Cyclists' Safety in the light of Burry and other's recent deaths - Merged Thread.

What I want to know, is how many of these average commuters get killed a year. It's like we only ever hear of a "real" cyclist getting killed on the roads, but there sure are plenty of workers that use bicycles daily. And postmen. What's happening to them? And if they aren't being killed, then we should be learning from them? And if they are, we should be fighting for them just as much as for our own safety?

A cyclist-commuter-worker got killed just down the road from where I live a few months back, I gave away some cheapie lights for the neighbours worker and another guy I see regularly up and down my road. Saw them over the weekend after their Christmas holidays, they are still riding around here with their lights flashing (during the day which is good to see!)

For these guys spending R150 on a couple of lights is an awful lot of money so if you see someone regularly on your rides and it looks as though they could do with a bit of help do so, I think we sometimes forget how much money we spend on our hobbies as opposed to those who have to use their bikes for getting around. Even a bit of reflective tape (around R40 p/m) could help them to become more visible.

The one guy has to cycle about 15km from Tarlton along the R24 into Magalies, through the terrible bends near Mount Grace and out near us in Hekpoort, I wont cycle through the bends (did it once, never again!) but if you have to do it then you have to do it!

Edited by Mojoman
  • Replies 679

I agree 100%

Until we start taking it upon ourselves to respect motorist, we will always be second. No campaign in the world will change a drivers perception.

It still saddens me to think about his untimely passing. We can talk talk talk all day about exactly what happened and still be wrong. Fact: an awesome rider and person passed away. Fact: it was a k@k incident, partly/mostly due to human negligence. Fact: vehicles and cyclists are sometimes ignorant of road rules. Fact: I still get tears in my eyes when reading anything related to this.

Your time is your time. God knows what he wants to do with our lives....but heck it still is sad

Edited by RudoJ

What I want to know, is how many of these average commuters get killed a year. It's like we only ever hear of a "real" cyclist getting killed on the roads, but there sure are plenty of workers that use bicycles daily. And postmen. What's happening to them? And if they aren't being killed, then we should be learning from them? And if they are, we should be fighting for them just as much as for our own safety?

Exactly.

What stats does government have? What do they analyse?

My brother-in-law worked for Transport for London in a unit specifically focused on "traffic calming". Collecting stats, analysing accidents and working out solutions. Most of that was about changing traffic flow, removing hotspots, but also creating alternatives. His section focused on cycling-specific issues and I think most in that section commuted by bike to work. He did. Their biggest problem was bike-theft, not getting mowed down by vehicles.

Where's that happening here?

If you don't know what the problem is, how can you solve it?

(... so, how useful are these cycle lane "plans" going to be that government is supposed to have up its left sleeve, which I hear Fikile Mbalula's spokesman chuntering on about? where are they? what are they?)

How bout this....every morning I go out,,the cars don't stop at the robots and speed past like idiots...what about that??

Even if they don't, it is what I prepare for when I ride. I see a car at a stop, I assume that he is going to drive in front of me...if he doesn't I thank the driver. When I hear a car approach, even though I am in the yellow, I move as far left as I can.

I have had some close shaves, but because I was prepared disaster was averted. I ride cheap training rims on my roadie, so I have no issues going off-road when I need to......have not had to yetthumbup1.gif

What I find is that us cyclist are quick to complain, but sometimes when we get into our cars we are just as reckless.

Picture this: Cyclist is in the yellow lane on the far right (we drive on the right). Driver 2 cars ahead of me moves to the left giving them space, car going somewhat slow. Car in front of me takes the gap between car and cyclist. Said car in front of me has a cycle in the back.

Another occasion I'm in my car with the bike on the carrier on my way to training. I'm in my lane that's coming to a close up ahead, put my indicator on to filter into lane beside me moving at a decent enough speed. Big 4x4 coming up behind, moving much faster than me driving rather aggressively. With my bike on the back, not wanting to collide with him, I move back out his way to let him go. His got a bike in the back also going training.

My point is, some of us (not all) when we get into our cars we forget that it is a weapon.

(... so, how useful are these cycle lane "plans" going to be that government is supposed to have up its left sleeve, which I hear Fikile Mbalula's spokesman chuntering on about? where are they? what are they?)

From a story in today's The Star about CoJ's plans:

The plan also stated that one of the key projects in this area was the development of 50km of cycle lanes and 200 cycle racks at key public transport interchanges, but does not give estimated completion dates or costs.

This has been the case for at least the last 12 years…

Edited by Tumbleweed

post-22603-0-17388900-1357491952_thumb.jpgpost-22603-0-37414700-1357491964_thumb.jpgpost-22603-0-22579100-1357491974_thumb.jpgpost-22603-0-00891800-1357491986_thumb.jpg

So...trucks causing fatalities have increased pretty badly...eek.gif

Causes.....Speed is a no-brainer. Our road conditions are too changeable to travel fast safely.

The shocker is jaywalking...did not expect that to feature so high so let me put this out there. When you cycle out of place, skip stop and red lights or hog a lane you are essentially jaywalking, or jayridingmellow.png

I agree 100%

Until we start taking it upon ourselves to respect motorist, we will always be second. No campaign in the world will change a drivers perception.

ek stem 100% saam. tot dan ry ek al te lekker met my mtb in die veld. ek weier om my lewe te waag op die paaie. dit gaan baie jare vat voordat motoriste en fietsryers hulle houdings verander teenoor pad veiligheid en respek vir mekaar. die hartseer van die hele debat is dat dit slegs n klein handvol motoriste en fietsryers is wat die hele situasie vereger met hulle arrogante en vinger wys houdings. dit is almal se verantwoordlikheid en dit begin by elkeen van ons.

