2015 Momentum 947

ScottCM

As well as can be expected from limited genes, slack training and binge eating (and a bit of fear for the second lap). 2:46 and 3:45.

oh vomit. Please may I have some of your limited genes, in that case! well done! 

• Replies 1.6k

My goal this year was to see how well I can do on a mtb (even though I have a road bike)

Needless to say, its not so lekker. (Managed 3:07)

Next year...roadbike all the way. Nearly shat out my own lungs due to the last 15km being so "unexpectedly tough"

I am one of the backmarkers. Average temp was 36°C with max 42°C. The wind was also something else.

Still was a lekker day.

Just feel the finish should be on a level or slight downhill road. It is heartbreaking to see okes walking over finish line after cycling the whole day.

Unless we rode a different event... Last 100-200m was down hill...

That's where my Garmin comes in handy, arrived at the race and saved my location. After the race all i did was select the location and it displayed my car was 650m from the finish with directions on how to get there.

Guess it is time to upgrade my Edge 500 then.

Long day out for me. 2.45 and 6.04 on the second with my Mrs. Second lap was very interesting...wind, heat made it hard for the riders. From the back markers perspective the water tables aren't big enough..every one had complete road blockage..makes its hard. It was great to see all the interesting characters on the second lap including the homemade 5 seater tandem!

For a slow rider like me the Q start was good despite a 28 Degree C temperature. I kept to a casual start which seemed to have helped with the energy levels. No groups on the M1 which I hoped for to try and get some speed on that section, so I switched to chatting to cyclists every now and again. Randburg Section was tough as always but no problems where cyclists blocked the road at water points. Wind got really nasty on Malibongwe but was a great help up Cedar. Switched to MTB mode going through Steyn city over the speed bumps. MEasured almost 42 Degrees C on the climbds in Steyn City (insane!). Finished around 4:16 with knobblies (I'm equally slow on slicks).

Saw no crashes, and all cyclist was well behaved. I just don't get the sudden slow-down on uphills (or maybe its just my momentum).

94.7 will always be a tough race, but I'll probably do it again next year...

I'm always the first to moan when things aren't up to scratch in a race. But let me say this about today's experience. What a brilliant all round experience to be a part of the 94.7. From the spectators to the water tables to the dancers to the competitors.

There's a lot to be somber and apathetic about when it comes to this country's problems, but it is days like today that make me a proud South African. Well done organisers. See you next year for sure.

I'm always the first to moan when things aren't up to scratch in a race. But let me say this about today's experience. What a brilliant all round experience to be a part of the 94.7. From the spectators to the water tables to the dancers to the competitors.

There's a lot to be somber and apathetic about when it comes to this country's problems, but it is days like today that make me a proud South African. Well done organisers. See you next year for sure.

Well said!

Eish. That speed bump at Steyn City entrance... i went over there at really a high speed. They really could have painted it or marked it better.

I really had a close call there...

Eish. That speed bump at Steyn City entrance... i went over there at really a high speed. They really could have painted it or marked it better.

To be honest, a big reason for not racing it, is the Steyn City run, noways I would want to do those bumps and circles again at race pace!

Too true, was brilliantly organised and a good day out!

I cannot get over the fact that the riders in the back groups don't do any slipstreaming or bunch riding. It is as if they want to suffer. Didn't see any attempt other than 2nd lappers (we started 2nd last group).

Yeah that was scary. We(VA) had a dropped elite in our group and he did some seriously hair raising stunts over that bump. How he stayed on and didn't bring some of us down i dont know. We hit that bump at 60kph. Then the brick things in the traffic circles are off putting for me. Im scared to go full tilt around them.