Crank Brothers vs Shimano

DR ◣◢

• Replies 49

Umm...... Shimano pedals are 100% serviceable and re-buildable. 

I have no real preference as the shimano clip in/out is massively adjustable while the CB has better float.

However shimano cleats are half the price and last twice as long, as well as being compatible with Look x track, ritchey, nukeproof and DMR pedals (as well as Ryder and a couple of other cheap ones), which trumps CB for me in the 'options' catagory.

But let's not type laaaiiisss to make your choice seem more appealing! hahaha

yes but where as anyone can service CB you need to be specialist to take Shimano apart and put it back together correctly.

No man.. Come on. Say 'Eish you got me!' laugh and move on.

ANYONE who can hold a spanner can service a set of pedals. Shimano pedals require no proprietary tools to service them either. Bearings can be bought from BM group if shot.

Let's concentrate on the cool float and feeling of CB as well as the fact that the cleats are lower set, so they don't clackety clack on the kitchen tiles or go crunchety crunch on the trail side rocks nearly as much

Let's not keep trying to back up false statements with more false statements.

Edited by Jewbacca

Been riding CB for the longest time. I love them. New bike I got came with Shimano XT pedals, and I've been having a really tough time finding stock of mallets, so figured I'd give them a shot.

They aren't horrible, probably good even, but I just don't like the feel of them. Busy looking to go back to CB. I get that it's probably just a personal preference.

In terms of reliability. I've had eggbeaters (not great, too small), candies and my last set was mallets which were awesome. Never had to rebuild any of them.

I have had a few candy's fail terribly on me. Given the cost of things I just play it safe with Shimano.

I agree that the CB pedals give good feel.... Just wish they could mimic that positive click clack that Shimano pedals make :)

However shimano cleats are half the price and last twice as long

It's very difficult to quantify how long shimano cleats last because nobody has ever seen a broken one. 

I've heard that CB pedals in general have great float and, during a time when CB were essentially getting a reputation for putting out really well packaged junk (i'm not sure many of their infamous seatposts made it to RSA, but in the UK they were a laughing stock) it was their pedals that probably kept the company going. I think they are much better as a company now.

That said, I just wouldn't want to be driving 90% of my bodyweight through something they made while going fast(ish) downhill, I just wouldn't trust them. 

Then also, this is the bravest thing (and the most savage online beating) I've ever seen: 

https://www.pinkbike.com/news/ask-us-anything-crankbrothers-monday-june-27-1000-pst.html

It's very difficult to quantify how long shimano cleats last because nobody has ever seen a broken one.

I've heard that CB pedals in general have great float and, during a time when CB were essentially getting a reputation for putting out really well packaged junk (i'm not sure many of their infamous seatposts made it to RSA, but in the UK they were a laughing stock) it was their pedals that probably kept the company going. I think they are much better as a company now.

That said, I just wouldn't want to be driving 90% of my bodyweight through something they made while going fast(ish) downhill, I just wouldn't trust them.

Then also, this is the bravest thing (and the most savage online beating) I've ever seen:

https://www.pinkbike.com/news/ask-us-anything-crankbrothers-monday-june-27-1000-pst.html

Thanks for sharing, a good laugh.

My favorite one;

“ to be completely honest, their multitool disintegrated on me too, being in a saddle bad. Twice.”

I remember when CrankBros was really crap. Their pedals would fall apart at any time. The distribuor at the the time was a hell of a lekker oke and i worked with him to try and convince the CB engineer to change the design. The oke had a S*** answer for everything. Eventually I gave up and went back to TIME A.T.A.C. in 2009 (I'm still using that set of A.T.A.C's today btw).

I serviced my Crank brosd myself so advising on design improvements was easy. No nothing.

The S**t rep from that era has stuck.

But let me put into context.

- I have several pumps and multitools that are now 17 years old and still going.

- i have a set of 3Ti CrankBros eggbeater pedals that still work just fine.

