Went to the butcher I always use last week. They had a special(well that's what they said it was). 3kilos of silverside for R240. So I bought 6 kilos. Hung the first batch on Saturday morning. Cut one piece the normal size and the rest thin stripes. By Sunday afternoon a lot of it was pretty much ready to eat. But 3 kilos is actually too much for my dryer. I had previously made extra hooks out of stainless bicycle spokes and used all my hooks and some hooks had to put 2 strips on. 2nd batch went in on Monday evening. 

Sorry for the lousy pics, The glare was hectic.

attachicon.gif20170429_075633_HDR.jpg

attachicon.gif20170429_075718.jpg

I see oros again

• Replies 304

Went to the butcher I always use last week. They had a special(well that's what they said it was). 3kilos of silverside for R240. So I bought 6 kilos. Hung the first batch on Saturday morning. Cut one piece the normal size and the rest thin stripes. By Sunday afternoon a lot of it was pretty much ready to eat. But 3 kilos is actually too much for my dryer. I had previously made extra hooks out of stainless bicycle spokes and used all my hooks and some hooks had to put 2 strips on. 2nd batch went in on Monday evening. 

Sorry for the lousy pics, The glare was hectic.

attachicon.gif20170429_075633_HDR.jpg

attachicon.gif20170429_075718.jpg

You are low on lemos..hahaha....come to think of it, I have struggled to get lemos or anything other than Orange. They have a limited edition one a while back. Something like Orange lime and it was lekker but haven't seen it again

The last few weeks my local PnP hyper has had Orange, Lemon, Naartjie and CocoSomething. Sommer bought all but coco.

Edit: Limited edition sounds lekker. Pity I never saw it. Would have tried it out.

Edited by Long Wheel Base

I got hold of 5 kg of ready cut kudu this weekend for 300 ZAR. First batch will be ready tonight   :)

That's a good price. My next batch will be game. Either kudu or rooibok. My butcher has but it's not as cheap as yours.

I have a contact who loves to murder innocent little animals

I posted this in the woodworking thread a while back but appropriate enough here. Made this biltong cutter from Red Ivory.

Oooh that is nice!!! What did you use for the blade?