My blanket is getting old(but kept me nice and warm in the very cold Cederberg this past weekend), but I think you're over estimating a bit there on the amount of pushing.

Sure there is plenty, but it's still a bike race and most of it is rideable. Sounds like you had a lot more wind, so that would have changed things last week. (We had loads more mud).

I agree... I definately didn't push 50% of my ride...
  • Replies 456

FC2014: Veldkornet Rissik makes his appearance

Today saw the front groups of riders battling across the Karoo towards the Baviaans, it being the site of their next big challenge. Its strange to say it, but the reports were that the riders were exhausted from battling the winds and heat - bizarre with all the reports of cold elsewhere!

As the riders exit the game farms of the Eastern Cape and head down toward the sheep country and the support station at Bucklands, the cross the busy R75 road at Kleinpoort. Kleinpoort is a cafe, station and a few other buildings which sprung up around the railway station, it is also a famous place smash some fizzy drinks and quite a few pies as it is mostly downhill to the Support Station, less than 50km away.

Stationed a couple of KM's out of town on the approach was Veldkornet Rissik, he is currently engaged in some boring work near Coega and took the time off to engage the riders as they passed through, this as reports of a further skirmish in his own district in 2014 seem to all but have been resolved this year - or so the rumours are....hopefully the young man has been instructed to allow lawful passage. Consequently Rissik has been released form active duty for now and is free to engage the riders at his leisure.

The first two novices showed just how green they are when in search of something cold at Kleinpoort to slake their thirst, they shot past Rissik in the veld, I mean who can miss some chap next to the merc waving at you to stop and drink coffee and share a boerebiskuit!

Steve and Di on the other hand guided their posse into the lager and they enjoyed what Rissik had to offer, offering as much a cathartic experience to Rissik as he once again for the 11th year in succession, albeit not at Prince Albert, was able to lend support to the race.

So that brief episode in FC2014 is once again a snippet of life on the trail - never a dull day.

(the well trained eye will notice the tell tale signs on the merc that it indeed belongs to Rissik, see how many you can spot)

*Die veldkornet was ‘n veelsydige amptenaar wat in die uitgestrekte binnelandse distrikte van Suid-Afrika sedert die Nederlandse bewind op administratiewe, regterlike en militêre gebied ‘n rol gespeel het.

Aan die Kaap het die poste van veldwagmeester, kornet en vaandrig saamgesmelt tot veldkornet. Groot binnelandse distrikte is in wyke, veldkornetskappe genoem, verdeel. Die veldkornet is gewoonlik aangewys uit die vooraanstaande boere van die distrik en het meestal geen salaris vir sy werk ontvang nie, maar is vrygestel van belasting en rekognisiegeld op sy plaas.

post-1509-0-10417700-1403547383_thumb.jpg

Lekker Merc Chain ring... :thumbup:

... and lekker 'bumper sticker' on the window...

that's 2 Ryan...keep looking...... its a bit like Chuck, you just ride and he meets you

Edited by tubed

Haha - there's too many... the koek? on the dashboard and the tin helmet!

well done on those 2 obscure ones which are more character than FC specific, the two obvious ones you are still missing......lets see if anyone else gets them, so far we have:

• bokkie sticker on window
  • Merc chainring
  • drillers helmet
  • food supplies on dashboard

Edited by tubed

Drunkcyclist sticker and the bike rack holder on the towbar?

Bingo! Well done Thug!

With a back seat that big, bikes that cant fit in the boot go on the back seat, the rack is probably to hold a mobile in the veld repair stand.

The drunkcyclist.com sticker, well if your bike is worked on and you are a good bloke, your bike will leave PA with one of those.... Casper still has his on the tube 2 years later

Edited by tubed

I really enjoy reading Marnitz's blog. .

He uses afrikaans so well to describe his journey.

Still thinks his absolutely bonkers, but I've been telling him that since the first time he spoke of doing his first FC.

These guys are really made of diffent stuff than me.

I am will be the first to say that, I am way too much of a woes to even attempt it.

Respect to all doing it, whether they finish it or not..

