SANS Parks Tokai MTB price increase

Freex

• Replies 479

As i mentioned it is steep indeed, but all about perspective. 60 bucks will get you:

A - a KFC double crunch burger that will result in heartburn,

B - a Micheal Bay explosion or

C - An all day pass to ride in the forest with your buds

Which one is worth 60 bucks?

Yes its 'expensive' if you want to angle it against other trails (that cost 60 bucks in petrol just to drive to) but then again, as i said, its not about the moola, It's about having a good attitude.

Compare it to a walk on a beach with all your mates and their mates and their mates ... now R60 seems expensive ... please be realistic with your argument

@porqui, nope I work weekends, and when I am done its way too late to get you guys. Most of the time along the vasbyt section I get the cans/cars coming down. Also I do know that the money does not go back to the trails hence why I will not be paying the R60( will rather give the gaurd at the a R20 like many people do), this is a total ripoff. Contermans, Jonkers will rather see my money in the future!

Then also, the mountain was created by god for everyone to use for free, much like a developer cannot prevent one from accessing a beach, I dont have a problem paying to use certain parts but I would like to see my funds being used more constructively towards the purpose I am paying for.

If anyone wants to flame me for these comments go right ahead I dont care, this is my opinion. Like going to newlands baths, you pay to use the pool and some of that money goes back to the upkeep.

you serious ... people doing this to skip the full entry cost and the guards are just making a lekker extra income off of it?

Yep, infront of everyone. If you stand long enough around the parking area near to the gaurds you will start to notice

Sounds a bit dodge - and I know that sometimes there are other monitors further up checking on permits etc. But if true, it's *** sleg. 

And probably the okes that don't have to sukkel with the R 450 or hatever it is to buy an annual permit. Sleg-gatte.

Definitely true. I have seen plenty of times. I take my time at the car to get my stuff together etc and how Guys will pull up to the guard and chat. Then guard goes into bungalow comes out and hands over clip board. exchange is done then. 

Sounds a bit dodge - and I know that sometimes there are other monitors further up checking on permits etc. But if true, it's *** sleg. 

And probably the okes that don't have to sukkel with the R 450 or hatever it is to buy an annual permit. Sleg-gatte.

And people moan about Zuma when they are happy to corrupt the system themselves. *** sleg indeed...

Guest dilldesigns

Yup its true, sometimes when I cant afford a KFC double crunch, i wait at the gate with a brown jacket and clip board and collect 20 bucks from bikers. Good money!

I go about 3 times a year and every year it gets worse. The new access road is now a hazard as the signage to the speed bumps is inadequate and dangerous. In fact the speed humps constructed with brick and no chevrons are painted on the humps which makes them illegal according to road signage manual. So if anyone damages there car they would be liable. 

Since they cut the pine plantation down, strangely that they did this where the official single tracks are and not on the other side. There is now a proliferation of Black Wattle. Is this the new money source to create sales in braai wood?

Now that we have a forest of Wattle there now is a serious management problem, whereas Pine forest would have been easier. I am a supporter to bring back the indigenous but they haven't staged this very well.

Yep, didn't see the speed bumps while going over them and damaged the mounting brackets of my bakkie's bullbar underneath. My mechanic had to remove and repair the brackets with some grinding and welding before re-aligning it this morning. Not cool

If I up my prices at the SANParks rate, my clientele will simply go to the competition.......and therein lies the rub........SANParks knows very well that they have no competition for Tokai. There is simply no alternative riding place with single track so close to the city, especially to the Southern suburbs. They know they can charge nearly anything they feel like, because most riders are wealthy enough to pay.

What they don't understand, is that they will lose the respect and support of those same people, even if they pay up and shut up. Once people feel exploited, they become unwilling participants.

I predict that we are going to see less support for maintenance, more littering, more vandalism, more illegal riding and building, more people sneaking in. That is what people do when they feel wronged. 

Yup its true, sometimes when I cant afford a KFC double crunch, i wait at the gate with a brown jacket and clip board and collect 20 bucks from bikers. Good money!

O wow!!!!

on a side note I also lost my card there sunday. I dont smaak to take id photos. if by some miracle someone finds it. I think my details are on the card

Yeah, just your name and I.D number

To defend a 33% increase is strange, is there something I am missing here?

To use the (bad) examples from above have KFC increased their prices by that much recently? How would you feel if all your costs rose at a similar rate to Tokai?

The only real justification for an above inflation increase is an exceptional increase in costs and as the ST is not paid for by them this has a whiff of opportunist grabbing.