Protocol when riding/ joining in a group

Viv911

I find what works best for me is to shout loudly "Slow riders keep left". They generally then realize that you're a riding God and are honoured to have you in their presence :ph34r:

Yoh, and there is going to be enough of these okes around Cape Town this weekend. . .

• Replies 81

Not really sure this is arrogant though? Expecting someone to at least say Hi and if you mind them sitting on your wheel is far from that. Since you seem to struggle with the actual concept of courtesy, let's go with common decency.

Is it arrogant to expect someone to ask you to come into your house? Or can they just walk in, open the fridge and change the TV channel?

Join your table at the Spur....

Is it only me that feels, the worst type of "join" is when a cyclist come from behind (be it from a side road or used you as a target to chase) you and then just sits wheel, says nothing etc. Stays there for many km etc getting a free ride!!!

You sound like you wear secret socks...  :ph34r:

What's wrong with secret socks? :unsure: Gosh, this cycling culture is really making me feel like a newbie. I would be terrified to join a group unless I was 100% certain of my handling skills too. 

I find what works best for me is to shout loudly "Slow riders keep left". They generally then realize that you're a riding God and are honoured to have you in their presence :ph34r:

Oh and I forgot to mention that's it's very important to attack the "joined" bunch at every little bump or climb in the road. One would normally think this would irritate them but this is not true at all, it gives them more respect for your abilities :thumbup:

NB!!! I take no responsibility for the pain & suffering caused by taking my advice :blush:

Not really sure this is arrogant though? Expecting someone to at least say Hi and if you mind them sitting on your wheel is far from that. Since you seem to struggle with the actual concept of courtesy, let's go with common decency.

Is it arrogant to expect someone to ask you to come into your house? Or can they just walk in, open the fridge and change the TV channel?

Why would they open the fridge to change the TV channel ??

I think it's more a case of "personal group" than "exclusive group"?

If a group of mates are riding together and you join in, be friendly/polite about it.

If a group of mates are braaing at a communial braai at Badplaas and you join them at the same braai - be friendly/polite about it. . . .

:-)

Sometimes their is also banter on the morning rides which someone people would not like to extend past their riding mates ears. 

Patch sounds like a seriously accomplished roadie ...

I would certainly take his advice .

I sense no arrogance in his reply , just common courtesy .

Is it only me that feels, the worst type of "join" is when a cyclist come from behind (be it from a side road or used you as a target to chase) you and then just sits wheel, say nothing etc. Stay there for many km etc getting a free ride!!!

Drop some farts...

What's wrong with secret socks? :unsure: Gosh, this cycling culture is really making me feel like a newbie. I would be terrified to join a group unless I was 100% certain of my handling skills too. 

I have a phobia of ankle bones. :P 

I have found though there is a direct relationship between length of socks and bunch riding skills...  :ph34r:

Everyone is *** at riding in a bunch in the beginning, its a skill to learn. Just letting those around you know helps out the whole situation, help people learn etc.

Why would they open the fridge to change the TV channel ??

Ah, it seems my keyboard skills let me down there, that or the logic of my sentence structure, it made sense in my head. . . 

Although I seem to be going against the grain here, I have absolutely no problem with random strangers wheelsucking me without saying anything when I ride. I'm out doing my thing and whether or not there is someone behind me doesn't affect me in any way.

What everyone said (except Louisvanalphen). We are a group of mostly 5 riders of more or less equal ability that ride together. We often when we pass slower riders actually invite them to tag a long especially if it's lone wolfs. (you don't know when Louis will attack). Since the guy is a slower rider we don't expect him to assist.

However if a rider catch up with us from behind, I think it's just fair to expect him to assist. We once had a scenario where we passed 'n ouerige omie and invite him to join us. This omie however had no proper skills and was riding rather dangerously. We didn't felt comfortable with him, but didn't want to be rude and shake hom off. There were soon a little drag and we just upped the tempo and shook him off.

He was decent enough to say cheers as we left him and we waved back as well. All in good spirirt.........or was that perhaps a bit arrogant....

So how do you pass a cycling group on your route travelling slower than you. Seems some of these groups hog all the available space + have a security or group vehicle behind. Do you just squeeze by on the right greeting as you go? (I don't think the guys really like this as I got no hellos back and even a FO from the pack as I passed... )