Bic Mac for race nutrition

ParapapaPA! I'm loving it!

I love Mcd's. I can eat it the night before a race, after the race. Heck, sometimes I even eat a junior cheese burger during a long training ride. 

• Replies 91

Fully agree with that, and thats why i say being lean or fit does not mean you are healthy which is the ultimate goal i would think (or it is for me)

Whole new debate here... What is healthy?

I'm a bachelor travelling for work 3 days a week so my eating habits are atrocious at the best of times. I tend to feel healthy, I'm energetic, less prone to being sick and feeling great more than ever when I'm lean and fit... What wears me down way more than bad food is stress and lack of sleep. Just sayin

What in McDonalds' meals is fake / arteficial food?  Please, I'm serious.  I really want to know.

For me, the issue is that in general fast food has too much salt in, too much sugar and too much fat. Then I also worry about artificial colourants and preservatives. Big food companies, like big drug companies (and for that matter big tobacco companies) , have a bad history of selling us rubbish. I do not trust them to put my health above their bottom line.

I'm a bachelor travelling for work 3 days a week so my eating habits are atrocious at the best of times. I tend to feel healthy, I'm energetic, less prone to being sick and feeling great more than ever when I'm lean and fit... What wears me down way more than bad food is stress and lack of sleep. Just sayin

All to their own

There is a big differance between being healthy, lean and fit, just because you are the one does not mean you are the other.

But I have no signs of ill-health.  BP, cholestorol, mood everything is great.

Or are you waiting for the schadenfreude moment when I get cancer one day so you can say "AHA! Told you!"

But I have no signs of ill-health.  BP, cholestorol, mood everything is great.

Or are you waiting for the schadenfreude moment when I get cancer one day so you can say "AHA! Told you!"

The question is do you want to wait until you get cancer one day and think to yourself mmmm maybe they were right?

Eating rubbish is OK in the short term, but BAD in the long term.

When you are in your 20s you can eat anything and you will be fine. In your 30s you will still get away with it, but the habits that you carry through that decade, will be near impossible to change later, so, beware of the bad ones. In your 40s and 50s you'll notice that some foods don't work so lekker anymore, the first chickens are coming home to roost. In your 60s and 70s the sins of your youth will catch up with you in the form of all kinds of ailments. Whether you live into your 80s and 90s depend on what you did in your 20s and 30s.

Depressing? Yup! Suddenly I feel ancient.

(Often, the truth is that the only people with a clear long term view, are those who have lived it already, and for them, it is too late.)

The question is do you want to wait until you get cancer one day and think to yourself mmmm maybe they were right?

It's ok.  I don't let completely unproven theories of people who are only happy when they're scared dictate how I live my life.

I suppose you also refrain from using cellphones then?  Can't be too safe you know.

Eating rubbish is OK in the short term, but BAD in the long term.

When you are in your 20s you can eat anything and you will be fine. In your 30s you will still get away with it, but the habits that you carry through that decade, will be near impossible to change later, so, beware of the bad ones. In your 40s and 50s you'll notice that some foods don't work so lekker anymore, the first chickens are coming home to roost. In your 60s and 70s the sins of your youth will catch up with you in the form of all kinds of ailments. Whether you live into your 80s and 90s depend on what you did in your 20s and 30s.

Depressing? Yup! Suddenly I feel ancient.

(Often, the truth is that the only people with a clear long term view, are those who have lived it already, and for them, it is too late.)

Eating excessive amounts of anything everyday of your life is a bad habit.  Having a Big Mac once a week is far from that.

Smoking a pack a day is a bad habit.  Having one skelm zahn every other week is not.

Drinking a bottle of whiskey everyday is a bad habit.  Having a dop with dinner is not.

Holding your breath for 5 minutes is a bad habit.  Breathing normally is not.

Why are people completely incapable of appreciating nuance these days?  Everything is binary.  All or nothing.  Them or us. Gravity or f-off.  Wide bars or die :ph34r:

That study shows what an amazing machine our bodies are.

Converts food into energy.

Anyone who has "bonked" miles from home and stuffed what ever you can find down your gullet will attest that in general your body is not fussy what you feed it when the engine room complains there is no more fuel, provided it is some sort of food...man made, factory made, animal made, nature made...what ever.

It would be interesting to see a long term study over a much longer period and what effects the McD diet has on athletes. Personally I would not want to try it long term, on the rare occasion yes no problem.

Dudes, n = 11 and:

These data indicate that short-term food options to initiate glycogen resynthesis can include dietary options not typically marketed as sports nutrition products such as fast food menu items.

Key here is short-term on a small sample size, comparing highly processed sports bars with highly processes fast food. Immediate energy gains - but long terms effects (of both?!) I would suggest are not great.

EAT YO'SELF SOME FRUIT.

Last time I checked the Olympic Athlete villages all host a massive McD's eatery which is a big hit amongst the athletes.  Pretty sure if this was such a contoversial issue, they'd stay away.

And yes, I know the athletes usually wait till after their items to go and pig out there.  But that is more because they are on an incredibly strict dietery plan for weight and muscle management, rather than "McD's is poison".

Edit: Spelling

I just love these nutrition debates that people have and I comment here knowing I am opening myself up for criticism

Bottom line is ................ Yes what you put in is what you will get out but his holds true for the hour immediately post exercise (whether it be a race or LSD on a weekend)!!

I am always amused at how many people talk about being super healthy and aware of what they eat and then I watch as they either eat nothing post a race (and that can literally be from a 20km to an ultra marathon) or they order a coffee or my best yet a beer - because they've earned it!!

What you consume post exercise is important (dare I say even more important than what you consume the rest of the time). This is what your body will use to replenish depleted stores.

As for the comments on 20kms not needing much nutrition for those people starting out YES this is as far as they can possibly go so yes they need nutrition. And while we are on the topic kids that ride also need adequate nutrition after they race whether it be a 5km race or a 20km race - their stores will also be depleted dependent on variables and so they need post race nutrition too - not a slush puppy!

When you actually have a close look at the nutritional value of what you consume on a daily basis you will be amazed at how much of what you perceive to be good for you is actually not.

So as long as we are not eating Big Macs in the hour after a training session or race - it's all ok I'm my house . Everything in moderation!

I eat McD's at least twice a week.  I'm in the shape of my life.  Because I exercise and don't eat the entire menu everytime I go there.

Id rather eat roadkill than Mc Donalds