40 minutes ago, ollyinnes said:

image.png.2214412478c3e4c85c168af9c803c21c.png

Strava Route: https://www.strava.com/routes/3364564940793248710

Not Tankwa but close-ish enough - looking for advice on this route for a bikepacking leg - Strava heatmap is dire through this region. Anyone know if this route is accessible? Does it run through private land? How is the Road? Appreciate the help 🙏

Cycled that route in a group in 2019 (from PA to Laingsburg). Back then at least the whole route was publicly accessible, just a number of farmgates to open and close. Everything was rideable, no hike-a-bike. On route there is a guest farm called Rammetjieskraal a bit after Floriskraal dam(not on google maps, try facebook) which could be an option for a lunch stop if you organise ahead of time. For the rest not much civilization other than a few farm houses and no cell reception for most of the route so make sure you are self sufficient for the distance.

Thanks for the info @Skubarra - That's Awesome. Do you perhaps remember if you went out towards the Weltevrede Fig Farm Road/Magrieta Prinsloo Road first from Prince Albert or did you go out along the Tar Road (R407) first? 

On 5/28/2025 at 11:15 AM, BuffsVintageBikes said:

Normally a great time of the year to ride there if you can make it before the first big winter rains. Night is obviously a lot colder but the days are crisp and clear.

Cold....survivable?....camping?

Any permits needed?

1 hour ago, ollyinnes said:

Thanks for the info @Skubarra - That's Awesome. Do you perhaps remember if you went out towards the Weltevrede Fig Farm Road/Magrieta Prinsloo Road first from Prince Albert or did you go out along the Tar Road (R407) first? 

We went out on the tar road for about 20km(?) and turned left towards Laingsburg, the Magrieta Prinsloo road hits a dead-end at the Gamkapoort dam afaik.

4 hours ago, ollyinnes said:

image.png.2214412478c3e4c85c168af9c803c21c.png

Strava Route: https://www.strava.com/routes/3364564940793248710

Not Tankwa but close-ish enough - looking for advice on this route for a bikepacking leg - Strava heatmap is dire through this region. Anyone know if this route is accessible? Does it run through private land? How is the Road? Appreciate the help 🙏

we did this in reverse in 2021, https://bicyclesouth.co.za/2019/10/the-swartberg-loop/

I don't know why I never did the report - it's quite a bit of tar into PA - no real other option from memory but okes drive like there are no cops and diesel is R6 a litre so wear something bright. It turned out to be the day that the Dwyka and Gamka rivers broke their drought and flowed for the first time in 7 years. which was rather interesting.

IMG_20211022_164912_8.jpg.81eeb4a64ba78987e8cb7b52325226f1.jpg

gravel road were great riding, but this is a while back now. the headwinds were *** but obviously temporary.

IMG_20211022_141407_1.jpg.0472d714b28a8923342e74d94f3e4a9c.jpg

We found this place on googlemaps, and stayed there. EPIC spot. highly recommended. They even did prearranged shopping for us, so lekker braai and beers that night.

they were super friendly, and would know the best advice on road condition and access.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/jTGMBsmscY4ZJZyv9

6 hours ago, ollyinnes said:

Both Weltevrede road and Magrieta Prinsloo have dead ends …unless you do some difficult bundu bashing . The way to go is out on the tar road then left . Last time I was there about 22 gates .  Due to sheep theft some farmers are locking gates though it is a public road . Wapp me I will get the number of a farmer on that road . Arno zero83three959zero38

17 hours ago, capediver said:

Cold....survivable?....camping?

Any permits needed?

May 2021 in a riverbed, 23km from Matjies on the R355 towards Ceres. -1.3 degC at 09:00 in the morning. I could not open my tent from the inside. Zip frozen solid. Needless to say, I had everything on that my panniers could take and still I nearly died that night.

Cold you ask ...................................... the Tankwa freezes over this time of year 🥶

IMG-20210522-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20210522-WA0010.jpg

Riverbed_20210522_072041.jpg

Riverbed_20210522_072629.jpg

2 hours ago, Mook said:

May 2021 in a riverbed, 23km from Matjies on the R355 towards Ceres. -1.3 degC at 09:00 in the morning. I could not open my tent from the inside. Zip frozen solid. Needless to say, I had everything on that my panniers could take and still I nearly died that night.

Cold you ask ...................................... the Tankwa freezes over this time of year 🥶

IMG-20210522-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20210522-WA0010.jpg

I camped once a few years back near Sutherland. About the same as you. Luckily I carry a -5 sleeping bag. I need to getback out there.

16 hours ago, Prince Albert Cycles said:

Both Weltevrede road and Magrieta Prinsloo have dead ends …unless you do some difficult bundu bashing . The way to go is out on the tar road then left . Last time I was there about 22 gates .  Due to sheep theft some farmers are locking gates though it is a public road . Wapp me I will get the number of a farmer on that road . Arno zero83three959zero38

@ollyinnes this is the oom in the know, follow his advice!

6 hours ago, Mook said:

IMG-20210522-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20210522-WA0010.jpg

Jislaaik...but you did survive!!! Thats good but has given me pause for thought!

3 hours ago, capediver said:

Jislaaik...but you did survive!!! Thats good but has given me pause for thought!

I did survive yes, and so would you. Do not allow the elements to spoil your memories.

The Tankwa understands OBS for breakfast 😛