Is motorcycling allowed?

Guest EdEdEd

Haha. Riff raff indeed. I had to Google it to see what it was but knowing your history I sort of knew what to expect. It does look quite nice but no, not ridden one.

• Replies 10.1k

Haha. Riff raff indeed. I had to Google it to see what it was but knowing your history I sort of knew what to expect. It does look quite nice but no, not ridden one.

found a nice review, though have no idea what the feedback is .....

Haha, Who do you think you're kidding? Like you even looked at the bike.....

Edit: But the voice...Eish...

Edited by sawystertrance

Well that's pretty much it.  I haven't ridden it yet because the seat is still being finished and I still need to finish the Silencer.  I might still do the wheels - haven't decided but for now it's done.

Ayee, this is a pretty little bike!

Back from my training in Canada after months away and then the Missus keeps me busy in her restaurant........managed a quick jaunt over Outeniqua Pass on the little Katoom. This on the way home via Montagu Pass. Pic from the north side. Lekker to be out on the bike after so long.post-52292-0-78441700-1617906620_thumb.jpeg

When I arrived home I had missed the expiration date of the roadworthy by just 2 days. Took the little Duke for a spin over Outeniqua Pass after the test. Buggar....what a tart to ride around town (I knew it) but sublime on the pass............However.....at enthusiastic speeds I noticed a waffling in the acceleration. Turns out it has a Yammie style exhaust valve. Right side exhaust running cool, very little pressure but exhaust manifolds hot! Investigation saw the exhaust valve rotary actuator completely off the shaft and a dogs breakfast of bollox.......So, welcome to the world of Duke ownership! But I love the totally unnecessary beast and will fix as required. She is my highly strung Italian Skweeza!post-52292-0-57323600-1617907527_thumb.jpeg

Spokey, 2 great photos and 2 great bikes.

It's a measure of me now that I feel the KTM picture represents motorcycling more than the Ducati shot.

Something to do with being closer to nature and more sensitive to conditions around you for safety's sake. 

Nevertheless they both capture bike and environment very well. More please..

Spokey, 2 great photos and 2 great bikes.

It's a measure of me now that I feel the KTM picture represents motorcycling more than the Ducati shot.

Something to do with being closer to nature and more sensitive to conditions around you for safety's sake. 

Nevertheless they both capture bike and environment very well. More please..

Thank you! I will dig up some shots I like of my various machines and post.

All great but the top one, with the road calling into the distance, is my favourite. Swartberg is top of my list once this damn vaccine is sorted out. Will it be this year? Who knows?

Ps: I note you pack like me - chaotically. Haha

Edited by sawystertrance

All great but the top one, with the road calling into the distance, is my favourite. Swartberg is top of my list once this damn vaccine is sorted out. Will it be this year? Who knows?

Ps: I note you pack like me - chaotically. Haha

Ha ha, yeah, I just bought some really nice ATG soft panniers. They are super lekker but too big for my day rides. On the KLR I have very nice small throw over bags for tools and spares. I carry the back pack just for my snacks and hydration bladder. Sometimes I just strap a collapsable cooler box on the rack on the KLR for spares!! On the road bikes I just carry tire plug kits!

All the strapping on the top box in the Katoom pic is because I read a lot about top boxes flying off bikes on dirt tracks. So.......belt and braces!

The top KLR pic is the track leading east out of Prince Albert. Road is directly opposite the church in town. Around 20 kms later you take the right turn through the huge gate and then head around 50kms more to intersect the N12 south bound to De Rust.

The top Katoom pic is somewhere on the track between Tarkastad and Adelaide ( a little east of my normal roaming!)

Swartburg Pass is a huge favourite of mine. I ride it as often as possible. Big bike, little bike, bakkie, always with a flask of coffee and a rusk to enjoy on the top!

Edited by Spokey

Instead of working a little longer and saving a little longer I am getting impatient and may just end up buying a Sportster 883 and rider her for a year whilst saving up the remainder needed for a nice Fat Bob.

At least I can make a Sportster happen now already, though I know I should wait I am also thinking I could sell the Sporty again without loosing much if anything.