FC2014: Veldkornet Rissik makes his appearanceToday saw the front groups of riders battling across the Karoo towards the Baviaans, it being the site of their next big challenge. Its strange to say it, but the reports were that the riders were exhausted from battling the winds and heat - bizarre with all the reports of cold elsewhere!As the riders exit the game farms of the Eastern Cape and head down toward the sheep country and the support station at Bucklands, the cross the busy R75 road at Kleinpoort. Kleinpoort is a cafe, station and a few other buildings which sprung up around the railway station, it is also a famous place smash some fizzy drinks and quite a few pies as it is mostly downhill to the Support Station, less than 50km away.Stationed a couple of KM's out of town on the approach was Veldkornet Rissik, he is currently engaged in some boring work near Coega and took the time off to engage the riders as they passed through, this as reports of a further skirmish in his own district in 2014 seem to all but have been resolved this year - or so the rumours are....hopefully the young man has been instructed to allow lawful passage. Consequently Rissik has been released form active duty for now and is free to engage the riders at his leisure.The first two novices showed just how green they are when in search of something cold at Kleinpoort to slake their thirst, they shot past Rissik in the veld, I mean who can miss some chap next to the merc waving at you to stop and drink coffee and share a boerebiskuit!Steve and Di on the other hand guided their posse into the lager and they enjoyed what Rissik had to offer, offering as much a cathartic experience to Rissik as he once again for the 11th year in succession, albeit not at Prince Albert, was able to lend support to the race.So that brief episode in FC2014 is once again a snippet of life on the trail - never a dull day.(the well trained eye will notice the tell tale signs on the merc that it indeed belongs to Rissik, see how many you can spot) *Die veldkornet was ‘n veelsydige amptenaar wat in die uitgestrekte binnelandse distrikte van Suid-Afrika sedert die Nederlandse bewind op administratiewe, regterlike en militêre gebied ‘n rol gespeel het.Aan die Kaap het die poste van veldwagmeester, kornet en vaandrig saamgesmelt tot veldkornet. Groot binnelandse distrikte is in wyke, veldkornetskappe genoem, verdeel. Die veldkornet is gewoonlik aangewys uit die vooraanstaande boere van die distrik en het meestal geen salaris vir sy werk ontvang nie, maar is vrygestel van belasting en rekognisiegeld op sy plaas.
the man is a frikken legend. but you don't need me to tell you thathttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/-TC3Wm84cXjs/T7ob5WSoFJI/AAAAAAAABcY/dEDZ9zyFPog/s400/20052012043.jpgand here's a good bedtime reading story.

http://fiforiders.blogspot.com/2012/07/dino-and-alaskan-wolf.html

Edited by Shebeen

a race within the race is the race for line honours...first oke over the line. It's normally been the overall winner who blasts through the entire field, but it got a bit exciting a a few years back when ugene nel had alex harris over his shoulder and they came in together(if i remember correctly).

Anyway, it's been asked if the two front runners will be able to stay ahead the whole way in. Barring catastrophe, the winner is likely to be either Tweet or Glenn.

Allen and Bugs started in batch A..a full 8 days ahead of the batch H racers.

here's my guess of their progress

Tuesday - prince albert

Wed - rouxpos

thurs - macgregor

fri - trouhaven

sat- finish

this would be a 20 day ride...good going for first timers

Tweet and Glenn

Tues - cambria

Wed - willowmoore

Thurs - die hel

Fri - montagu

sat - finish

so if bugs and allen slip up, or tweet and and glenn speed up...the overtake could happen earlier. going to be close, and *** weather will most likely play a role.

ok, an update on the leaders....they are riding together, according to the tracker that updated about an hour ago.

mainlogo_fontup_150_normal.jpgFreedom Trail @freedom_trail · 2h

Glenn calls from Bucklands "We have just eaten and we are leaving now (11:00) heading for Cambria. Tell them not to eat all the food"

So what this really means is that they are working together for now, but probably playing serious mind poker. It is a bit similiar to the famous 2012 battle where Alex Harris and Martin Dreyer duked it out till both were broken...riding amazing sections that both obliterated the previous record.

It came to a head at this section, where Martin managed to make a break of sorts.

Tweet knows this story well, he was just up the road minding his own business half a day back in third place. Glenn knows it well too. He had been racing that year at lightning pace until he got sick. but then david put him in the bakkie and made him the race reporter...so he wrote this account.

Today the race entered the fabled Baviaanskloof Reserve - this marks the start of the final chapter of this year's race as the 2 top contenders both made the turn westwards and dropped down the Osseberg jeep track.

It will be a psychological shift for them as they start to plan their run in to the finish, a bit like hitting the the home straight, even though the finish is still more than 700km away. From here the daily distances will increase as the road surfaces improve and navigation becomes relatively straightforward. Although strong winds can slow progress to a crawl, these two will push on regardless.

Both Martin and Alex made it cleanly through the Grootrivierpoort and both went through the technical river crossings just before Cambria in roughly 2 hours. At the start of the day, the gap was roughly 3.5 hours and this seems to have been maintained for most of the day. Martin checked out of the Cambria support station just after 11am, after a 60min stop, headed for Dam se Drif. Alex had a lengthy stop by his standards (70min) which could mean he used it as one of his shower stops before pushing on.

more here:

http://glennharrisonsa.blogspot.com/2012/06/battle-of-baviaanskloof.html

I have had many email conversations re bicycles with Johann and heard of his support during the race. I may have to do the full RASA to finally meet the man...

I second that motion.

His input convinced me to buy my beloved mary bars.

I will aim for 2016. You can do 2015. :ph34r:

Last few posts on makingtrackz.wordpress.com. Guess that's about it from me for Race to Rhodes 2014.

PS: In the moments after the race this year I was asked if I will return. My answer was no, unlikely, as I'm not one to do events multiple times. As my sore Achilles starts healing and the scratch marks on my legs start fading, my mind remains resolute in its persistence to keep wandering off to sections of the route, replaying both good and hard times, trying to remember route sections and key navigation lines. Despite my indulgence in work, it's not letting go and if it persists along this line ...