Women promoting violence against cyclists in Delta Park

mrbaker

• Replies 141

He is a Ward Councillor.. Focus Wyatt! lol..

Actually no... He is a resident that gets gatvol of stoopid people just as much as you and I do. :D

I agree that consideration is a rare thing in this country nowadays.

As for the councillor, as much as I believe that people in that position should be very careful of what they say and how they conduct themselves on social media and in public, I see his comments as childish and petty little jibes.

As for this woman, well something must have really upset her enough to go through the trouble of wanting to vent about it on social media.

I am embarrassed to sometimes be associated with cyclists, and that normally after I ride The Spruit .

Thanks to those inconsiderate twits that ventured in to our town and the Beaulieu reserve, we have also had those trails blocked for our regular usage over the years.

The Spruit will be closed off to bicycles in time to come, it will take a few more incidents, one pissed off and childish councillor and a few public meetings and before we can even say "Delta" we will have to look for another green belt to use.

This happened to me on Saturday on the Spruit.... We got to the section that goes under Rustenburg Rd and a Mom and her Kid on bikes (he must have been 6 or 7 ) were ushering us past, obviously waiting for a gap so the youngster could go down and under the bridge. So we stopped and gave him some encouragement and as he was about to go, a group of 3 riders gapped it in front of him... I couldn't help thinking what the hell in life is so important that they couldn't have waited 30 seconds for a youngster, who was obviously nervous, to go in front of them...was lost for words! 

ME ME ME ME - South Africa's new anthem.

Maybe it's because I'm getting old but I really don't understand this whole "I'm the man" ***. Thehub is a prime example - threads with drama stretch into pages and pages of codswallop. People fight, piss and whine and for what? So we can "win" an internet fight?

Does anyone else find it interesting that the BCA facebook page http://www.myblairgowrie.co.za/bca/index.php/useful-info/bca-contact-info (click the link) seems to have been removed from facebook. I wanted to go and see the public apology but its nowhere to be found. I am a little offended by his comments and frankly his more considered press release version feels a little contrived. Mountain bikers are the reason the spruit feels safer than ever. On the weekend you know that if you have a problem a mountain biker will pass you within minutes and you can ask for help. Mountain bikers need to be seen as part of the solution not part of the problem. Its a good thing to ask riders to be more courteous but if someone maces me or pushes me off my bike I will take their picture and open a case of assault on them.

ME ME ME ME - South Africa's new anthem.

Maybe it's because I'm getting old but I really don't understand this whole "I'm the man" ***. Thehub is a prime example - threads with drama stretch into pages and pages of codswallop. People fight, piss and whine and for what? So we can "win" an internet fight?

It goes along with braaivleis, Black Label and blue steel balls hanging off the tow-bar .

Whoooooaaaaa!! Everybody calm the #@*% down.

As usual, there are probably two sides to this story.

I know there are Stravassholes that use the Spruit and Delta Park, and even Walkassholes and Runassholes that use it too. I can say without much fear of contradiction that the cyclists in question most likely didn't set out on their ride with the intention of scaring the sh*t out of some arb lady walking her hounds in the park. And she, in all likelihood, went out for her walk without the intention of locking up a MTB'er in her dungeon.

Accidents happen when disparate activities such as dog walking and cycling meet each other head-on. Mostly the cyclists try their very best to avoid a collision with dog or human (or bush or gravel) and when a near-miss occurs, an apology is usually forthcoming from the transgressing party. "Sorry Guys!!!"......"That's OK!!!"

I would say that this lady was most probably just having a bad hair day or somesuch thing and was venting like a pressure cooker ready for dinner. No problem, words are said when people get woes.

BUT. Mr Councillor Timmy Trueluck........ Boet, you shove a stick through my spokes, you had better bloody pray that I am knocked completely unconscious from the resultant bailout. If not, the day would not end well for you.

Does anyone else find it interesting that the BCA facebook page http://www.myblairgowrie.co.za/bca/index.php/useful-info/bca-contact-info (click the link) seems to have been removed from facebook. I wanted to go and see the public apology but its nowhere to be found. I am a little offended by his comments and frankly his more considered press release version feels a little contrived. Mountain bikers are the reason the spruit feels safer than ever. On the weekend you know that if you have a problem a mountain biker will pass you within minutes and you can ask for help. Mountain bikers need to be seen as part of the solution not part of the problem. Its a good thing to ask riders to be more courteous but if someone maces me or pushes me off my bike I will take their picture and open a case of assault on them.

Nothing interesting. It's a closed community page, for good reason.

Don't be too offended, things got heated, Tim Truluck held himself to account and apologised as such. Ultimately the scenario resulted in more positive than negative.

Fyi the public apology is posted here too.

Everybody is a Hero..........Gonna shove sticks through peoples spokes, knock people off, Moer people etc.......What's he gonna do, shove a stick through the wheel of the first person who comes cycling along ? That would likely be the only way he would ever get it right as the cyclist would be past him by the time he had reacted to a hasty situation and someone is at speed on their bike.

