• Replies 45

I havent seen a postman in ages. Everything rather to a post box at the post office, or postnet, then u know it gets delivered....

Few years back, they caught a postman around my area, he used to pull into a park, with a dop and chop, and burn all the letters to braai on, he was apperently doing this for more than a year... HAHA

Dik de moerin. Was lus vir ons ride gewees.

Ja nee, ons kan 'n kans vat maar dit lyk of die reen swaarder word later

i suspect the money meant to go towards maintaining the bicycles is going towards maintain the municple officials new mercs and multi million rand houses... oh and trips overseas

I once had a chat with a postman over his bike.. During the conversation I silently lifted the bike just to feel how heavy the bike is. And I can confirm. He pushes the bike because it weights a ton.....then they addec the big bin for thd post........then they added the post.

not many of the cyclists around will be able to ride that bikes in full gear.

Don't forget them riding it wifff flat pedals...RESPECT!

what you mean by flat pedals...

i always thought the post office bikes came standard with round pedals.... :ph34r:

Potmans Bike also never been upgraded. Also getting paid by the hour makes you do less to make work last longer. Still reckon Potman has a better pension plan than i do.

A large chunk of that pension is invested in the company I work for, so I wouldn't be so sure...

The bikes (where they use bicycles) are not maintained, only repaired when FUBAR.

The bikes are supplied on tender, cheapest one gets the tender......)

There is no standardization (our PO has 3 totally different bikes)

The quality of spares supplied is shocking, e.g. centre-pull brakes with flexible levers :(

So, to answer your question, gears wouldn't work for long.

Inside info is that they are looking at ebikes, but my guess is that they will be the cheapest of the cheap, so the problem will shift, not be solved.