• Replies 194

Wait, before I get my ass kicked by a random guy.

I did the epic over a year ago and I have picked up weight since. The only thing that still fits me is the epic branded buff. Thankfully my head is still the same size.

if you see a fat guy wearing an epic Buff, please don't blinksem him.

Thanks in advance ;)

I think I can vouch for that.

Bru who cares, sounds worse than a bunch of school girls worrying about who's wearing what. Wear what you like and just enjoy, that is the point after all isn't it?

Cruiser, instead of acting like a bruiser, read the entire thread.

Another patronising dick being swung.

It never becomes boring .

I'll give you a like for the rhyme, not. If I was only voicing an opinion make me a "bruiser" then I guess your clever(not) member title explains your attitude. Boring yes but then again so is your post.

Touché Bruise

• 3 months later...

Just walked through Solomon's in Pretoria. Nice huge collection of CRAFT "EPIC" Gear on sale. Loads of "Amabubesi" shirts going for under R400 a pop... Asked the friendly lady if anyone can buy these and she said yes - they bought the lot from Craft as a bulk sale and can sell to anyone that they please. I frowned at her reply and got the distinct impression that I was not the first to do so.

Ja nee, after this year's debacle with Craft and Epic Shirts I was not expecting anything less from them (Craft). But on the other hand, I was expecting more from the Epic organisers and the "Visionary" that created the race to protect this brand that they have spent so much time and effort to establish. Especially the poor guys that deserve to wear an Amabubesi shirt.

Oh well, next year they'll make more money off the guys buying R7k Assos shorts!

Just walked through Solomon's in Pretoria. Nice huge collection of CRAFT "EPIC" Gear on sale. Loads of "Amabubesi" shirts going for under R400 a pop... Asked the friendly lady if anyone can buy these and she said yes - they bought the lot from Craft as a bulk sale and can sell to anyone that they please. I frowned at her reply and got the distinct impression that I was not the first to do so.

Ja nee, after this year's debacle with Craft and Epic Shirts I was not expecting anything less from them (Craft). But on the other hand, I was expecting more from the Epic organisers and the "Visionary" that created the race to protect this brand that they have spent so much time and effort to establish. Especially the poor guys that deserve to wear an Amabubesi shirt.

Oh well, next year they'll make more money off the guys buying R7k Assos shorts!

do they have finisher's shirts in large? :whistling:

That's the one thing that I did not see :w00t:

hahahaha flippen swak of people to buy the bubesi shirts...hopefully most of them don't even know what it is, so they are kinda excused...maybe they thought its just a cool lion logo

Ja, that Epic oke was quite crafty in securing people to come back, the Amabubesi was a great brain child to get fools there and through that grow the credibility of the event.

But we can not argue the fact that The Epic is the one event that really opened the door for all the multi day events we have now.

Who wants a amapussy shirt anyway? I say give them away for free to the less fortunate living on the streets. Craft wants to make a statement anyway so at least make that statement while making a difference

Saw a fellow club member wearing an Epic finisher's jersey on the road last weekend. He does not even own a MTB. Maybe he received it as a gift from his missus.. Nice jersey. I wonder if they come in XXXL???

anyone who has ever bought TDF kit, how dare you wear it in public.......... I agree with the amabubesi kit though - thats just wrong

I think it is a principle thing - so how is Amabubesi kit different?

Pretending to have done something once is as much of a plonker thing to do as pretending that you have done it 3x.... which maybe makes the pro team kits more acceptable because it shows that you are a fanboy/girl... sorta like nobody will believe I am Ayrton Senna because of my T shirt. But with Sani/Epic/Transbaviaans/sub 3 whatever kit it pretty much should mean that you did it...just my feeling

Plus Epic makes an epic amount of money off the prestige.

PS. I will ride incognito untill I earn my TranAlp finishers jersey