- The new designs are massively improved; better bearings, better bushing and  no way for the bearing outer race to slide over the retaining nut and therefore a lot safer.

But their rep for S**t still sticks because one engineer was an utter arse.

I like their products more now that they're under new ownership and a new lead engineer.

Any part of the pedal is replaceable now.

Theoretically Shimano pedals are fully servicaeble, in reality Coolheat doesn't carry the parts all the time.

My son 3D printed me this tool for servicing SPD pedals, for the one's you can't do with a spanner... Much better than the one Shimano sells.

I have probably 6 or so sets of them fitted... Service a pedal occasional when it gets play. Even then I don't disassemble the whole thing, take the body of the pedal off axle, adjust the little bolts at the end which can be a bit fiddly. Add some extra grease, re-assemble go ride.

I'm sure CB have improved but my memory /experience of my boet half riding half walking for 10k's at Sabie Experience with a pedal that disintegrated put me off them. He persevered though and still rides them, go figure.... 18850d345f76d6cf08ebe424a81ade0a.jpg

PS crankbrothers can be rebuild Shimano goes to the bin when they start getting play.

Not really. Anyone with a modicum of mechanical thinking can service shimano pedals. I have shimano pedals that are more than 10 years old.

The ones on my trail Bike is 6yrs old, and the SS has 8year old pedals. I replace my cleats every year, service the pedals maybe twice a year.

And I like it when someone like you throw shimano pedals away, because I then use them for parts. That being said, I have only used one part from the spare parts pedals I have, so that point is kind of moot.

Shimano cleats however need replacing as often as CB does, the play is usually due to the cleat wearing out.

The main advantage that CB has to shimano, is feel. Some like it, some prefer shimano. Een man se lelik is 'n ander man se vrou.

The Time pedals have a similar feel, and I used to like them a lot when I ride them, however switching 4 bikes over to a new system is cost prohibitive. (All the parts on mine and my wife's bikes are interchangeable. It just keeps backup easier.)

Not really. Anyone with a modicum of mechanical thinking can service shimano pedals. I have shimano pedals that are more than 10 years old.

The ones on my trail Bike is 6yrs old, and the SS has 8year old pedals. I replace my cleats every year, service the pedals maybe twice a year.

And I like it when someone like you throw shimano pedals away, because I then use them for parts. That being said, I have only used one part from the spare parts pedals I have, so that point is kind of moot.

Shimano cleats however need replacing as often as CB does, the play is usually due to the cleat wearing out.

The main advantage that CB has to shimano, is feel. Some like it, some prefer shimano. Een man se lelik is 'n ander man se vrou.

The Time pedals have a similar feel, and I used to like them a lot when I ride them, however switching 4 bikes over to a new system is cost prohibitive. (All the parts on mine and my wife's bikes are interchangeable. It just keeps backup easier.)

wel miskien was dit dan net my bad luck met die Shimano set wat ek oop gemaak het ????

I love CB egg beaters, huge fan. Had model 2 and model 3. Love the clip in, never get clogged. But the rebuilds are costly. I'm a daily commuter over table mountain, they just dont last. SHIMANO lasted much longer. I have Look now, so far so good. If CB was could last like SPD I would move back in a sec. In all, I had 3 sets of CB, maintained it, done rebuilds. For a commuter, they just not worth it

True, the rebuild kits aren't cheap yet the bearing itself is so there's that

After a completely fruitless hunt for pedals in South Africa I turned to CRC. 

Surprise to me that I paid R1200 less for the DMR V-Twin on CRC compared to the local retailers. Even with express shipping. 

Now we wait 3 to 5 working days.

After a completely fruitless hunt for pedals in South Africa I turned to CRC. 

Surprise to me that I paid R1200 less for the DMR V-Twin on CRC compared to the local retailers. Even with express shipping. 

Now we wait 3 to 5 working days.

change the op? because its neither