Lexx Posted June 20, 2016 Share I was getting a lekker rhythm and then the flu got me, off for a week. Will start again this afternoon. Def doing comrades again next year.Decided to go for the Suunto Ambit 3 Run.... Just ordered it. Cant wait to run with a decent watch again... Off Course my wife will hear how I got it for a bargain on the Hub, ScottCM and Beesrib 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackes Posted June 20, 2016 Share No Problem I spoke to Lindsay Parry at a Comrades talk in early Jan and he suggested no More than 3 Marathons and 2 Ultras So I did Johnson Crane 42km in Late January, Deloitte 42km in Late Feb, Two Oceans in March, the 60km Route Tester on the Comrades Route in Late April and the Slowmag Marathon a week later (but very slowly as time on the legs). All other weekends in March and April that I didn't have a "race" I did long double up 55-60kms weekends usually divided into a 25km Saturday and 30-35km Sunday. Solid km's under the belt that, thanks. We have been running on and off for the last year and a half, being difficult with the kids to always keep it constant. Mostly 10/12 races and one HM. So we started off again two weeks ago and doing a slow, but solid build up of kms and other core etc training inbetween. Ideally and hopefully we can get the qualifying done in mid November and then onwards to OMTOM and Comrades. Exited as a little boy before Christmas... Lexx and ScottCM 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottCM Posted June 20, 2016 Share I was getting a lekker rhythm and then the flu got me, off for a week. Will start again this afternoon. Def doing comrades again next year.Decided to go for the Suunto Ambit 3 Run.... Just ordered it. Cant wait to run with a decent watch again... Off Course my wife will hear how I got it for a bargain on the Hub, I know the feeling, got sick at the end of April, which forced me to change my Wally Hayward HM into a 10km and then even sicker afterwards. Started getting better and building up again and then last week my two boys got sick and wala, I'm down again Will wait till I'm totally over it this time so that i can start and not have to stop again, even if that means i won't be ready to do the South coast Marathon as my qualifier. Will then use soweto. With the start in Durbz next year seeding shouldn't bother me to much for my goal time. Edited June 20, 2016 by ScottC-M Lexx 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stretch Posted June 20, 2016 Share So ...... How is everyone's relaxing going? Has anyone made up their mind for next year yet, in or out? Soweto Marathon entries has opened, so has Kaapsehoop, but the are a day apart.I'm in for next year... Why the hell not! Suffering from a bit of itb post comrades. Hope it goes away... Took a run on sat and it says howzit... Will take another couple this week and see how it feels ScottCM and Lexx 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexx Posted June 20, 2016 Share Will do the Kaapsehoop Marathon. Then next year, Loskop Dam Ultra, Longtom Ultra ( if its still on) and usually in the past I did the Jock of The Bushveld Ultra. Baberton to Kaapmuiden. Awesome race but tough... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottCM Posted June 20, 2016 Share Will do the Kaapsehoop Marathon. Then next year, Loskop Dam Ultra, Longtom Ultra ( if its still on) and usually in the past I did the Jock of The Bushveld Ultra. Baberton to Kaapmuiden. Awesome race but tough... I'm not a fan on running downhill , prefer up , so will skip Kaapsehoop. Planning on doing Soweto as my Qualifier if i'm not ready for South Coast. Will do Johnson Crane and Om Die Dam ultra as training runs next year. will decide closer to the time what e3lse will fit in best with where i am in my training. Lexx 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexx Posted June 20, 2016 Share I'm not a fan on running downhill , prefer up , so will skip Kaapsehoop. Planning on doing Soweto as my Qualifier if i'm not ready for South Coast. Will do Johnson Crane and Om Die Dam ultra as training runs next year. will decide closer to the time what e3lse will fit in best with where i am in my training.Did the Johnson Crane once. loved the route but not the Altitude..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrew Steer Posted June 20, 2016 Share Which is the best watch to get for Comrades? Garmin Forerunner 225 or Suunto Ambit 3 Run.Will either of their batteries last for 12 hours or more? Oke on the Comrades group asking the exact same question... he's also based in Komatipoort. You guys should really meet up and chat about it Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexx Posted June 20, 2016 Share Oke on the Comrades group asking the exact same question... he's also based in Komatipoort. You guys should really meet up and chat about it Comrades Group.jpgWe do Chat sometimes, and he is one of the cleverest people I know... He is my Role Model and Inspiration... Andrew Steer 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottCM Posted June 22, 2016 Share After reading Don Olivers training program, which was mentioned in Pieter Schoemans Bolg, http://myepictrails.com/the-ultimate-comrades-marathon-training-plan-guide/ I'm considering using it. My only concern is that he makes you qualify in the new year, which for someone like me who suffers with knee niggles might work by giving an extra long base. Has anyone used his training program before? It also bases a new year running mileage of round 1300-1350km which seems decent for a BR "hopeful" but at worse a bronze novice? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SwissVan Posted June 22, 2016 Share Marathon training started on Monday, and my legs are already stiff. Trying the polar flow marathon program ...,,, planning to run my quali at the end of Oct. Andrew Steer, ScottCM, Tubehunter and 1 other 4 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottCM Posted June 28, 2016 Share So the wife and I have decided to move houses (hopefully for the last time before buying) in October. That means that I will no longer be able to do the South coast Marathon as my qualifier. This led me to go and enter the Soweto marathon this morning. My goal is to run it as hard as possible, qualify where ever that may be as I have read that when starting in Durban seeding isn't so important. If I happen to better my seeding next year while not killing myself for a specific time in the "training runs" leading up to comrades, all good, if not, so be it. At least I would have "hopefully" qualified already. So who is back to training already?If not when does everyone plan on starting? @Swiss - Really glad to see you have decided to join us novice hopefuls for next year. At least your wife must be happy that she will now have a training partner on those long cold snowy morning. SwissVan, Andrew Steer and Lexx 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SwissVan Posted June 28, 2016 Share So the wife and I have decided to move houses (hopefully for the last time before buying) in October. That means that I will no longer be able to do the South coast Marathon as my qualifier. This led me to go and enter the Soweto marathon this morning. My goal is to run it as hard as possible, qualify where ever that may be as I have read that when starting in Durban seeding isn't so important. If I happen to better my seeding next year while not killing myself for a specific time in the "training runs" leading up to comrades, all good, if not, so be it. At least I would have "hopefully" qualified already. So who is back to training already?If not when does everyone plan on starting? @Swiss - Really glad to see you have decided to join us novice hopefuls for next year. At least your wife must be happy that she will now have a training partner on those long cold snowy morning.Ha..... Not sure I will make the start for comrades, but if I don't then I will have good base for maybe an IM next year. Wife is still adamant she won't run C again, just because the training here in isolation and winter is a mission. But we will see we all know how these kind of things get said ScottCM 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stretch Posted June 28, 2016 Share Oke on the Comrades group asking the exact same question... he's also based in Komatipoort. You guys should really meet up and chat about it Comrades Group.jpg martin is a hubber Lexx 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stretch Posted June 28, 2016 Share So who is back to training already?If not when does everyone plan on starting? done very little running since Comrades...maybe 20 km's..hike in the berg this weekend and then will slowly start just ticking over again..mainly wanting my muscles to repair properly Edited June 28, 2016 by Stretch ScottCM 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blondeonabike Posted June 28, 2016 Share martin is a hubber strava stalker. This is how our paths crossed Lexx 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...