That’s not good for motivation – all this walking. There’s a lot of nice mountain bike trails out here. We suffered, but we’re still motivated for tomorrow. We’ll try every day – if it’s good, it’s great, and if not, that happens also.” Teammate Stefan Sahm adds: “Today was not a good day for us – in fact, it was even worse than bad. I have nothing in my legs at the moment. I suffered like hell with a heart rate of 143, but nothing happened. I don’t know the reason for that and find it very frustrating. I’ll stay in the same routine, have a message and good sleep, and we’ll see what happens tomorrow. We take it day by day.”

yoh that's a lot of excuses for not winning. I wonder if he would say the same if he was in first place...

Heavy legs and minds... The African jersey wearers still striving for the top spot in the Epic.

http://singletrack.competitor.com/files/2012/03/ACE12_SR_0358-632x421.jpg

Team @FedGroupITEC take the R10 000 Telkom Business hotspot and are first through and out of the Water Point

WP1 at 40km: 36One, Bulls1, 360Life, Multivan, Topeak, Versluys, Milka, Bulls2, FedGroup, Songo, RE:CM, Vredestein, Columbia, Racing29'ers

Edited by d@vid

yoh that's a lot of excuses for not winning. I wonder if he would say the same if he was in first place...

I might be wrong but was there the same complaint last year from the same rider?

If anyone would want to have a chance to beat Stauser they'll have to break away well before they get to Oak Valley. The XC style finish will suite them.

I might be wrong but was there the same complaint last year from the same rider?

Yup route is the same for all, pro's and amateurs alike.

I can understand where he's coming from though.. I HATE having to get off and push.. I find it even more tiring then riding up. Haha

I do it so often its 2nd nature to me.