How worn can it get?

Rouxenator

Exactly! Who said cycling needs to be an expensive hobby  :huh:

NET SO!!!

About the derailleur wheels, I have replaced mine a couple of times, but only after shifting became a problem. The last ones I replaced because the bearings were rusted

I've ridden my drivetrains to the point that the rollers inside the chain links have broken out. Bike still went.

This is how my last Taya started to go, had a case of a broken roller 2 months after this incident. I think this happened with about 12km to go on last year's Spur classic, still managed to finish and ride it home with that one side broken. 

post-38519-0-46525200-1539347143_thumb.jpg

NET SO!!!

About the derailleur wheels, I have replaced mine a couple of times, but only after shifting became a problem. The last ones I replaced because the bearings were rusted

Thanks for the tip, I'll replace the pulley wheels this time, seems like a good idea.

Looks like I will be riding my 2x10 drivetrain until it is moeg then replace with whatever is new by that time and in the mean time I can save up for then.

I ride so often 1x14 will probably be out by then.

Looks like I will be riding my 2x10 drivetrain until it is moeg then replace with whatever is new by that time and in the mean time I can save up for then.

I ride so often 1x14 will probably be out by then.

1 x fishing reel, Shimano is holding tech back from us to milk us

The short while when I rode 2x was when I bought this bike and realised there was still some life left in it. Ofcourse I can't just upgrade it, oh no, I rode that 2x until it was pêh! Then on went the 1x setup I was used to. 

so doing the maths

20 000km in 10 months

2000km a month

500km a week

how many races are you doing?

you must be the only oke who spends more money on race petrol costs than mtb maintenance

I have a bit of a reputation for riding stuff well beyond their prime and was wondering just how worn others have had things on their bikes?

Apart from the front Schwalbe which was put on in June (it was slightly used) the rest of the stuff shown were put on last year in December. Quite impressed with how far those Taya chains and Chaoyang tyres go. I'll see if I can "stretch" (pun intended) this to December to make it a full year.

Bike is nearing 20,000km now.

attachicon.gifIMG_20181012_085835_DRO.jpg

attachicon.gifIMG_20181012_085853_DRO.jpg

attachicon.gifIMG_20181012_090006_DRO.jpg

attachicon.gifIMG_20181012_090020_DRO.jpg

Young Padawan

much to learn

have you still

Here's a worn tyre (front)

post-182-0-17389000-1539370403_thumb.jpg

Thanks for everyone that wanted to help today on STBB when the rear Chaoyang was killed by a rusty nail. It shred a 2cm rip in the tyre and was properly nested in the rim tape when it took off the tyre at home. 

In all my years of riding Bottelary this is the first something like this happened. But all good things must come to an end, fitting end if you ask me.

Yeah this would drive me nuts. It's like running your car with old oil in the gearbox - shifting would be okay and or rough but it would never be slick.

For me riding isnt about commuting - its for fun and my things must work. I run XTR shifters and RD although i am never close to an XTR sort of rider. Just for the pleasure of the smooth shifting. New chains and clusters and rotated regularly, although 11 speed is proving remarkably resilient.

I have noticed things have a habit of going pear shaped all at once though. I once ran a chain too long and it snapped when i was hopping up a kerb (much to the delight of my riding companions). I had a moer of a getoff - OTB faceplant, bruised thighs where i hit the handlebars and a front puncture and dented rim when i smacked the kerb  - all from the chain.  Since then i am a lot more cautious...

Yeah this would drive me nuts. It's like running your car with old oil in the gearbox - shifting would be okay and or rough but it would never be slick.

For me riding isnt about commuting - its for fun and my things must work. I run XTR shifters and RD although i am never close to an XTR sort of rider. Just for the pleasure of the smooth shifting. New chains and clusters and rotated regularly, although 11 speed is proving remarkably resilient.

I have noticed things have a habit of going pear shaped all at once though. I once ran a chain too long and it snapped when i was hopping up a kerb (much to the delight of my riding companions). I had a moer of a getoff - OTB faceplant, bruised thighs where i hit the handlebars and a front puncture and dented rim when i smacked the kerb - all from the chain. Since then i am a lot more cautious...

Buddy of mine pulled away at a traffic light, chain snapped - lekker bruised face, shoulder, and elbow, along with torn ligiaments in his knee. A surgery and 6 months off the bike - all because he didn't replace a R300 chain soon enough.

So apparently the stock release handle on the thru axle only lasts about 20,000km cause it was there when I started riding yesterday, but no where to be found at the finish.  :huh:

post-38519-0-78006200-1540119499_thumb.jpg

Thankfully I have a spare, nice upgrade if you ask me. 

post-38519-0-71925400-1540119543_thumb.jpg

• 1 month later...