So he does put a stick thru the wheel and the rider falls off. Then what ? The cyclist is gonna get up and apologize and slowly slip into obscurity with their tail between their legs...........Maybe that would happen, but I doubt it in most cases. He had better just hope that the wheel of the cyclist that he has just stuck a stick into doesn't belong to an MMA type fighter or serious rugby player etc. Or else he would likely get his ass Kicked properly.

I am not the type to get involved in physical altercations very quickly, as it never ends happily for anyone, and in general is actually just plain stupid. However, I go along with SAgecko on this one, in that you purposely knock me off my bike, you will go home with what's left of your stick stuck somewhere where the sun don't shine.

Does anyone else find it interesting that the BCA facebook page http://www.myblairgowrie.co.za/bca/index.php/useful-info/bca-contact-info (click the link) seems to have been removed from facebook. I wanted to go and see the public apology but its nowhere to be found.

Nothing interesting. It's a closed community page, for good reason.

Don't be too offended, things got heated, Tim Truluck held himself to account and apologised as such. Ultimately the scenario resulted in more positive than negative.

Fyi the public apology is posted here too.

Ja, What DD said.

The BCA FB page is private so only residents who are listed & signed up on the database can see it.

It cuts down on the trolls, but trust me its like a little mini version of The Hub - a great source of entertainment & many things are said in jest & very tongue in cheek.

Cutting those comments & pasting them here is like somebody cutting part of one of our Hub 26er vs 29er threads.

You kind of need to know the history behind the characters & the topic.

There is some pretty outrageous stuff said, but also lots of good done by all the main characters.

To be fair I dont know Michelle & I think she may be a new addition & she may have taken another comment off a previous thread one step too far - there are some single dames in the hood & there was mention of some "deck chair cyclist shopping" :ph34r:  :drool: instead of cyclist bashing when people were complaining previously.

Anyhoooo....trust me, the Blair cyclists would have put old Tim in his place pretty sharpish if they felt he really meant it - he comments a lot & is a pretty good sport & often quite funny, so maybe take it from where it came (another cyclist on a closed forum, who has apologised) and lets put this one to bed?

What he said!

I posted above (something about ensuring his day had a less than happy ending) without reading Mr Trulucks apology.

However, I think a persons true feelings are more readily apparent when they are a little hot under the collar. They tend to blab their initial reaction, so forgive me if I take Timmy's apology with a fistfull of salt. 

However, a politician is nothing if not a chameleon. If he sees the tide of opinion surging against him, he will more often than not grab his surf board and try to hang-ten back to the shore in safety.

I think he just miscalculated the extent of the vociferous reaction from the cycling community and had a sweaty half-hour with his PR people this morning.

That said, please guys, I love riding the Spruit. Be courteous to the walkers / runners, don't get their knickers in a twist to the extent that we get banned.

Everybody is a Hero..........Gonna shove sticks through peoples spokes, knock people off, Moer people etc.......What's he gonna do, shove a stick through the wheel of the first person who comes cycling along ? That would likely be the only way he would ever get it right as the cyclist would be past him by the time he had reacted to a hasty situation and someone is at speed on their bike.

So he does put a stick thru the wheel and the rider falls off. Then what ? The cyclist is gonna get up and apologize and slowly slip into obscurity with their tail between their legs...........Maybe that would happen, but I doubt it in most cases. He had better just hope that the wheel of the cyclist that he has just stuck a stick into doesn't belong to an MMA type fighter or serious rugby player etc. Or else he would likely get his ass Kicked properly.

I am not the type to get involved in physical altercations very quickly, as it never ends happily for anyone, and in general is actually just plain stupid. However, I go along with SAgecko on this one, in that you purposely knock me off my bike, you will go home with what's left of your stick stuck somewhere where the sun don't shine.

I think you are overdramatising it a bit .

He mad some comments and they were no more than immature or childish jibes.

The amount of people who daily say they will "run a taxi off the road" can hardly be taken serious  .

However, I think a persons true feelings are more readily apparent when they are a little hot under the collar. They tend to blab their initial reaction, so forgive me if I take Timmy's apology with a fistfull of salt. 

However, a politician is nothing if not a chameleon. If he sees the tide of opinion surging against him, he will more often than not grab his surf board and try to hang-ten back to the shore in safety.

I think he just miscalculated the extent of the vociferous reaction from the cycling community and had a sweaty half-hour with his PR people this morning.

So what would you have preferred Timmy to do? Not apologize and continue to justify his comment? Do you prefer your politicians to ignore public opinion and do&say what they want, if so you must be very happy with our current goverment...

You guys are all such whiners.. Yes, maybe Tim needed to be careful what he said on an open forum seeing as he is a DA rep, but in all honesty, he felt no different to a lot of you have expressed here many a time. 

How many of you have moaned about Spruit riders, botanical gardens, etc? Tim is actually a really nice person and has done a lot for this area. (Ward 117). As per his apology, lots has been done for cyclists too.. 

Never judge a book by its online persona, otherwise most of you must be world class A******les.. 

There fixed it.

So if a doctor murders a person its cool cause he has saved many others?

I like the irony in that last sentence.