Postoffice Again!

pgp

Seems they've upped their game regards parcel delivery. 

Still huge issue with letters/postal stuff, one of my highlights which I miss is getting my Etoll account and tearing it up. 

• Replies 39

I went to the satellite office thing they have in a small shopping mall close to me. Wanted to find out prices how they work etc. The guy there could not be bothered looking at me when he spoke and had no clue what they actually did there. Saw red and walked away. 

With Aramex buying out Postnet and the way they are operating with the R99 deals they already have everything in place to replace SAPO.

Going to give that Aramex Global shopper thing a shake in the next week or so. Seems a pretty good service all things considered. 

• 3 months later...

Spoke to post office lady while getting mussel licence other day, they don't have staff to clear customs stuff. There been a request for tellers to go and help unfortunately they don't have the training so they don't want to.

Boet, You klapping the gym so much, you need a license for those mussels?

• 9 months later...

I'm expecting a parcel which has been sent to me from Netherlands on 30 July.

As you can see from the tracking below, the SA side of things have taken their time to date and it seems it is now lying at the Witspos Hub. Has anyone got an idea as to how long it typically takes for the parcel to be at a local post office from where it is now?

Currently has status of: In transit TRACKING
LINE
TYPE DATE TIME BRANCH COMMENTS 1 In transit 2017-09-01 13:25 WITSPOS (HUB)   2 In transit 2017-08-23 20:54 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   3 From Customs 2017-08-21 06:32 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   4 To Customs 2017-08-18 12:56 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   5 Incomming International 2017-08-18 12:46 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

I'm expecting a parcel which has been sent to me from Netherlands on 30 July.

As you can see from the tracking below, the SA side of things have taken their time to date and it seems it is now lying at the Witspos Hub. Has anyone got an idea as to how long it typically takes for the parcel to be at a local post office from where it is now?

LINE

TYPE DATE TIME BRANCH COMMENTS 1 In transit 2017-09-01 13:25 WITSPOS (HUB)   2 In transit 2017-08-23 20:54 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   3 From Customs 2017-08-21 06:32 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   4 To Customs 2017-08-18 12:56 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)   5 Incomming International 2017-08-18 12:46 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

Well that came through a bit more scrambled than I thought it would, below clearer version

LINE TYPE DATE TIME BRANCH COMMENTS

1 In transit 2017-09-01 13:25 WITSPOS (HUB)  

2 In transit 2017-08-23 20:54 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

3 From Customs 2017-08-21 06:32 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

4 To Customs 2017-08-18 12:56 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

5 Incoming International 2017-08-18 12:46 JHB INT MAIL CENTRE (HUB)  

Lots of patience needed... This is my order from China:

7/11/2017 5:04 PM Posting/Collection

7/16/2017 11:57 AM Departure from outward office of exchange GUANGZHOU

8/18/2017 11:02 AM Arrival at inward office of exchange JIMC A

A 33 day long flight from Guangzhou. Admittedly I don't know where that is, but I'm deducing it's somewhere in the outer reaches of China given the lengthy flight. And now stuck in the JHB International Mail Centre for the last two and a half weeks. Patience is a virtue, or so I hear.

Lots of patience needed... This is my order from China:

7/11/2017 5:04 PM Posting/Collection

7/16/2017 11:57 AM Departure from outward office of exchange GUANGZHOU

8/18/2017 11:02 AM Arrival at inward office of exchange JIMC A

A 33 day long flight from Guangzhou. Admittedly I don't know where that is, but I'm deducing it's somewhere in the outer reaches of China given the lengthy flight. And now stuck in the JHB International Mail Centre for the last two and a half weeks. Patience is a virtue, or so I hear.

strongs tjom :wacko:

Thanks! Luckily nothing of great value.

The irritating thing is that the package probably arrived in SA around the 18th of July. It then took a month for someone from SAPO to just scan it as arrived. If it takes a month just to scan a parcel it's probably not a good idea to hold my breath for delivery.

I tend to order and forget about it, then a few weeks/months later something arrives at my post office.  Generally anything I need urgently will try to use other means than SAPO like Aramex Global Shopper