KarlvN Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 Mod note: Posts hidden. Karl, make sure you familiarise yourself with the forum rules. You may NOT bring discussions from one thread into another. To the others - personal insults are out. Baiting is out. And Admin will not hesitate to suspend or ban anyone hurling racial insults. Slowbee, I hear you and apologize for bending the rules.
GoLefty!! Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 Check channel 404 now interview regarding this incident. Missed the interview. Can you share the jist or highlights?
Trackmonster Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 I can understand heated encounters during a race where there is pushing and shoving but throwing racist comments around at professional sport level is inexcusable. Its seriously unprofessional! This country is so racially fragile already that we cannot allow further racist comments and encounters to negatively affect our sports and all the positive things that come out of it. Disgusting behaviour and a public apology must be given by Dusty Day if he did indeed say this. There is simply no excuse! Act like bloody professionals or go ride by yourself!
Spinnekop Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 We as saffas are soooooooooooooooooo sensitive....I crack myself open every time. Oh....you called me a K word........How about your mother is a .......Warra warra warra. We stand up for the wrong things. Every 2 hours someone in this country gets MURDERED and I don't know how many people get RAPED in a minute these days but we report on stuff like calling each other names. Sack up. Moer each other. Shake hands afterwards. Focus on what is important in life. Name calling is not one of them.
MTB-BFK Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 We as saffas are soooooooooooooooooo sensitive....I crack myself open every time. Oh....you called me a K word........How about your mother is a .......Warra warra warra. We stand up for the wrong things. Every 2 hours someone in this country gets MURDERED and I don't know how many people get RAPED in a minute these days but we report on stuff like calling each other names. Sack up. Moer each other. Shake hands afterwards. Focus on what is important in life. Name calling is not one of them.hmmm, big picture perspective, rational common sense........ GET OUT OF HERE MAN, this is no place for your crazy talk!
Mr X Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 We as saffas are soooooooooooooooooo sensitive....I crack myself open every time. Oh....you called me a K word........How about your mother is a .......Warra warra warra. We stand up for the wrong things. Every 2 hours someone in this country gets MURDERED and I don't know how many people get RAPED in a minute these days but we report on stuff like calling each other names. Sack up. Moer each other. Shake hands afterwards. Focus on what is important in life. Name calling is not one of them. Yes agreed but now you will be labelled "a defender of racism" - one just can not win. Better to just avoid all this as best possible, I wish I could live in a country with less of this crap.
milky4130 Posted March 4, 2015 Author Posted March 4, 2015 Alright Capitan, I digress, and apologize unreservedly for any offence caused by my enraged state. I am just real tired of having to live like I need to apologize for being white. I do not condone the use of the K word. I am guilty of using it in the past. I do have black and coloured friends and we hang out often. We braai at my house and theirs. My black buddy, Sivu, even made an outrageous potjie a couple months back. Man, that was good. Even then, why must I apologize for being who I am. Was it my fault that Sivu grew up on his grandfathers piece of land as a cattle herder until he could go to school? No. Do I think our forefathers did the wrong thing by bringing about apartheid? yes. Am I guilty? no. Am I sorry? yes. Do I wish it was different? yes. Can I change it? maybe, in my direct sphere of influence. Will I carry on living like all of SA's problems are the direct result of white influence? NO, I have chosen to move on. My orginal comment may have been misconstrued, as I merely meant that it is easy to cry wolf when there was possibly no wolf around. Why would the Kaka dude get his lawyers involved if he was so innocent? And if one reads his lawyers comment, it sounds like another instance where all of a sudden the black kid's plight is brought to the fore and a skewed picture of white on black oppression is blasted into the lime light. Point in fact where the kid's Khayelitsha story is mentioned. What has that got to do with anything. He is already competing is he not. He has already beat the odds of most of his compatriots. He has already risen above the rest of his peers. Now all of a sudden he is the poor black kid who got beat up by two racist monsters. What the two guys who pushed him did WAS wrong. But unless I read it wrong, NO ONE is asking WHY they pushed the kid. Speaking for myself, if I klap someone, he probably deserved it. In steps Kaka, and enflames an already volatile situation, and I will bet my bottom dollar that he started the racist retoric, but that will not be reported on. FLAME SUIT OFF.Jooste allegedly tried to run Somchiza off the road after he refused to go past him.
