Insane price for a bike wash.

karlito

I was the same until i found a good bike wash and pressure washer. bucket, with mild soapy water. 5min done!

I fixed it for you. High pressure washers does not come near my bike. I like my bike's bearings with grease in them, thanks. 

• Replies 315

I fixed it for you. High pressure washers does not come near my bike. I like my bike's bearings with grease in them, thanks. 

Pressure washer is asking for trouble. Anything over soaker setting on the hose pipe handle stays far away from my bike. 

I was the same until i found a good bike wash and pressure washer. 5min done!

And remember lads. It's a bike, not a piano!

Eish id keep the high pressure washer away from the bike.

5Min?? flip it takes me almost an hour to wash a bike properly(including degrease and re lube). Probably 5 min to scrub each tyre on my mtb.

Pressure washer is asking for trouble. Anything over soaker setting on the hose pipe handle stays far away from my bike. 

Even after a mid winter ride in muddy Greyton I've not felt the need to use a high pressure washer on my bike. Rinse the bike off with a hose pipe to get rid of the worst mud. Luke-warm soapy water and a sponge will take care of the rest, and an old nail brush for the cassette and chainrings. Wipe down with a cotton rag and lube the chain. 10 minutes tops for a very dirty bike. 

Eish id keep the high pressure washer away from the bike.

5Min?? flip it takes me almost an hour to wash a bike properly(including degrease and re lube). Probably 5 min to scrub each tyre on my mtb.

I do a deep clean every 6 months where I take the bike apart, re-torque the bolts etc. Not even that takes me an hour! 

You should go work at a LBS, They need guys like you.

Sometimes I think I should... provided it comes with free internet and a 7 figure annual salary. All jokes aside: If you have a dedicated work space to work on your bikes, keep it neat and tidy and all the tools are in its place the actual work component is quick. It usually takes longer to get everything sorted before you start than the actual job itself. 

I checked out a short 5 min clip on Youtube where the oke was explaining how to properly wash your mtb and degrease and lube the chain at home with the regular items found around home such as soft bristle brushes, cloths, sponges and dish detergent soap. I tried it this weekend and I found myself surprisingly enjoying the process. I got to look at my bike with a critical eye and have noticed things that are needing some attention and what needs replacing. So now I can go to my LBS and pay for what I know is needed, not what they tell me is needed, which is something like ( N + 80% x VAT) where N is the budget the unsuspecting client expected to pay.

I was the same until i found a good bike wash and pressure washer. 5min done!

And remember lads. It's a bike, not a piano!

5 mins ? Nah, I just sommer moer my bike in the pool and fish it out after a few beers. It takes no time and is as benign a method as a pressure washer......

So here's a question.

Washing a bike includes cleaning and re-lubing the chain.

What about a little oil on the derailleur pivot points?

Is that necessary every time you wash the bike?

5 mins ? Nah, I just sommer moer my bike in the pool and fish it out after a few beers. It takes no time and is as benign a method as a pressure washer......

just make sure you add a bottle of pool acid to get a really good deep clean.

Have a feeling I can guess the name of the shop, but lets wait.  R120 for a bike wash... That is ripping you a new hole.  Even my F650GS at BMW cost nothing...  Wait... Let me post a photo of that...

Just set the pressure low when you do those areas. High on frame, low on pivots.

Done that too! Beers were good and it was awesome practicing my whips into the pool!