road safety

Wyatt du plessis

Guest notmyname

How to destroy a potentially great campaign.

• Replies 85

This has to be one of the most bizarre threads I've read for a while. OP asking for support/ assistance with a campaign, people ask a few legitimate questions and OP comes back all guns blazing and sarcasm??

Maybe I'm confused but I'm outta this one!!

This has to be one of the most bizarre threads I've read for a while. OP asking for support/ assistance with a campaign, people ask a few legitimate questions and OP comes back all guns blazing and sarcasm??

And in the first post he says he is selling T shirts for R180 but now wants people to get on board and help drive the campaign. Are there actually Tshirts to buy?

Weird. Amusing, but pretty damn weird .

hey guys

yep I do believe that there are many scamsters out there---but before you judge take a moment and find out what and who the person is...

Hi Wyatt. There are more scamsters than even we can attempt to keep weeding out from this community, but we keep trying and realise that we may often offend someone who is not aware of the dynamics here, which is way we always suggest sticking around and becoming part of what is going on here IF YOUR INTENTIONS ARE HONEST. Time is something a scammer never has! This is our most useful tool in getting to the core of people with agendas who visit this site.

I am not always on the hub as I have a life outside and on my bike I have been on the hub for a while and have sold more bikes and stuff here than can be imagined...

If you're new to the site, I suggest you roll back the attitude and take the time to become part of it, before you attempt to sell it even something as useful as a safe cycling initiative! (Glad to hear your trading status here is upstanding!)

I have not asked for moneys to be paid I have launched an idea and have given my personal email --if you want you can come to my house lets sit down talk and see if you know something about cycling and what have you tried to do regarding this...or do you sit back ride on the back of other guys and judge???

You cannot launch an idea in one post and attack the people you are hoping will rally behind your idea in the next, even if you use your personal email address!

a one of the shirts say---my social media is outside so if you want to judge lets go for a ride and meet then we judge ....its easy to say stuff behind a computer screen.....

We are not trying to judge you. Most of us do not even know you, so we don't have the option to consider judging you. As a community we do not place a premuim on who rides the most or has the most cycling accolades. We celebrate that each person who regularly logs onto this site has a passion for throwing their legs over a saddle and going for a pedal. Whatever their style, flavour and how much they do it, that is their choice.

but next time when you or a friend or a family member gets knocked down --judge yourself then and ak why you did not give an idea a chance.....

Just 2 weeks ago I lost a close work colleague and mate. In the last year, I know 3 other people personally that have had incidents on the road and are recovering from these. Some may not fully recover! I am beyond ready for anything that will improve cycling safety to gather real traction and show some meaningful change we can all witness without having to even compare a stat!

I'd like to close off my response to you, suggesting that you may have felt angered because you were challenged to validate who you are, but choosing to let this anger be so apparent in each of your responses was short sighted. Can you turn the tide of opinion based on the tone of your responses?? Possibly. It wont be nearly as easy as you had it when Spinnekop had just vouched for you....

EARPIE Is all the details on a web page, I know what you OKES do not sure how the financials work

The financials are no issue at the moment, everything has been self funded and done by ourselves.

At the OP, I see the good intentions, but in reality it will achieve very little.

The only way is to get the powers that be to sit up and look at what we are doing.

I had a meeting with a Dr. from Wits last week.

He is also using his own and University project funding to get a proposal going so we can pitch safety of cycling at government level.

The funding needed will be huge and that can only come from a big fund or big corporates.

The idea is to get in to the heads of the public and motorists and other road users that they need to go wide.

It's to get the message across and to get them and to get them to understand and believe in what we believe in .

This is difficult in a country and day and age where a red traffic light has become a yield sign.

But Diplsick, to come back to what you asked.

We will need funding this year and sponsors, our aim is to roll out the BicyclesafetSA national club, the shirts will be designed with a visual awareness and we will have more and more awareness rides as well as getting more stories published and the media behind us.

We have big plans .

