I generally make it in 1kg batches.. But I've decided to switch to 500g batches more regularly because by the time your get through the final piece in a kg batch is too dry.... Unless anyone had a storage tip

I store my biltong in an air tight container in the fridge. Keeps long enough to stay moist.

• Replies 304

I've got a bottle of chilli vinegar in the fridge that I need to use for biltong. It was the vinegar I used to boil chilli's for a chilli paste. Plan to soak the meat in the vinegar for a day and then spice and dry. Was quite nice last time

I generally make it in 1kg batches.. But I've decided to switch to 500g batches more regularly because by the time your get through the final piece in a kg batch is too dry.... Unless anyone had a storage tip

I will probably get a few "what the hell's"but I regularly chop mine up and freeze it.

I sometimes don't even defrost and chomp it still frozen. Taste lekker to me.......

Wrap in foil and freeze when it reaches the dryness you prefer. Unwrap to defrost, and eat!

I will probably get a few "what the hell's"but I regularly chop mine up and freeze it.

I sometimes don't even defrost and chomp it still frozen. Taste lekker to me.......

Even freezing whole does the trick

• 4 months later...

Haven't made a batch in a while and needed to get one going.

Normally I'll usr a crown national spice and mix in a few extras but this time I made my own so will see how it turns out.

Used salt, coriander seeds (toasted in a dry pan then crushed), cumin seeds (also toasted and crushed), brown sugar, crushed black pepper and Apple cider vinegar.

Should come out quote lekker.

post-57045-0-85955100-1547312752_thumb.jpg

Normally I'll usr a crown national spice and mix in a few extras but this time I made my own so will see how it turns out.

Used salt, coriander seeds (toasted in a dry pan then crushed), cumin seeds (also toasted and crushed), brown sugar, crushed black pepper and Apple cider vinegar.

I haven't tried cumin before. Will give it a go

I hung out a batch of dry wors a few weeks ago. In my biltong cabinet. It was so hot and humid, it got a fungus.

Damn. The dog enjoyed it though

Eish....haven’t tried droewors because I heard it goes off quite easily.

I haven't tried cumin before. Will give it a go

I've always used Cumin, its such a distinct and tasty spice. This is the first time ive toasted both the Cumin seeds and Coriander Seeds in a dry pan for a few minutes to release the flavor so should come out lekker....hopefully.

How's the oros supply?

Lol...sadly it was time to retire it seeing as though it was getting too pricey. Struggling to find anything similar here, have a cupboard full of half finished juices that got relegated as they didn't make the cut...hahaha

You're quite particular about your juices hey! I just Sommer use anything. I find expats funny creatures... Wet live in countries with some of the best ciders in the world but saffas lose their 5h1t when they see Savannah in the local Aldi!

Lol....I find most of these concentrates have a terrible after taste and just taste bad, but Oros somehow seems to work. I've given up and now just a whole load of beer and Gin..hahaha

Edited by AlanD

A few pieces ready and it's sublime. That cumin really comes through..might have been a little heavy handed on it but it's lekker.

How do you store your biltong? I normally put it in the fridge in an air tight container but last time it spores very quickly. Thinking of just leaving out in a bowl or something.

post-57045-0-05435300-1547744979_thumb.jpg