Urban MTB Assalt

fastlegs

• Replies 859

5000 riders and all you need is one of these... money making idea - setting up a braai with beer and boerewors rolls at the bottom of these steps.

I would rather set up the braai on the grass... Unless people are not going to be walking/riding down those steps. Then that platform seems like a lekker braai spot.

Imagine when everyone wants to get on the floating bridge at the same time...... better pack your phone in a waterproof bag, you will be going swimming (possibly)

1 person every 11meters.... like ants in lycra

All sounds very spruitee to me...nothing different to my midweek training ride bar the masses and a golfcourse...whooop whooop

Why pay for something when you can ride it for free, unless the organizers are generously donating the profits to good causes?

because you cant ride this whole route on a normal weekend.

That's crazy - those 2 kids CAN actually ride - unlike a lot of the weekend wannabees that are going to be riding/walking.... my opinion -  if Ghost1 signs the waiver, then they should ride.... I will personally countersign to certify he is of sound mind when he does it...

(Clearly I do know these 3.... :) )

I know it sucks sometimes but rules are rules! I have been in the same situation as these kids before and as frustrating as it is you just have to accept it! I finished the whole of Sani when I was 16 only for CSA to remove my result on the finish line in Scottbrugh! I'm sure these two kids can ride but it just takes one parent to be convinced their son can do it when he really can't to cause a massive accident that can effect everyone around it!

It's all in the name of safety and it took me a few years to appreciate that the rules are probably for the best, focus on the races you are allowed to do and build up! It's worth it!

Agains I'm not saying these kids can't ride it's just one of those unfortunate realities for the ones that truly can!

I know it sucks sometimes but rules are rules! I have been in the same situation as these kids before and as frustrating as it is you just have to accept it! I finished the whole of Sani when I was 16 only for CSA to remove my result on the finish line in Scottbrugh! I'm sure these two kids can ride but it just takes one parent to be convinced their son can do it when he really can't to cause a massive accident that can effect everyone around it!

It's all in the name of safety and it took me a few years to appreciate that the rules are probably for the best, focus on the races you are allowed to do and build up! It's worth it!

Agains I'm not saying these kids can't ride it's just one of those unfortunate realities for the ones that truly can!

I don't dispute that rules exist for a reason - but saying a kid is not competent because of his age is completely illogical - I promise there will be many people less competent racing this ride on the day that are much older. (these kids have a documented mtb race history that is verifiable) - lets just ask the organisers how many people are riding that have NO seeding information.. (thus no verification possible)

And trust me on this - the 6 foot 200lb idiot without skills is a LOT more likely to create a major problem than a 5 foot 100 pound kid who will be going out of his way to avoid trouble.

Because the organisers screwed up and allowed these kids entries, they should put the effort in to see if they are capable (pretty easy to do) , and make specific named exceptions, rather than summarily remove their entries at the last minute - and if they won't make exceptions, then they really need to do something nice for the kids who have been looking forward to this for months as an apology.

I have entered am looking forward. Only concern is the amount of riders when it narrows in the storm water drains.. water and concrete is a slippery thing.. one rider wipes out and takes out 10 with him/her?...