But now it becomes a money issue .

hey guys

I also do not just hand moneys over to anyone---if anybody have doubts please call me 0829221129 lets ALL meet I would love to have input from as many guys as possible to drive this.... its not easy and our federations don't have the budget and our government....well lets not go there

guys I am open to suggestions, I am not always available on the hub as I work as a contractor and do not have a pc with me at all times...

but my phone is always on 24hrs so PLEASE CALL and lets get this thing going for our safety

After Spidey vouched for you, you should have stuck with this reply.

if you have any doubts come see me 0829221129...If you haven't heard about the (1.5m drive or stay wider of the rider) which will be the beneficiary--are you sure you cycle??

Damn man you really picked the wrong guy there, Wayne does a hell of a lot to support people and cycling. Not a bit or a little a lot.

Mistake, big mistake as I doubt you would have found anybody else here more prepared to give to or help out with good causes.

I actually know Wyatt personally. He has been cycling for far longer than this forum exist and he is one of those guys that is outside riding his bike and not so much fussed about what us hooligans are doing online with our time.

That said, Wyatt......good idea boet. Let us know where and when and we can organise with the local Pretoria clubs to get things going. I am thinking TCS, Velo, Bruce, Cyclelab, Jakaranda, Speke, Epic but to name a few.

Boom!!!

If Spidey is happy, I'm heppie!

EDIT: Oh no, the wind has turned. Headwind back home too now.

Easy, Wyatt, with your words, you need others to make this work.

Boom!!!

If Spidey is happy, I'm heppie!

EDIT: Oh no, the wind has turned. Headwind back home too now.

Easy, Wyatt, with your words, you need others to make this work.

i was like :eek:  :eek: then i saw the edit :ph34r:  you had me concerned for a minute

Seems my buddy has managed to piss a couple people off.  :lol:

Maybe not such a good thing when you are running a business?

Personality clashes and egos set aside, I still think the idea is good and hope that cycling in the end scores. 

He got the idea after a very good friend of us has been involved in a serious accident when a bakkie turned in front of the whole of the Velo club.  Serious neck injuries and it has been months since our bud has touched a bike.  :(

Personality clashes and egos set aside, I still think the idea is good and hope that cycling in the end scores. 

He got the idea after a very good friend of us has been involved in a serious accident when a bakkie turned in front of the whole of the Velo club.  Serious neck injuries and it has been months since our bud has touched a bike.  :(

What I don't get and bear with me.

Everyone comes up with an idea, run with it for a while and then give up (I am not referring to this isolated situation though)

So now we have many people trying many different things and in the end of the day none of it comes together and the monies gets swallowed in to a big black hole.

I cannot see why people can't all work together .

Read my previous post, that should explain things a bit better.

As for us as a cycling community, we are our own worst enemies, everyone is screaming out for rider safety and cycling safety but when it comes to the crunch they all back off with "I have too much to do" "I can't see what this will achieve" "I am too busy" ...........the list and excuses can go on for many pages.

As I said, the only way forward is government level and unless the entire cycling community can get behind it and show how serious they are, we are wasting our time.

People either have a business interest or self fulfilment ego issue and if neither of these pertain to them they just show zero interest and commitment.

Let's see how many people will actually join the awareness ride in Soweto next month, I know they will be too busy..........

Spidey, please can you edit out your tjommies phone number. Not so kwaai to have your mobile number on the net....

He was obviously riled when he sat down behind the computer last night! What are the chances he'll be back?? It's sad to see people who clearly have a passion for cycling and its safety pull away because of a clash of ego.

Keep holding out that the 2 wheel fraternity can set aside their internal power plays and REALLY pull together to do something meaningful for safety! Something big enough to get results!  It will take every one of us who likes a bike. No one should be excluded!

What I don't get and bear with me.

Let's see how many people will actually join the awareness ride in Soweto next month, I know they will be too busy..........

This "apathy" seems to be a genetic curse of the Southern African Caucasian species 

Just imagine what might be achieved if they had 1/2 the ability to stand together / protest like the previously disadvantaged species.

This "apathy" seems to be a genetic curse of the Southern African Caucasian species 

Just imagine what might be achieved if they had 1/2 the ability to stand together / protest like the previously disadvantaged species.

not to totally derail this,,i agree in many ways,,,,,,but simply from a numbers perspective(ratios) that wouldnt be applicable at ALL but i 100% agree we simply cant stand together