I had to drop my wife off in the city for a meeting this morning. On my way to the office I see this black oke riding a cool looking bike. Pull up along side him , check it is a carbon Scott 29er with full XT. So I make my own asumptions that he is a tsotsi that stole the bike. He stops at a street hawker to buy a cigarette. I walk up to him and comment that he has a cool bike. No real reaction. Ask him where he bought it... He says at Game. I ask which Game.... He says Game at Mimosa Mall. So I strip my moer and tell him that he is talking shite and that it is a stolen bike. He jumps on the bike with its egg beater pedals and chases away. Now the agent is an a roll so I jump in my car and chase the little farker. Eventually he realises that he cant lose me so he jumps off and runs into a shop with the bike.I leave the car in the street with the hazards on and chase him. Inside the shop the owner , a Nigerian dude asks wassup. Explain to him that I suspect that the bike is stolen. With this the tsotsi makes a dash for it and is down the road, No chance of catching him, Mr Nigie isnt interested and the agent is too slow. Call the LBS that sells Scott to hear if anybody has reported a stolen Scott. No luck. Ask Mr Nigie if he will hold on to the bike while I fetch my bakkie . Plan is to drop the bike at the LBS. If nobody collects it within a month they can sell it and sponsor a development rider. Yeah right, get back with the bakkie, the Scott is missing. Mr Nigie says he thinks the Tsotsi came back and restole it. Ah well bummer.

As I walk out of the shop this dude approaches me and informs me that Mr Nigie sold the bike to some oke for R80.00 just after I left. 80 flippen ZARS. What a ****!

Im really depressed about this so please ya'll that are going to try to start a hub fight by wanting to know how I can claim that the bike was stolen and that the little prick riding it probably forgot his Assos gear at home. Just back off.

• Replies 42

Did you ge tthe witnesses details (fone no.)? if so report a case of theft and dealing in stolen goods to the cops. They have 2 witnesses to get their case underway. if they do nothing at least you have done your part (again) - thats all you can do.

Thanks Bru, only problem is that in Bloem the cops never arraive.... but thats a story for another day.

You did the right thing and did what you could - even going back to fetch the bakkie must've been a schlepp. But ja, it really gets your moer up and your faith down when other crap / people happens.

It happens quite frequently that I see an expensive bike being ridden by somebody in ... well, rags really. I always wonder how they can afford such bikes, or how they acquired them, but I have never stopped to ask because anything is possible really, and they could tell me it was a gift from there employer who lost a leg in a car crash etc, but I must say it doesn't sit very well with me.

Well done to you :thumbup:

Dude, well done, much respect!!

I recently did the same, saw a dude on full carbon, top of the range S-Works Epic. Waited for him and asked about the bike. Said the boss-man gave it to him. That threw me a bit. Started getting more confrontational, he stuck to his guns, boss-man gave it to him. I told him BS, it’s a stolen bike, whether he stole it or the boss-man gave it to him, it’s still stolen. The guy never got upset or anything, but eventually I tracked him to the house where he stays at (live in gardener), the local security guards also vouched for him, that they know him and his boss and that it’s not a stolen bike.

Long story short, tracked down the owner, he was away on holiday, so the gardener decided to hop on the good ‘ol S-Works to go shopping.. He was not too impressed to find out the gardener is taking liberties when he’s away.

I’m so gatvol of these bleeding heart liberals, if you don’t look the part then I’m prepared to look like a ****, but you’ll have to prove to me that it’s not a stolen bike. Even if you didn’t steal it but bought it for R100, I will steal it back off you and find the owner.

It happens quite frequently that I see an expensive bike being ridden by somebody in ... well, rags really. I always wonder how they can afford such bikes, or how they acquired them, but I have never stopped to ask because anything is possible really, and they could tell me it was a gift from there employer who lost a leg in a car crash etc, but I must say it doesn't sit very well with me.

Well done to you :thumbup:

Nothing personal, but the one thing that gets me more than crime in this country, it's people who stand by with this attitude, people who know better.

Your town is full of crooks....... They stole my laptop bag with all my favourite goodies last Wednesday. It is cold there as well and has more guesthouses than houses.