Western Cape enduro is back!

PhilipV

Ja nee, I'm trying not to look..

I don't mind the downs quite as much, although I may just go get that Assigai..

I just don't particularly feel like the 3 hours of climbing in very wet conditions.

Somehow for a marathon event it feels more normal to ride in the wet, but I guess it's still mountain biking.

• Replies 216

1 hour ago, PhilipV said:

I'm not putting value on anything less than 10mm on yr a week in advance. 

there's a pocket of weather that must hopefully just move on to Monday. If it hits sunday it will be a wash-out and mudfest for sure. I just should't come, i'm jinxed. If I withdraw it will be dry garenteed haha. I haven't done a dry event since CTCT last year...

IMG_4584.jpg

49 minutes ago, MORNE said:

there's a pocket of weather that must hopefully just move on to Monday. If it hits sunday it will be a wash-out and mudfest for sure. I just should't come, i'm jinxed. If I withdraw it will be dry garenteed haha. I haven't done a dry event since CTCT last year...

I've been riding Jonkers each weekend for the last 5 weeks. I have yet to see the sun. Each and every ride was in cloudy, cold, windy conditions. Why would race day be any different?

You're just looking for a convenient excuse to not ride it seems . . . 🤨

5 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

I've been riding Jonkers each weekend for the last 5 weeks. I have yet to see the sun. Each and every ride was in cloudy, cold, windy conditions. Why would race day be any different?

i have no issues with clowdy, windy, previously moist. I do however have PTSD from wet races the past year. I dont want to make it worse. AND, im not the most confident on this bike yet....i don't need extra reasons to die yet haha

11 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

Have you ridden plumber in the rain yet? Or just the top bit when it's just plain wet?

27 minutes ago, PhilipV said:

Have you ridden plumber in the rain yet? Or just the top bit when it's just plain wet?

Yoh.... Death. When the gritty dirt sticks to your tires from the top section and you hit the rocks, all bets are off.

Slick rocks, dirty tires and no way to regulate speed. 

I remember the one year using the first tight left hander in the chicane as a safety net to just catch me. It's the only 'soft' place to fall between the rocky step downs and the rock chute. 

Plumber in or after rain is a different beast

Edited by Jewbacca
Cannot tell let from right it seems

52 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

This weekend's (Saturday) weather was near perfect. Couldn't of asked for better.

As per Philip and Jewbecca i think plumber in the rain is going to be mayhem... Wouldn't want to be on the organisation team if that is the case

In fact it maybe easier just to run down plumber... 

On 7/25/2022 at 1:30 PM, ChristiaanSt said:

They usually have a "central" water point out on the trail where you can restock but you can always go back to carpark to restock if needed seeing that you have a lot of time to get to the stages.

Some guys even go to the beer tent (if there is one) and "restock" there between stages... #rumours

confirm with organisers re being allowed to go back to cars or finish start area to replenish. they may say its not allowed as you are meant to leave the start with everything you need, we have been told in the past at kzn races we werent allowed to fetch stuff at cars etc

My comment was in jest but in the absence if comic sans font, I digress. I fully appreciate riding Plumber in the dry is a near death experience, so in the wet and mud it's just stoopid.

Plumber is the main reason I opted for the Lite race. I am severely under-biked for the Plumber so I could not try even if I wanted to

But ja, rather be safe than sorry. It would be a pity if Sunday ends up being a wet one.

3 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

My comment was in jest but in the absence if comic sans font, I digress. I fully appreciate riding Plumber in the dry is a near death experience, so in the wet and mud it's just stoopid.

Plumber is the main reason I opted for the Lite race. I am severely under-biked for the Plumber so I could not try even if I wanted to

But ja, rather be safe than sorry. It would be a pity if Sunday ends up being a wet one.

packing my hiking(saying running shoes would be blasphemy) shoes then bring it on... haha

16 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

Im entered for the the full, but im also probably downgrading so i can skip that part. Or ill literally walk it 😅

So dropping into Red Phoenix 3 on Saturday was fun . . . 

the back-story goes like this. I took my bike in to have the pivot bearings replaced and sommer for a service and lube of all moving bits. Lekker. I get the bike back and it feels like a new bike, and I'm super chuffed. The whole time pedalling up that mountain I'm just amped to "GO". 

So, I drop in and immediately after the first few meters of cranking to get speed I realise I'm going way to quick, and modulate the brakes. Except, the brake lever feels much too firm on the pull. And the wheels are not going slower. I get to the corner steering around the turn only just, and head the opposite direction. By now, I'm pulling hard on the lever. Both in fact. Still, not much in terms of braking is happening. I'm starting to panic. Through the next switchback and I'm steaming along like an out of control hooligan.

By the time I get spat out at the start to RP2, I'm pooing myself and there is actually smoke coming out of the calipers and the rotors have a bronze tinge to them. Oh, and since about half way down RP3 I heard a sort of clacking sound as the disc pads and rotors are starting to bind. By now, the front rotor wants to lock each time I touch it, threatening to moer me over the bars, down a rather substantial drop to me left.

I enter RP2 and properly nurse my way down to the end. 

My level of stoopid hit All Time after that, since then I decided, against better judgement, to go do a scoping run of DH, seeing I've never thought to ride it before then. I made it down in one piece, but I still reckon my brakes are shot.

So, to the panel - should I replace all, or could I sand the rotors down a tad and replace the pads?

2 hours ago, Robbie Stewart said:

I've yet to gather the courage. My excuse for now is my bike, and I'm sticking to that 😁

Under biked...... I introduce the 140mm 650b Hardtail which did many many full run duty from the top drop to rock drops/rolls to step up.....

plumber1.jpg