So I bought this bike...Unhappiest day of my life.

DoubleJ

• Replies 241

Eish, this is one of the most disappointingly exciting threads since the wheel return debacle thread.... yoh!!! Glad I'm not on either side of this...

Still think the community would benefit from knowing which bike shop this is, so that we could avoid potentially similar experiences.

Can't do that with it going legal. Will have to wait for it to be concluded first.

Consumer Protection Act boet! He's a dealer.

http://www.bicycling.co.za/bikes-gear/buy-second-hand-safely/4/

The CPA is fantastic. It took them about 2 days to do what I could not get done in 3 months. Also waited patiently etc, and items arrived, I was less than happy. Proceeded to request my money be returned as per the CPA. Business owner proceeded to ignore me over a 2 week period. 

So I contacted the CPA. Boom I have my money back.

I can probably put this on here, sure they won't mind. I've been contacted by a Cube representative that read the thread. If Cube is going to get involved and sort this out I will declare this day a public holiday. I will announce that every cyclist, male or females will from this day only ride Cube bikes. I've never heard of service like this... Not even from Afrihost... and those guys are on top of their game.

The CPA is fantastic. It took them about 2 days to do what I could not get done in 3 months. Also waited patiently etc, and items arrived, I was less than happy. Proceeded to request my money be returned as per the CPA. Business owner proceeded to ignore me over a 2 week period. 

So I contacted the CPA. Boom I have my money back.

You better start buying lottery tickets because you are unusually lucky

:D

Most businesses don't give a rats ass about CPA, they are pretty toothless anyway.

So hang on....you don't have cash to buy 1, a new bike 2, to sort out brakes etc on the 'pre-loved" bike but you have cash for lawyers?

seems odd that you would lawyer up when a lawyers letter can set you back at least R2k but didn't want to put the bike straight back in the box and send it back....

You didn't wait 6 months or anything - did you? 

and that crack should have been picked up straight outta the box (IMHO its just a paint crack BTW I have ridden a bike for many years with similar cracks - but this is not about me).

Yes you deserve a refund I am not saying you don't but come on guy stop spinning the story...

I can probably put this on here, sure they won't mind. I've been contacted by a Cube representative that read the thread. If Cube is going to get involved and sort this out I will declare this day a public holiday. I will announce that every cyclist, male or females will from this day only ride Cube bikes. I've never heard of service like this... Not even from Afrihost... and those guys are on top of their game.

Wowzers. That's lekker cool.

Whatever the end result is from the interactions with Cube, this deserves to be followed through.

Good luck!

So hang on....you don't have cash to buy 1, a new bike 2, to sort out brakes etc on the 'pre-loved" bike but you have cash for lawyers?

seems odd that you would lawyer up when a lawyers letter can set you back at least R2k but didn't want to put the bike straight back in the box and send it back....

and that crack should have been picked up straight outta the box (IMHO its just a paint crack BTW I have ridden a bike for many years with similar cracks - but this is not about me).

Yes you deserve a refund I am not saying you don't but come on guy stop spinning the story...

maybe he has a lawyer mate that will whip something up in a jiffy. 

Well done to Cube for contacting you - but understand that they have no obligation to sort out your worries - the dude who sold you the bike may get a small amount of pressure from them but realistically you bought a 2nd hand bike with no warranty...

If they were to give you a new frame then that would be great don't get me wrong...But they don't have to....

Lawyers have friends too...they went to school with us normal folks.

maybe he has a lawyer mate that will whip something up in a jiffy. 

Yeah maybe - I thought I had a lawyer mate once too - until I got a bill for services rendered...haven't spoken to him in 9 years...

Well done to Cube for contacting you - but understand that they have no obligation to sort out your worries - the dude who sold you the bike may get a small amount of pressure from them but realistically you bought a 2nd hand bike with no warranty...

If they were to give you a new frame then that would be great don't get me wrong...But they don't have to....

Appreciate that, but the only thing I expected from anyone was from the bike store to send me a bike that I paid for that's rideable... I know wear and tear as well as the next guy and I never had an issue to replace parts that's only got a few good km's on them... But I have paid for a bike in full 10 days ago that's still hanging on a repair stand because the wheel doesn't fit in the fork.