+size rider needs advice

matthieup

Guys,

I started riding more regularly and realised that my old 26' is not cutting it and need to upgrade soon.

At 122kg I realise i don't really fall in the target market so advice from the +size riders (nevermind buffalo, we need elephant category) I'd like to hear what bike you guys have.

I was quite optimistic when i saw articles about fattie and plus size bikes, but it didn't really apply :)

I'll look at a 29' XL for sure. I'll most probably change the gearset to ease my pain in the climbs...

I'm thinking that carbon will not come in equation at all, as let's be honest saving 1 or 2kg on the bike at cost is such a tiny % of the bike + rider weight in my case.

Thanks for advice

I would go for an aluminium mtb (e.g. Silverback Sola 1). Then before leaving the shop have either a custom wheel set built, or have the stock wheels re spoked for your weight.

You should be fine with the standard gear ratios, but can replace the casset with steeper ratios.

I can recomend Mason's Bike Inn (speak to Mason) in Stellenbosch for such a deal.

This is just my opinion.. not sure if you are a tall bloke or not, i assume so if you ride XL. but i was even heavier then you are.. i was 130kg december 2015.. i started of with a Giant anthem X 2016.. there wasnt any problems.. i soon lost 35kg over a period of 18 months..

If you can ride often and eat better you will loose weight quickly..

Then most of the bikes will work for what you want to achieve on the bike...

This is just my opinion.. not sure if you are a tall bloke or not, i assume so if you ride XL. but i was even heavier then you are.. i was 130kg december 2015.. i started of with a Giant anthem X 2016.. there wasnt any problems.. i soon lost 35kg over a period of 18 months..

If you can ride often and eat better you will loose weight quickly..

Then most of the bikes will work for what you want to achieve on the bike...