Stricker Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 We as saffas are soooooooooooooooooo sensitive....I crack myself open every time. Oh....you called me a K word........How about your mother is a .......Warra warra warra. We stand up for the wrong things. Every 2 hours someone in this country gets MURDERED and I don't know how many people get RAPED in a minute these days but we report on stuff like calling each other names. Sack up. Moer each other. Shake hands afterwards. Focus on what is important in life. Name calling is not one of them.Spinnekop. Every event has it merits.So if someone steal your car the cops should just leave it because its nothing compare to killing/ raping?Or even raping ...should just leave it and say ,luckily they didn't kill you cause that worst?Or bike jacks ....leave it because we have car jacks? Think about it....They should make an example out of these guys (if guilty) to show that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated. Your justification for this action is very alarming and seeing all the likes your received even more. If something is wrong and you do nothing about it...IT MEANS YOU AGREE WITH IT.Once again ..think about it. Anyways just my 2c ..
milky4130 Posted March 4, 2015 Author Posted March 4, 2015 Missed the interview. Can you share the jist or highlights?Was very brief, a rep from the cycling club in Khayalitsha & CSA President via a connecting studio, as my one mate said it was likely Willie was reading from a script, very PC & just basically confirming the news article. The presenter mentioned that there was an apology from Day to Kaka. The whole thing will go through the disciplinary hearing & take it from there. Kaka laid a complaint to which Day laid a counter complaint hence both were suspended. Due to said riders potentially missing TDB & CTCT they decided to take it to court so ban could be lifted from riders, this was mutually agreed by all parties.
carbon29er Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 This issue is symptomatic of the battle we have in the Safe Cycling arena. Lack of tolerance of another person on the road so "action" is taken to eliminate the cause of the annoyance. Motorist gets pissed at cyclist for being too far right and too slow, becomes annoyed and hoots or passes too close to show annoyance. Substitute "senior pro" for motorist. We see these types on most rides.
gummibear Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/other/2015/03/04/cyclist-who-was-called-kr-free-to-compete
GoLefty!! Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 Was very brief, a rep from the cycling club in Khayalitsha & CSA President via a connecting studio, as my one mate said it was likely Willie was reading from a script, very PC & just basically confirming the news article. The presenter mentioned that there was an apology from Day to Kaka. The whole thing will go through the disciplinary hearing & take it from there. Kaka laid a complaint to which Day laid a counter complaint hence both were suspended. Due to said riders potentially missing TDB & CTCT they decided to take it to court so ban could be lifted from riders, this was mutually agreed by all parties. So basically Day only apologized so he could go race. Seems typical behaviour for this type of perp. So at what point do white folk start standing up to white folk being racist toward blacks. Or is it socially unacceptable to stand up to your tjommies. Easier to just accept their behavior and chalk it up to a bad moment nuh! because if you have to stand up to your tjommie then you have to take a long hard look at yourself and that's to difficult so you just brush it off and make the other guys problem to grow up and shake it off. I believe that's called not taking responsibility for your actions. A fairly common behavior among saffas. I have no doubt the CSA are looking hard for a way to bury this incident in a pile of paperwork
milky4130 Posted March 4, 2015 Author Posted March 4, 2015 I wanted to say only 3 of the 4 are currently racing, didn't see Dusty's name on the results sheet.
milky4130 Posted March 4, 2015 Author Posted March 4, 2015 So basically Day only apologized so he could go race. Seems typical behaviour for this type of perp. So at what point do white folk start standing up to white folk being racist toward blacks. Or is it socially unacceptable to stand up to your tjommies. Easier to just accept their behavior and chalk it up to a bad moment nuh! because if you have to stand up to your tjommie then you have to take a long hard look at yourself and that's to difficult so you just brush it off and make the other guys problem to grow up and shake it off. I believe that's called not taking responsibility for your actions. A fairly common behavior among saffas. I have no doubt the CSA are looking hard for a way to bury this incident in a pile of paperworkNo Dusty is not racing, he is suspended.
mazambaan Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 Eish for the GoLefty type hand em high haters I hope you were as virulent when Irvin Khoza used the k word in 2008. Half hearted apology and all was well and he went on to become No. 1 and major recipient of taxpayer largesse in the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Different strokes for different folks maybe? Sanction and get an apology by all means but let's keep some sanity here.
SwissVan Posted March 4, 2015 Posted March 4, 2015 Spinnekop. Every event has it merits.So if someone steal your car the cops should just leave it because its nothing compare to killing/ raping?Or even raping ...should just leave it and say ,luckily they didn't kill you cause that worst?Or bike jacks ....leave it because we have car jacks? Think about it....They should make an example out of these guys (if guilty) to show that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated. Your justification for this action is very alarming and seeing all the likes your received even more. If something is wrong and you do nothing about it...IT MEANS YOU AGREE WITH IT.Once again ..think about it. Anyways just my 2c .. Nee boet I think you are barking up the wrong treeI don't think anyone is agreeing with it (calling someone a K.....) The point being imo, they all ended up in a stupid argument, it happens every day millions of times...people insult each other in many ways that's part of the heat of the moment argument process...that's all it was...an insult and not serious or any form of grievous bodily harm. Hell next time a plank calls me a soutpiel or vice versa I'm willing to bet it wont make headlines