Dear CC mtb rider nr 888 on the 55km riute

Runbikeswim

I agree with you here. Jeep track chatters need to keep to one side.

On the single track, just communicate, politely, let the guys know you are there, people cannot see behind them, and looking back is even more dangerous.

Key here is polite communications about your position and an indication of intent to pass and which side, then commit to pass....

Even on the road on training rides, I have no issue with guys sucking my wheel, just let me know that you are there, if you don't and I sit up not knowing you are there and you ride into me, I will not be impressed.

Eish, now I know why I rode off the bridge! :mellow:

• Replies 76

Robo, dude, it looks like you're getting flak and kudos in equal measure from the Hubbers.

Mostly though, it seems that the flak is coming from the Hubbers with the large post counts.... These are most often the guys (and girls) who take this sport quite seriously, so their opinions usually carry some weight of experience.

For mine? Well, I've been in a few similar situations with guys either just not concentrating or lacking the necessary etiquette through inexperience. I've never really thought of naming and shaming though.

Harsh words on the trail are something we've all experienced. It's usually because the guy doing the swearing has just had the fright of his life (like someone yelling "HOLD YOUR LINE" in his ear), and the swearee (if there is such a word  :huh: ) also probably just sh*t himself from the dumb maneuvre.....

If you had a beer with him on a Friday arvie at Barons, you'd probably think he was a lekker oke.

Robo, dude, it looks like you're getting flak and kudos in equal measure from the Hubbers.

Mostly though, it seems that the flak is coming from the Hubbers with the large post counts.... These are most often the guys (and girls) who take this sport quite seriously, so their opinions usually carry some weight of experience.

For mine? Well, I've been in a few similar situations with guys either just not concentrating or lacking the necessary etiquette through inexperience. I've never really thought of naming and shaming though.

Harsh words on the trail are something we've all experienced. It's usually because the guy doing the swearing has just had the fright of his life (like someone yelling "HOLD YOUR LINE" in his ear), and the swearee (if there is such a word  :huh: ) also probably just sh*t himself from the dumb maneuvre.....

If you had a beer with him on a Friday arvie at Barons, you'd probably think he was a lekker oke.

You're kidding right?

I feel the OP's pain, though calling to keep a line on a MTB race is a bit confusing.

There were numerous people cycling two abreast, blocking dual track, or riding on the right-hand side, or swerving from left to right and back without knowing what's behind them. 

I've asked a couple of people to stay left and pass right - some listened and others not.

It's really not difficult to be courteous on the trail, some people just doesn't seem to care.

That said - for every one idiot there were many more people who were willing to make place for you to pass, you rode like gentlemen/ladies and who were a joy to have on the trail.

Isn't this just simply about the fact of how the guy reacted? What is up with all the huge blocks of text, about this or that?

You don't just swear at another person for reasons like this, it's rude and unnecessary. If you fail to understand that then you fail to understand the reason behind this thread.

I was hoping the OP would have replied to some of the later posts here.

I was the "buddy" in this incident. Sadly, the accused doesn't subscribe to The Hub, so I feel compelled to have my say, for what its worth.

The "incident" took place after going under the R28 highway, on the WIDE dirt road, going uphill, before turning right to go back down to Heron Bridge.

888 had run out of water and gestured to me for a sip, as I was about to put my bottle away. We weren't chatting. We swerved either side of another slower rider, who obviously wasn't threatened by our presence, AFTER we had overtaken the OP. The OP shouted out, and my mates first measured response was "Are you serious?" The OP then went off about "people like you cause accidents...." He actually thought the OP was joking, as the gap between them was nowhere near life threatening, as depicted here. He did swear at the OP at some point, which actually had me gobsmacked, as he is normally the chilled oke in the batch. I have known him for 18years (give or take) & this was unusual behaviour. He quipped about the OP not winning the race, as we had just overtaken him, and we are definitely social, weekend warriors, with no podium aspirations. He rode away from you, so it shows he wasn't exactly keen on a confrontation. In the meantime, you were still shouting that you were going to name and shame, and take it to who knows who...

To the OP, I would say you have exaggerated the incident. This wasn't on singletrack, the road in that particular spot is wide enough for 2 horseboxes, as it is the access to Northern Farm equestrian, and you were probably doing 12km/h and were at 12.2m/h.

It is a Race, so if dealing with large groups isn't your thing, I suggest you stay away from the kitchen.

If he/we scared you, I will sincerely apologies, but you could have had an apology on the spot, if you hadn't gone all high & mighty, from the get go...

For once, I really enjoyed this race, as in the past it has been a bit of a chore, with all the bottlenecks & noobs on the trail.

Safe trails.

I have been in a few races where people were cycling 2 abreast and I had no problem. Usually I would just past them on the jeep track down the center or like I have seen lots of other people do, on the side off the jeep track. Now unless there was not any type of shoulder I can understand, but after all it is a mtb, you can ride it anywhere

Not always sometimes middle is bit iffy, but I have never had a person tell me to get lost after asking nicely, "hey guys, mind if I quickly pass right?"

I was hoping the OP would have replied to some of the later posts here.

I was the "buddy" in this incident. Sadly, the accused doesn't subscribe to The Hub, so I feel compelled to have my say, for what its worth.

Safe trails.

BOOM, shot across the bow!

Does your buddy who vloeks his mouth off also ride a SPEZ?

because you know what they say about dirt roadies on spaz bikes, (insert some wild generalisation).

I was hoping the OP would have replied to some of the later posts here.

The "incident" took place after going under the R28 highway, on the WIDE dirt road, going uphill, before turning right to go back down to Heron Bridge.

888 had run out of water and gestured to me for a sip, as I was about to put my bottle away. We weren't chatting. We swerved either side of another slower rider, who obviously wasn't threatened by our presence, AFTER we had overtaken the OP. The OP shouted out, and my mates first measured response was "Are you serious?" The OP then went off about "people like you cause accidents...." He actually thought the OP was joking, as the gap between them was nowhere near life threatening, as depicted here. He did swear at the OP at some point, which actually had me gobsmacked, as he is normally the chilled oke in the batch. I have known him for 18years (give or take) & this was unusual behaviour. He quipped about the OP not winning the race, as we had just overtaken him, and we are definitely social, weekend warriors, with no podium aspirations. He rode away from you, so it shows he wasn't exactly keen on a confrontation. In the meantime, you were still shouting that you were going to name and shame, and take it to who knows who...

To the OP, I would say you have exaggerated the incident. This wasn't on singletrack, the road in that particular spot is wide enough for 2 horseboxes, as it is the access to Northern Farm equestrian, and you were probably doing 12km/h and were at 12.2m/h.

It is a Race, so if dealing with large groups isn't your thing, I suggest you stay away from the kitchen.

If he/we scared you, I will sincerely apologies, but you could have had an apology on the spot, if you hadn't gone all high & mighty, from the get go...

For once, I really enjoyed this race, as in the past it has been a bit of a chore, with all the bottlenecks & noobs on the trail.

Safe trails.

Thanks Spez. I have had the displeasure of a few race 'trolls' before as well. It seems like some are not satisfied until something really grinds their tits, so they have something to complain about. The best way to deal with this is to laugh it off.

And there you have it folks, always two sides to the story....total exaggeration is what I had feeling from the first post.

Pity that a few with the mindset of "I paid, now I am entitled" spoil it for everyone.