100% agreed.

If ALL road users (cars, trucks, bikes, cyclists pedestrians etc), shows some courtesy and common decensy to the next user, we will all be in a happy place.

There is no respect amongst any road users, not even between motorists, so unfortunately the least protected guys will always get the short end of the stick!!!

Aggression is an emotion that feeds off a deeper unresolved issue, and we all need to takea deeper look into ourselves and manage yourself like the examples we should be for the younger generation.

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Happy hoopin

Sadly, yesterday we were discussing that rechlessness and ill-behavious of, not only motorists, but most in SA. and there is only one conclussion, this has become a country filled with common petty criminals and thugs, and they come in white and black.. I'm not proud to say it, but unfortunately, thats how it it. Ignorance of traffic rules and regulations, no consideration, schools a mess, littering...name it.

Thanx for the adjustment in your reasoning with regard to race, Pastapouch.

Noted & appreciated.thumbup1.gif

This is truly a nationhood issue.

Where peeps of all backgrounds break the law, disregarding their responsibility of living good citizen's lives.

Geez, it's so easy to roll across the red traffic light when it's clear. blush.png

I'm glad to see this topic is already going. Difficult topic at the moment, but it's needs saying that cyclists need to get themselves back in line again. (See what I did there?).

This weekend I was too late to join the Ride for Burry from Stellenbosch out to Jonkers, but decided to pull through and go ride Jonkers anyway. Like most I was stuck behind the masses of riders who pulled through to show their respect. A heart-warming sight. What I found unbelievable was that in one direction we have a memorial ride for a rider who got killed on our road and at the same time what was a bit like something out of Lord of the Flies. Cyclists all over the road, riding two and three next to each other having a chat and a bit of a laugh. Not one or two. MOST. Inevitably blocking cars going the other direction as well.

The road to Jonkers and back is maybe the best example of our blatant disregard of the rules of the road. Never have I driven or ridden there on a weekend where there wasn't several riders riding next to each other. And this on a piece of road barely wide enough for two cars to pass each other and with AMPLE space next to the road to ride your mtb. There's even a cycling / running path with grass / bit of rough between it and the road where we can ride our mtb's. Why the need to ride your mtb on tar? Boggles the mind.

Also why the need to need to have a chat on that stretch? In fact why the need to have a chat anywhere? Surely whatever you have to say can wait till you get home or at the coffee shop where you're heading.

We demand our rights, but then behave like chops. Yes, the 1.5m rule is great and I would also like to see it enforced. But where should a driver go when you are already cycling a metre from the side of the road or refuse to ride in the yellow lane? How difficult can it be to ride in the yellow lane where it's wide enough to drive a car in? Stay left and give the driver in his car or bakkie or whatever a fair chance. Just because we have a right does not mean we can abuse it to frustrate and aggravate drivers. We will ALWAYS loose that battle. Yes, your wife or husband could win in court, but with you gone that will always just be to ease the pain.

It's okay to stop at a traffic light and intersection. You might loose some time, but you'll live to ride another day. So how about we stick to some basics.

• Ride in the yellow lane
  • Never ride anything other than single file when there is no yellow lane.
  • Never make any sudden moves or attempts to pass your fellow rider
  • Look behind and around you, like we expect motorists to do, before you overtake or get up to sprint. When you suddenly pull out to pass your mate you add a meter to your total width. If you got up to pedal at the same time true as bob you will plukking your bike all over the show like you are in the last 50m of winning a TDF stage. Great for motivation and training - not so good for a motorists who was just driving along.
  • Stay as far left as possible.
  • If you're on a mountain bike ride next to the road where possible. Use OMO to keep your whites white, not the road.
  • No use having a 1500 lumens front light, but a 10 lumens rear light that was designed to look cute. No use.
  • Wear reflective clothing
  • Always, always wear a helmet.
  • If your usual route take you down or up a road with no shoulder or yellow lane...FIND ANOTHER ROUTE! You only need one blind corner or hill, or a motorist to look down or away for 2 seconds to go wrong. FIND ANOTHER ROUTE.
  • Just because you are part of a club and have a support vehicle does not mean you have a right to block off intersections. If every group of riders, bikers, runners, horsers and who knows what were to do that we will have chaos. Just stop. It's not that bad. You'll be okay. Life is enough of a mad rush as it is. 20 seconds at an traffic light will do you good and you will get to chat to your heart's content while you are standing there.

We need to realize that we can be right, but if we get killed on the road that right will get you nowhere.

Edited by The Crow

Aggression is an emotion that feeds off a deeper unresolved issue, and we all need to takea deeper look into ourselves

And then they say, the past is the past, get over the (recent) history of this country. Haha!

100% agreed.

If ALL road users (cars, trucks, bikes, cyclists pedestrians etc), shows some courtesy and common decensy to the next user, we will all be in a happy place.

There is no respect amongst any road users, not even between motorists, so unfortunately the least protected guys will always get the short end of the stick!!!

Aggression is an emotion that feeds off a deeper unresolved issue, and we all need to takea deeper look into ourselves and manage yourself like the examples we should be for the younger generation.

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Happy hoopin

Prehaps some drivers education like they do at schools overseas would work well here? Get some common sense before you go for your learners and drivers.